We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND WEDDING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
salford, manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND WEDDING”
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Just returned from two weeks stay at the Athena Beach Hotel and i'm missing it so much. We got married in the Gazebo facing the beach. Everything was fantastic. The staff at The Athena are wonderful and friendly and helped make our day special, Linda and Christine organised our reception meal and Thomas Cook arranged the rest. Our maid could not speak very good english but she always had a smile. Stavros is the Bar Manager and he's really nice and there are two particular waitresses who were lovely, one is Patricia and I failed to get the other ones name. The Hotel standards are very high and a few occasions we saw one of the constantinou brothers inspecting rooms and staff uniforms. The food in the hotel is fantastic. Breakfast and evening meals are buffet style and my husband is a picky eater but found lots of food he liked. There is a VAST choice of food with the chefs cooking fresh speciality dishes, Sunday mornings you can have a champagne breakfast. The head waiter will show you to your table in the evening and men are asked to wear long trousers. The facilities in the hotel are very good, there is a health spa where you can use the gym, have a massage or arrange to have your hair and nails done. There is a heated indoor and outdoor pool. Jacuzzi inside and out. Childs pool with slide. Mini Market which is very reasonably priced. Childrens arcade with pool table, games and internet access. We are already looking forward to returning there for our 1st anniversary and can not praise this hotel and staff enough. Overall we had a FANTASTIC time and AN EVEN BETTER WEDDING DAY.

  • Liked — The Sea view from our balcony and the whole hotel
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jcgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    698
    209
    63
    30
See reviews for
718
1,280
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Just come back from spending a week at the Athena Beach Hotel. Had a lovely time, the hotel is very clean and tidy with good facilities. The games room has a pool table, arcade type games and 2 computers for internet access. To play a game of pool and to go on the internet
was 50c and the arcade games that i played were either 20c or 50c. Never went in the indoor/outdoor pools, but they looked fantastic, one of the pools outside even had quite a big slide going into it! On
the groundfloor beneath the reception theres a mini market shop which
proved very useful for getting snacks,drinks and souvenirs. Our room was facing the road and apart from a few cars with loud engines passing by we didn't have a problem with noise. Rooms are of a good size, the fridge that we had in our room was also a good size for storing drinks etc. Breakfast is brilliant at the hotel, so much to choose from, food such as scrambled egg and baked beans, bread, cereal, ham, different fruits etc. Evenings at the hotel were good too as they had entertainment evenings in the bar where you'd have someone playing the keyboard and someone else singing. The entertainment evenings varied throughout the week. To get around in Cyprus/(Paphos) I recommend hiring a car as most places are either quite far away or take a long time to walk to. Shops in Paphos aren't
brilliant in terms of the usual high street stores,if you crave those go to either Nicosia or Limassol. The mini (crazy) golf which is about a 15-20 minute walk away from the hotel is great if you enjoy that kind of thing, it's also near the go-karting. The bird and animal park is also a good place to go to, about 20-30 minutes in the car from the hotel. When we went they had an indoor parrot show although i'm not sure if it's on all the time. They also have a children's play area and a restaurant there too.

In the evenings we ate out at restaurants in and around Paphos instead of the one at the hotel. My favourites were Oasan which is an Italian and Greek restaurant by the harbour,friendly staff. Rimini which is an Italian restaurant and the Nature restaurant which has great food, friendly staff and both about a 10-15 minute walk away from the hotel. We also went to Fat Mama's which was packed full of people, about a 10 minute drive in the car. It's the kind of restaurant which is ok to go to as long as you don't mind having loud music playing whilst your eating, a good place to go to for party celebrations, the portions of food you get there are huge!!! A pub which i recommend going to is the Crocodile Pub, about a 10-15 minute walk away from the hotel. It's a great place to go to watch the football as there are TVs inside and one outside, the staff are also very friendly.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Booked a week at the Athena Beach based on the reviews we saw on Trip Adviser. We were not disappointed. We did upgrade to a seaview room; this was a must and really made the experience enjoyable as the view of the beach was great. Inland views would be of a busy road or adjacent hotel.
We booked on a B&B basis - the breakfast buffet was extensive to say the least and the food was of a good standard. We used the 'canteen-type' facilities at lunchtime a couple of times and the food was again OK and competitively priced.
A word of caution, paying for food and drink at the hotel can be done by booking this to your room; we were rarely asked for verification of our room number and did notice that some other guests were having to query larger than expected bills at the end of their holiday.
Overall the hotel was clean, staff were friendly and facilities are good. During our stay, it was too cold to use the pool and outside facilities very much but they were also impressive.
There is not much to see or do in the area immediately around the hotel other than spending time on the beach or visiting the small number of bars and restaurants nearby. A short walk takes you into the harbour area and gives more choice of eating and drinking establishments. We would recommend the Bombay restaurant for a good curry; this is 300m from the hotel on the main road to the harbour. A must for authentic Cypriot cuisine is 'Argo' situated on Pafias Afroditis in the main tourist area. The owner may appear a little stern on first encounter but the food is excellent and very reasonably priced; cannot recommend enough.
We felt that hiring a car was a must and got to see a lot of the western side of the island. The roads are easy to use and navigate, the Cypriot driver can be a little impatient. Car was hired through Economy Cars who delievered and collected from the hotel. We had good service.

  • Liked — Seaview room
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kellyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Athena Beach Hotel. Excellent facilities, great for families. The buffet breakfast is very good and the offer for dinner in the evening is very worthwhile as there is a wide range of food on offer and extremely good. We also opted to eat elsewhere some evenings, having got a bit fed up with self-service buffet. The Rib Shack alongside the road into Pafos was really good.

One downside was that we only booked standard rooms. These were quite
noisy at certain times - especially Friday and Saturday nights, when the underground nightclub over the busy main road outside the hotel was closing. Boy racers in their cars were making a lot of noise at 2am! Some of our party had rooms facing the sea and did not hear this noise. We asked to be upgraded but were told this was not possible as they were fully booked for these rooms.

Rooms are of a good size and the place is kept extremely clean. Decor does look a bit tired in some places. One good point is that the hotel provides a good size fridge in all rooms for the use of guests. Excellent for storing drinks, fruit and milk. There is a kettle etc provided in all rooms which was not made known to us beforehand by our travel company, but proved very useful!

The bus stop for Pafos is directly outside the hotel. However, this can often be busy and although buses are frequent they are not always
consistent. If there are four of you travelling, it is similar
cost to get a taxi. Just confirm the price first! Should be 4CYP to the harbour.

We went to the Tomb of the Kings on the Sunday and found that admission to all monuments and museums is free on a Sunday. Directly
opposite the entrance to the Tombs is an excellent restaurant which serves homemade pizzas - rated brilliant by our youngsters! The mosaics and the Odeon, as part of the Roman excavations next to the harbour are well worth exploring.

The youngsters in our party also enjoyed the go-karting centre nearby
and the jet ski's off the beach. The one we used were located on the beach near to the derelict land between the Royal Athena Beach and the Alexandra the Great Hotels.

  • Liked — excellent food and cleanliness. Also, safety aspects for teenagers/youngsters
  • Disliked — noise at times in standard rooms overlooking the road
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I stayed and got married at the athena beach and i couldnt fault it at all! The staff were fantastic and george the manager was great organising what we wanted for our wedding!!!
We stayed for two weeks with at the time our 6 month old son and got married on the tenth day there!! We opted to get married indoors which was great as we had the baby as it was about 40 degrees outside, it was much more enjoyable as we werent sweating everywhere. We had our photos outside and we opted for a chamange reception on the balcony which was lovely. We had a sit down meal in one of the private rooms as there were twenty of us and the meals were lovely no complaints! we were all just going to meet up on the night at our hotel bar but instead the hotel organized a disco with english dj for free as there were two other wedding groups there! which i thought was excellent as it finished the day off lovely!! (and we got our first dance).
we were only bed and breakfast so we only sampled the lovely breakfast, there was plenty to go round and once a week there was even chamange, there was plenty of choice!!!
the only thing about the hotel and we complained about was the lack of sunbeds, we went at a really busy time with it being the kids holidays but thought they would have had a few more! With having the baby we found it hard to find beds with any shelter but other than that it was fab!!
We ate out most nights and found the food excellent, one resteruant we really liked was called sunbow well worth a try!! It only took us about ten minutes to walk into the bars and resteruants etc but it took about twenty minutes stroll into pahos centre and harbour, we didnt bother much as we didnt need to as there was enough around within ten minutes!!
will definetly go back maybe next year!!! ten out of ten from us!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — lack of sunbeds
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lvhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Just arrived back from a week at this hotel with my wife and 1 year old son. We stayed B & B and the buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful. A bit disappointing was the extra charge for fresh orange juice 1 cypriot pound per glass. As the title describes this is not a young persons hotel with discos, but if crown green bowling is your thing then this is the place for you. Its clean and about 8 years old. It only took a 5 minute walk to many bars and restaurants and 20 to 25 minute stroll to the port. we had a mountain view room which is infact a roadside view but the patio is triple glazed and with no racous bars near is quiet. It was a little bit cold for the outdoor pools and the indoor was 28c so not all that warm. We hired a car and travelled around the island but i can recommend the Sunbow restaurant who's staff entertained my son. The Ribshack for BBQ food, and the Oleastro. We also eat out when we went to Nicosia (lefkosia) at the Syrian arab friendship club, the food was lovely but they were a misserable bunch despite us being the only people there. A very nice place to eat was in Pissouri Liminaki food and the staff were brill but you need to drive there. I had a chance to read the hotels comments book before i left yesterday 13th march 2007.
Most of the comment were relating to the non smiling waiters and waiteresses. We found them happy enough particularily when you have a cute 1 year old who attracts waitresses. All in all i would recommend this place but don't book half or full board as there are many other nice restaurants around. Far enough away to be quiet but close to be within walking distance.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton ,England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

Stayed at the hotel for a half term Fenruary break with my wife and we loved every minute. Having read the reviews we plumped for this hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel facilities were excellent even though a number of the hotels were still closed and some that were open didn't have their pools open the Athena Beach was fully operational.
The room was very good, nice and large with a full fridge built into the wardrode area, it also had great sea views, and a good sized balcony. In the room were bathrobes, slippers and 4 pool towels that could, if required, be renewed each day. The cleaner did an excellent job each day, even leaving a towel "sculpture "on our last day.
The pool areas are first class with plenty of free loungers and sun umbrellas, we didn't try the larger pools, too cold, but the heated pool was great, as was the indoor pool. There is also a nice little beach at the rear of the hotel although it is rather rocky.
The breakfast buffets are, as many have said, out of this world. It's no good trying to name what you can have everything you could imagine and more is on hand and freshly cooked infront of you.
The main entrance area is a nice area to sit in at night time, where you have a choice of bars and areas in which to sit and relax. There is always something on at night time, quizes, Greek night etc, although when we were there these were not well populated many prefering to sit in the bar area, with live music each night, or go for a stoll.
There are plenty of activities on hand, tennis, bowls, mini golf, childrens play-area games room, spa, gym etc if you are feeling energetic.
It is difficult to fault the hotel, just a couple of minor complaints, the staff in the pool bar area were rather off hand and our room 403 had a generator on the roof at the end of the corridor which hummed 24 hours a day . We did ask about this and the maintainence man came listened, agreed with us and then went away. We decided rather than ask for another room we stayed as it wasn't too intrusive.
We were booked in on a B and B basis, there was when we got there an opportunity to take half board for an extra C£8 per person per night but as there are a number of excellent places to eat within walking distance or a short drive away into Pahpos we enjoyed having the variety of eating in different, and cheaper, places.
All in all would we go back? Like a shot ,we were lucky in that for early February the weather was fantastic, which always helps, but it is difficult to find fault with the hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 88 in Paphos
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookcyprus.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing