We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal if you look for quiet and relaxing holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“ideal if you look for quiet and relaxing holidays”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have to admit that writing a review for the Athena Beach hotel makes me uncomfortable. I quite liked the hotel and I set myself to enjoy my holidays, which I did, but there were some aspects that I did not appreciate. I will try to be fair both to the hotel and the readers of this review.
Athena Beach is located along the Kato Paphos coast line. The location is great (if you do not mind the fact that the hotels are built next to one another), quiet and ideal to relax. You can walk to the nearby harbour following a coast path. We enjoyed a lot our evening walks, although we used the bus or a taxi to return! The "beachfront" hotel is, however, misleading. Yes, the hotel is in front of the see but do not expect a real "beach" where you will build your sand-castles: they have constructed two jetties (the floating one was our favourite) that allow easy access to the water avoiding the slippery stones. So, it's not suitable for young children or elderly persons.
We booked the holidays via a tour operator. We had checked the hotel's website and read that "All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel’s tranquil gardens" so we did not bother when we saw "standard" room at our reservation sheet. We knew that the hotel offers suites and superior rooms and we did not give it a second thought. Well, we found out what "standard" room meant: a land view room facing the very busy Poseidonos Avenue and the very loud clubs and bars on the other side of the road!
The single, quite big five-floor building includes on the two upper floors a number of superior rooms. No issue so far. They can be more spacious, better equipped, more stylish, with better views, etc. But, here, the story is more complicated: the guests of those rooms have special treatments right next to you… they have breakfast/dinner (different menu obviously...) in a separate restaurant besides the immense, canteen-style main hotel restaurant. We have been in other hotels where separate restaurants existed but these hotels were indeed holiday villages where the superior rooms and facilities reserved to them were isolated in luxury villas. We do not think that the hotel construction allows for this type of services. They will have to reconsider this concept.
The breakfast-buffet was very rich and we appreciated a lot the variety of the food/fresh fruits. They could improve the offer on the drinks, juices and coffee. Dinner was less inviting, quite repetitive and with less choice. Few tables were offered for outdoors sitting which was a relief for us who wanted to escape from the main, noisy, busy, and cold room! The air-conditioning was working at full with the doors open to allow access to the outdoors tables.
The evening entertainment was either non-existing or not worth-mentioning. Do not bother. We liked, however, the Greek evening with tables around the pools, music and dance. Fortunately, there were a lot of options in the nearby venues. We had the "premium package", a sort of all –inclusive, that we strongly recommend if you plan to spend most of the time in the hotel. Try the massages in their SPA. it is a pitty that they have only limited offer in their excellent services.
The local personnel are fantastic, competent, helpful, committed and polite. We did not feel the same for the foreign employees. Obviously, they were exceptions in both cases. We think that the, otherwise very attentive, management should invest more in training young/foreign personnel to promote an image, a culture, an identity. We choose a destination looking for a local atmosphere after all.
Last but not least, Wi-Fi and safety deposit boxes should not be charged as extras in a 4* hotel!

Room Tip: Definately with see view; not below the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    698
    209
    63
    30
See reviews for
718
1,280
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed with 11 and 13 year old children. Everything about hotel was wonderful. Friendly, helpful staff who were not intrusive. Read on Tripadvisor that it worth paying for sea view room, I totally agree, the sea view from our room was wonderful.
The room itself was great with 2 single beds and a put-up bed, all comfortable and plenty of space. Great sized fridge with plenty of space for 1.5 litre bottles of water.
Cleanliness in the hotel was outstanding which includes the daily room cleaning service and the hotel's public areas.
The food, well where to begin! We stayed on half board basis. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet with huge choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, breads and pastries, continental and cooked English breakfasts and a favourite of my children was pancakes cooked as you wait. Hotel very flexible and allowed us to enjoy lunch instead of an evening meal, when we wanted. We used the Ledra Restaurant for lunch which had a great choice. Overall the food was plentiful and excellent quality.
The provision of beach towels was really useful and reduced our baggage weight. My children enjoyed joining in a few of the variety of activities on offer, table tennis tournaments in particular.
Check out on last day was by 12 MD, but booked a time slot in a courtesy room which allowed us to spend the day by the pool/beach using the hotel's towels then shower and change ready for trip to airport.
The location of the hotel is great with a particularly good local fish restaurant over the road and others within 15-20 minute walk. The bus service from outside the hotel was really easy to use and just 3E for a day ticket to hop on and off.
Overall I think this hotel has thought of everything possible to make our stay memorable and relaxing, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bev962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at around 23h30 and it was so nice to see that we had food in our rooms. We had all inclusive, well worth it. Room very spacious. Beach towels provided. Food excellent, breakfast repetitive but always plenty of food and drink available. Tea/coffee facilities in room. It was really nice because there was never a stress to find a nice place next to the beach compared to some Hotels were you have sometimes to wake up very early. They have also a slide where the kids had a lot of fun. Beach walk to the harbour about 35/40 minutes, and you can at all the hotels on the walk and get to see a few beaches along the way. I Also really nice for jogging. My boyfriend and his son arrived one week later and I did request them if they could arrange a room next to mine so that the two boys could sleep together and I was so happy they did arrange everything for us had the two rooms next to eachother. I would definately recommend this hotel, we had an amazing two weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cri3553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My Partner and i have just returned from 11 nights at the Athena Beach Hotel Paphos. Its the 3rd yr running we have returned to the same hotel. On arrival we found our room had been up graded for no extra charge. We had a great part sea view. Staff are always helpful and the hotel rooms , bar, reception and pool areas all very clean. The only place that could do with up dating is the pool side toilets. We had B&B and sometimes ate lunch all food nice except for the bacon at breakfast they deep fry it instead of grill. We will return with out doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paphosdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Outstanding stay in the Athena Beach. Went all inclusive, well worth it. Room very spacious for 1 person. Beach towels provided. Food excellent, breakfast repetitive but always plenty of food and drink available. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Not much of a beach, pool very cramped but found a nice sunbathing spot on the grass by the beach bar which was perfect. Beach walk to the harbour about 35/40 minutes, but you get a chance to look at all the hotels on the walk and get to see a few beaches along the way. Would definately recommend this hotel, had an amazing week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 905victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of this hotel. Arrived at 1am (due to Olympus Holidays sneakely changing our flight times from 10.15 am departure to late evening flight and return flight from 15.30 to 23.30. Beware booking with Olympus Holidays) However, upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager, given drinks of our choice, a complete breakdown of the hotel facilties and events. Escorted to our rooms again, with a full description of the room facilities. The room, facing the sea was superbly equipped with individual controlled air conditioning (a complete must in this climate) without doubt amongst the most comfortable beds of any hotel that we have stayed in throughout the world. Free Wi Fi and many other features. The food was superb. Having been on many cruises and being appreciative of the standard of food served, we found that the quality, variety, and preparation was equally as good and in many cases surpassed their standards. The grounds were very well maintaned and the swimming pools very clean. The sun beds were in demand and as with most hotels, towels were placed on the beds at the crack of dawn, or before. Unfortunately, towels were placed on the beds and not used all day other than the odd hour. Perhaps a better control by management would not go amiss. Generally, the attention to detail was excellent. The public area's were very good and a wonderful refuge from the mid-day heat. The Cypriot staff were very good, many of the dining room staff were Eastern European and were polite and efficient. The staff in the shop gave the impression that they did not want to be there. Over-all impression, would I go there again? without doubt. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? absolutely

Room Tip: If possible, pay a little extra and have a Superior room facing the sea. They are larger and come wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Amazing hotel and great holiday! The hotel itself is absolutly beautiful and is kept to a very high standard. The staff are really friendly and were on hand to help with what ever we needed. We had our room cleaned every day wich included all new towels for the pool and shower. The facitlites were amazing, the pools are beautiful and its literally on the beach. There were also lots of activites scheduled so we were never bored! Dispite going at the busiest time in August it wasnt too full. Brilliant entertainment in the evenings as there is always something for everyone. Also there were many varied restaurants just outside the hotel wich was great as we didnt have the full deal and it was a short walk from Phaphos harbour wich had more restaurants and clubs. The only thing was our floor's water supply went down on one of the days but fortunatly it went off early in the morning (at around 2 in the morning) so only those who get in late would have noticed. Great hotel and would definatly go again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 86 in Paphos
2,638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 86 in Paphos
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookcyprus.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing