We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would return again”
Review of Nereus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nereus Hotel
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We went to cyprus to attend a wedding there was 8 of us,and we wanted somewhere not to near the bride and groom as we were there to surprise them, we find the nereus
very good, the staff was very helpful rooms were cleaned every day. There was plently of food, papageorge the pub next door belongs to the hotel and is a nice place to have a drink. When we went it was their easter and we were given a candle to light at midnight it was lovely to join in with the celebrationns and the hotel put on soup when we got back we all feel that the nereus was very good value our only fault was a trip we went on booked with our travel agent it was the island tour but we did not have a lot of time in the towns we went to but this was not the hotel fault

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 702 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

Family runs the hotel; highly professional in all respects and very hands-on - obviously know the business inside out. Likewise the staff: well-selected, well-trained, capable and full of goodwill. Rooms well-equipped, well-serviced; and spotless - somewhat compact but well laid-out and all we needed. People write that the hotel `needs a makeover' even though it has recently been redecorated. They'd say the same of every other hotel in eastern Europe: the dark wood and heavy furnishings are unfamiliar and not to our current taste. Food outstanding: wide choice; well-presented - as good as we've found in 30 years. Waiters eager to please. 75% of guests there (in Feb.) were re-bookings and the majority retired couples. I took opinions and could not find a soul with a complaint - quite the reverse. Recommended without reserve

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WCS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We spent seven nights at the Nereus from 24th to 31st of December and can endorse all the positive reviews we have read here. We stayed on a half board basis and were very happy with the experience.

The hotel is rated 3* by the Cyprus Tourist Board and we would agree that that is a fair one. The hotel is extremely popular for its value for money and location. Parts of the place are a bit tired but considering the throughput this is understandable.

The bar area is not a smokefree zone, as this has not yet come to Cyprus, although there are smoke free areas, if you can find an unoccupied seat!

We did not sample the evenings entertainment, although there was something going on each night. Some rooms above the bar area could well be affected by noise if you were an early sleeper and a request for a 'quiet room' might well be worth making!

We could not fault the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff nor the standard of service. The food was generous and well-prepared. We would have preferred more obviously local dishes each evening but can understand why the majority tastes were being catered for. The kitchen and equipment was spotless.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank motard0_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Nereus Hotel for 2 weeks over Christmas. This is without doubt the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in. It is a family run establishment and the owners and staff could not have been nicer. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was polite, friendly and fun. My mother is disabled, and everyone went out of their way to accomodate her without being patronising. I would like to make special mention of Costas, the owner, and Harry, the F&B Manager, for their kindness and assistance.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, as were all the public areas of the hotel. Our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.

The breakfasts were fantastic with so much choice, from fruit to cereals, continental and hot buffet. There is definitely something for everyone. We ate in the hotel most evenings as the choice was so diverse and we never had the same meal twice. The Christmas dinner was 5 star standard, and the staff made sure the day was very special.

I will definitely be back to the Nereus!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Having just returned from 2 weeks at the Nereus and having stayed there before 7 years ago, thought it would be useful to write a review and be very genuine. Hotel is still run by the family and it is nice to see Kostas' presence there almost every day or so. Unfortunately, although it is still a nice hotel,they have introduced too much of an English element, ie staff, food, etc. which has spoiled it somewhat. The food is OK, pretty good breakfast with good choice of fruit, cooked, cereals, etc. although the toaster is still the same one of 7 years ago, and really causes queues and needs replacing. The evening meals are just OK but not enough choice, ie, vegetarian,pastas, fish etc. Here again the English element takes over like: steak pie; the mince dishes are pretty awful (spag bol, lasagne, meat balls etc). Disappointed that there was no greek food, like moussaka, stuffed vegetables, greek pastries, and no sign of any feta cheese. Really should have eaten out more. The rooms are adequate, you're lucky if you get a decent positioned room but the bathrooms are not to good and as for the towels, well they are very,very well used and pretty hard - they should all be renewed. The cleaning is not 100% although the cleaning staff are all very nice. As for the entertainment, well it certainly leaves a lot to be desired. One word comes to mind - Dreadful !! It is with regret we write this derogatory review as the manager is a very nice genuine person who does his best to accommodate people and make them welcome, but some of his changes do not work. One other point is that smoking is allowed anwhere in the hotel vicinity, guest rooms, bar, restaurant, especially for the non-tourist. One last point, i know you don't go on holiday to watch the tv, but one is provided in the room, fixed to the wall - but to watch it you have to be a contortonist, also no choice of viewing for holidaymakers,especially in the lounge areas, where the staff and non-tourist people seem to choose what is on the TV. Anyway we hope you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashirePensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Nereus was a wonderful surprise upon arrival, after i read the reviews was a bit unsure. We got there quite late & were shown straight to the room. The room was a bottom floor room with a patio around the back. It was great! Room had a double bed & third bed was made from the seater (which i had and was very comfortable). Room has kitchen facilities, decent showers, room was big and comfortable. Came with TV & aircon. Breakfast was standard fare & dinner was good nothing special, chef is friendly and funny. Hotel sockets are UK sockets which we found amusing. Rooms are cleaned daily which is great after a day lounging around by the pool! They have 2 big pools & a little jacuzzi, plenty of upper sundecks, a little gym - we were very impressed with facilities much more than we expected! It was great!

Location wise Hotel is very close to bar street literally 3 minute walk for a night out. Area is quiet but close to everything. 15 min walk to fort & minutes walk to entrance of the Mosaic houses once at the fort. Buses to Coral Bay (15 & 11) are about 5-10 min walk away. Perfect location.

I highly recommend this place, we booked it through a package deal and it was much more than i expected. Everything exceeded expectations, no complaints. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Vy_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We've hust returned from a weeks stay in the Nereus Hotel, Paphos. I would advise booking self catering as we stayed in a fab little apartment with seating area, kitchen and separate bedroom. My dad and his wife were half board and their bedroom was quite small and needed a re-vamp. Overall though the hotel was really nice - two clean big pools, nice big bar area, the room was cleaned everyday and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was brilliant right in the heart of everything within walking distance to resturants, nightlife, harbour, beach. Just as a tip - there is a nice sandy public beach just opposite the aloe hotel which is along the seafront about 5mins in the opposite direction to the harbour, otherwise you have to get a taxi (I wouldnt advise using a bus!) to Coral Bay which is quite far away and not within walking distance. Also there are lots of fab resturants that do a good three course meal for 10euros in the town, the resturants along the harbour are alot more expensive and arent all that, your simply paying for the view!
I would definatley return to the Nereus Hotel it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sadiefurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central Hotel
Dionysos Central Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#42 of 85 in Paphos
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#30 of 85 in Paphos
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#51 of 85 in Paphos
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#78 of 85 in Paphos
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereus Hotel

Address: Konstantias 7, Paphos 8131, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $59 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nereus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nereus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing