We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad holiday company, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nereus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nereus Hotel
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bad holiday company, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I would just like to thank the staff and management for the excellent service and care that i received after my holiday started with a nightmare.
We flew in on a Sunday in July, very late at night, our suitcase went missing and the holiday company were not helpful? We had a wedding to go too the next day and all our clothing, accessories, toiletres and my medication was in that case.
The hotel was very sympathetic and made calls to the reps on our behalf {who again were not helpful} Because I had nothing the hotel staff (including Athena) arranged for me to get my hair done and even bought in there own makeup and made my face up for me so that even though I had nothing but a dress and had to buy shoes out there I looked half reasonable.
Our case turned up the next day on another flight after the wedding.
Later that week it was our wedding anniversary and the hotel left a bottle of wine and a card in our room.
Thank you everyone for the excellent customer service which was more than expected, which turned a horrible start to a holiday into a fun holiday. We hope to see you next year????

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank c00mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    213
    117
    50
    54
See reviews for
109
303
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having read some bad reviews before my visit I was a little worried but was very happy on arrival. The hotel has everything we needed and asked for....a quiet room, friendly staff, clean and the food was excellent. I am quite a fussy eater and I did not have a bad meal the whole time I was there. There is enough choice for both breakfast and evening meals and I feel the hotel does its best to try and cater for every taste. The cleaners came every day which is much better than hotels I have stayed in before. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and could not do enough for you. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the pools were excellent. There are other areas to sunbathe if you do not want to be near the pool. The location could not be better...about 5 to 10 minutes walk to all the best bits. We sampled many of the bars and restaurants and can not say anything negative about anywhere. The bus terminal is 10 mins walk from hotel and makes it very easy to get around the area. You can also book trips from there which we really enjoyed and were good value for money. There is so much to see and do in Pathos you really can't go wrong...although not sure there is enough there to keep younger children entertained...there is a zoo and a waterpark. Dont know where some people say they have seen cockroaches as we were there 2 weeks and did not see any. In fact there were no nasty bugs whatsoever...normally get bit abroad but did not need the expensive insect repellent I took. Dont believe all the negative reviews on here as it seems to me that some people expect a 5 star hotel even though they have only paid for a 3 star hotel.....guess some people are not happy unless they are complaining. Remember you are on holiday and have fun!! I FOR ONE CANT WAIT TO GO BACK NEXT YEAR!!!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you dont want the noise from the bar opposite although the music was not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

it was a cheap holiday so i wont go over the top but the hotel in general needed a re-vamp, the cleaners didnt do much of a job in my room, the bed was very hard, like lumps of straw, i didnt have a hot shower on 2 different days, the breakfast i thought was quite good, on 3 occations i went to the hotel bar, but never got served because there was'nt anyone there to serve me, (dont know how the all inclusive guests managed), you couldnt sunbathe by the pool but they had a small sun terrace on the roof of the first floor to sunbathe on but then you couldnt have a swim to cool down, you couldnt swim in the pool anyway because it was small and the children in the hotel filled it, its location was very good though, but as i say it was a cheap holiday and you get what you pay for, i've stayed in better and i've stayed in worse, at best and being kind, i would call it average

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

having been to this hotel be for I was sad meals was not as good no night entertainment for a hotel so near to all the bars they need to do some thing to keep the people happy we like coming here its close to the harbourer and we love it here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arrived late at night the lady on reception was very helpful and pleasant. Room was a good size but the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Both pool areas and pools were nice and kept clean. We went all inclusive but ended up spending a lot of money eating out as food was not great. We arrived back to our room after a night out to be welcomed by our air con unit broke and water was pouring out of it and cockroaches. The night warden was very unhelpful and laughed when we told him about the cockroaches. We left the hotel and checked into another hotel for the night. When we returned the next morning the hotel manager and staff knew nothing about us leaving or the issues we had during the night. Second room was very small with no bath only a shower which was very small. Air con in this room had to be fixed twice as he was leaking water. Staff overall were very helpful and friendly. Will not be recommending this hotel or returning ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJones030813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Overall. You get what you pay for. I agree that it is ideal for older clientele, but saying that, whilst we were there there were several families with children. This hotel, in my opinion, is not suitable for children. Therefore, peace and quiet went out the window. Could not swim in either pool for blow up beds, toys, balls etc. parents just let the children run wild.
Food is quite good. Breakfast has a good selection for everyone. Lunchtime menu, cooked to order is good. Evening meals can be a bit hit and miss. Although on saying that, the "Sunday Carvery" is excellent. I have stayed in a 4 and 5 star hotel in Paphos and the meals were not as good as the Nereus, althoughitdoes depend on which Chef is cooking that day.
The rooms are clean, mattresses are rather on the firm side, but a request for a mattress topper is soon remedied. Air conditioning works fine, just remember that it has 2 settings, one for summer and one for winter. On a big minus is the bathroom. As my husband is rather portly, getting into the bathroom and closing the door became very tricky. Cannot fault the cleaners. They were in very day and if you left your towels in the bath they were changed, no problem. SOME towels are a little old, but they are clean.
ON A VERY BIG MINUS is Papa George's. if you are unlucky enough to have a room overlooking the entrance to the Hotel, prepare to have your ears blasted with EXTREMLY LOUD MUSIC, and why....a large screen attached to the hotel wall to show these tone deaf people performing.........the music ends around 2.30am, and then the bar staff decide to have a conversation till the early hours. No good in complaining, as this falls on deaf ears. The night porter just shrugs his shoulders, and although the daytime reception staff are sympathetic when you complain, you soon realise that your complaint goes unheard, as the music continues to blast out. So instead of trying the help with the cost of air conditioning in the Hotel by not having it on and having the balcony
door open instead, you are forced to be closed in your room.
This was our first visit to Nereus, but not to Paphos as we have been coming since early 1980. We met some very nice people in the Hotel who had been coming for years, sadly these people were thinking of changing hotels as the standards were falling at an alarming rate. Their words,not mine. Perhaps the Management need to keep a closer look on younger members of staff. ie.....loud pop music from the TV during the day time, visiting the restaurant when the evening food was being put out and picking items with their FINGERS, especially when the British sausages were on, disappearing from the bar and leaving customers waiting for over 20minutes to get served.
Nereus Management....older clientele will vote with their feet and go elsewhere if issues are to addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Papa George's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJR3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed end of July into August. Weather very hot. Arrived at hotel at 2am and taken straight to one bedroom Apartment. Room 327 first floor. Clean room with large sofa bed in lounge and small balcony. Air con worked but blew the fuse twice so left in darkness. No air con the first night and extremley hot. Next day spoke with rep and reception, got a room swap next door 326 with no fuss. Slightly larger room too!!!

Rooms- Clean and spacious. In th summer I think a ground floor room may be better as slightly cooler. Also the porch area is larger but open and not private. There is a fridge freezer, kettle and small ovan and toaster. Small hairdryer and alarm clock in main bedroom. Plenty of storage space. Bathroom small and quite warm as only a small partially opening window. Def not a power shower but it does the job. Loo rolls and towells replaced often so you can save towel space in your case but take a beach towel. Air con as we found out cost 60 euro per week, trust me you will need it!. The matresses in main room werer a little uncomfortable but ask for a matress topper.

Pools- There are two pools, one with seated area and one with loungers. I found that the loungers were limited, so spent all time at the beach. Much more going on and a nice welcome breeze.

Location- 5 min walk to the sea front, turn left from hotel through Aquatic centre which is actually now a small shoping centre and your there. Deviate off side streets and there are several bars and reastaraunts, KFC, PIZZA HUT. Go left at the beach and a huge stretch of shops, cafe;s bars ect( I reccomend the frozen yougert shops, Yummy and healthy). Really your spoilt for choice with places to eat and drink.

Beach- There is not really a sandy beach, but a large decking area with sunbeds, great if you dont like sand. beds 2 euro each and brolly 2 euro, but you can put your towel on the decking or buy a cheap lilo for the week to lie on, about 8 euro. There are steps in to the sea. If you go to the end of the decking by the very clean free showers and toilets, just round the corner is a very small saddy beach, I mean small. But the water is fairly shallow and you can just walk in so good for children. If you get the bus to coral bay, 1.50 Euro about 20 mim ride, two great sandy beaches. Very warm shallow water. Sunbeds are the same price as the decking. There are shops for drinks and food ect. If you get off the bus at the last stop the second beach is much nicer, The bus driver will tell you when to get off. Busses run every 15 min and very cool and clean.

Night life- Most of the action happens on the sea front. Eating out starts between 6-10pm. It gets really busy but you can always get a tablel. The closer to the harbour the price increases slightly. You are enouraged to go into certain reastaurants, but the waiters are very polite if you refuse so no pressure. All restaurants I visited were fabulous. Set meals are very good value and most places have them. I recomend to dine at the Moorings, good food, location and service. If you fancy a trip venture to the end of the harbour and there are several boat trips ect well priced compared to the travel companys. Bar street is the place to go in the late evening for disco;s ect.

What to Pack.- High factor sun cream and a hat!!. Dress is pretty casual. In the day swimwear and something to put on if you go for lunch. Nightime, anything goes, mostly casual and flat shoes. Plugs are the same as at home. There is no tea, coffe or condiments in the room so take your own or buy on arrival. There are several supermarkets only a short walk from the hotel. I would recomend a cool bag, as you can take your own drinks to the beach or on trips or a packed lunch as it gets hot very quickly. I took a small umberella and manual fan, it was a god send when walking about in the daytime for a bit of shade.

Trips- Paphos tour bus 12.50 euro hop on and off, leaves at 10 am and goes to several places. Get on at the main bus stop just before the harbour opposite the sea. There are a lot of sights near to the hotel you can walk to which are also visited on the bus trip. Near the hotel is St pauls Pillar, free entry. Roman Mosaics About 4 euro, both worth a vist but mostly outdoor and very hot so go early. Tomb of the kings is on the bus trip, it gets very hot and take sensible shoes as there are lots of steps and rocks to get into the tombs.

All in all a great hotel and location and everything in easy reach. Its not luxury accomodation, but fo a base, somewhere to sleep and relax its perfect. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ulander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#46 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofianna Hotel Apts.
Sofianna Hotel Apts.
#53 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#50 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central
Dionysos Central
#41 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereus Hotel

Property: Nereus Hotel
Address: Paphos, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nereus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nereus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing