We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for parents”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel would appeal to those people who prior to having children would stay in the sort of hotels recommended by Mr & Mrs Smith. With the Almyra you can have a stylish, pre-children, luxury holiday but without feeling out of place with your toddler in tow. The rooms are modern and spacious, even with a cot in the corner. All the guest/public areas were spotlessly clean, stylish and well furnished in a cool contemporary fashion. The slate pool is covered to keep your little ones (and big ones) out of the scorching sun; there's not a plastic lounger in sight - the beds around the pool are timber famed beds with mattresses on top, there is also plenty of shade and umbrellas around the pool for those who want to take it easy with the tanning. Adjacent to the pool is the Notios restaurant and bar with the added bonus of a ice cream parlour - my two year old had a homing device directed to the ice cream parlour. If you would like to actually lie in the sun and not worry about your child, I can whole heartedly recommend booking the creche, we booked our son in every other afternoon. The staff at the creche were brilliant and very reassuring - its quite daunting leaving your baby in the care of a complete stranger. The creche facilities were very good with plenty of space, lots of toys and two outside areas (one opposite the inland terrace rooms on the ground floor and one connected to the creche). Once you've deposited your child in the creche take your weary body to the adults only area complete with infinity pool, bar and restaurant. This is also next to the Almyra Spa - the Spa is well worth a visit or two but I would recommend pre-booking treatments to avoid disappointment. We rarely ate at the hotel as we booked on a bed and breakfast basis - the breakfasts in the Mosaics Restaurant were brilliant, lots of choice, lots of seating, and the staff were professional enough to ignore the fact that there were kids having tamtrums at 8 o'clock in the morning. The staff were amazing with all the children they encountered. Our son would eat his evening meal at the Notois restaurant as the menu for children was very good during the first week of our holiday (no chips) but disappointingly this changed half way through our holiday when the prices went up and chips appeared with every meal. There was no need for us to eat at the hotel as we found plenty of restaurants near the hotel (Seagull, Phivos, Sakura, The Deck - to name a few) - there are the tacky, chav infested bars and restaurants but these can be easily avoided.

The only downsides to our holiday were the lack of beach at the hotel (there is a beach further up the promenade, past The Deck, but on the whole Paphos is lacking in beaches); the noise from the boy racers every evening (we had a inland view room - if you can't afford the €97 per night upgrade to a sea view room I'd recommend ear plugs - it is very noisy); the noise every Saturday night from the night club up the road and the newly opened Linaker's Bar. If you live on a main road in any city you'll be fine.

Best bits (in no particular order) - the adults only area, the spa, all the staff, the Meze at the Ouzeri, the creche, and the overall contemporary luxury of the hotel. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,940 - 1,946 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Booked the hotel on the back of the reputation the hotel had with young children and that side of things worked very well. The seperate family and adults pools meant our toddler could tantrum with the best of them without upsetting those just looking to relax. The creche was well run and our little one seemed glad to get out of the heat and back amongst toy cars and books. The childrens menu had quite a few options, although some were better than others. The staff were all reasonably friendly - a few surly ones but mainly really friendly and helpful.

On arrival we were welcomed to the room by the books & jigsaw puzzles we'd ordered in advance, and everything was clean enough. We were told the refurb was done anytime between ten to five years ago and whilst things are still generally looking well, some of the areas were starting to get a bit tired

The main issues we had with the hotel - we booked a garden room which overlooked the roof of the reception area and a few bushes. The main issue was it also overlooked the road and there was some serious noise from 1am to 5am, not just from nearby bars and discos (euro pop at 3am anyone...?) but from an endless stream of locals drag racing on pimped up motorbikes - the local McDonald's onviously missing a car park. Having said that, considering how many kids there were in the hotel, there was very little noise from other guests, or maybe there was and it was hard to hear !!

The other thing which was sometimes difficult to swallow was the cost of food and drink. Appreciate that this is a style hotel and is priced accordingly but with some of the prices it felt like they were high without justification - i.e. you didn't see the actual value of what you were getting. Wander outside the hotel and there are multiple bars and eateries offering much better value

The hotel is also seemingly keen on rules and they are not shy on posting them - do not take your own food and drink back to your room (it attracts ants and other bugs but you're welcome to order room service), don't use your mini bar fridge for your own items (a storage fee applies if you get caught...), internet usage stricly limited to 30 mins a time, a shed full of toys for the childrens pool but seemingly only one item per child in the pool and drip fed across the day. We didn't really see any of these being enforced too much (bar the guy in charge of pool toys) but it sets a rather negative tone

Final point which I thought was poor was dirty bed linen - all white is fine when things are new, crisp and clean, but ours on arrival looked like a pot of tea had been emptied on it. It was eventually changed but one got the impression that there was some reluctance by the cleaners about doing so

It's easy to pick out the poor points as they stand out in the mind, but overall it was an enjoyable experience. Mrs littleleys loved the spa and had multiple treatments, the adults area was just pure chill out, the quality and standard of the food was great - especially the mezze served by the sea, the buffet breakfast had a great choice and was a decent standard, the location meant a few minutes walk into town and the staff were very service orientated

Having spent the past 5 years working across Europe and staying in multiple hotels I'm now very picky but there were definately more positives than negatives here - even despite the nightly noise. Well worth a look, fantastic for families but you need to splash the cash a bit and get a sea view room to cut down on the noise

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This is an abridged review, the story behind it is way too long to bore you all with. We booked a holiday at short notice - our brief was simple. We have an active 5 and 3 year old, we're both active and enjoy water sports, we want a quality hotel, with a beach and access to good child care. We can stomach a beach for an hour or two before we need to play tennis, water-ski or something.

Almyra is a good 4 star hotel with an excellent spa integrated into it. It boasts three pools (one with the spa, no under 16s) one very small baby 'pool' and a bigger 'family pool'. The restaurants are good and the staff helpful. However, we found this hotel to be claustrophobic, a concrete jungle with NO beach, access to a concrete boardwalk was via steep (dangerous for toddlers) steps. There is no real open space so our two were letting off steam charging up and down the corridors. Not great when you're conscious that romantic couples have paid for some peace and quiet. The staff at the kids club were great but when your 5 year old is the only child there you question what fun he's having.

The hotel offers no water sports itself (there is a tennis court) but you can get skiing etc along the coast. Sadly not what we paid a premium for.

Our frustrations were such that after three days we moved hotels. So, in brief a lovely hotel; great for romantic couples; parents with inactive babies BUT not what we wanted for active 3 and 5 years olds who wanted a beach, not a concrete and rock strip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DazzlaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have just returned home to London from the Almyra (5th to 12th June 2010) and cannot talk highly enough of the hotel. I felt a bit worried just before we went after reading some recent negative reviews. Thankfully we did not encounter any of these negative aspects. I don’t usually write reviews but feel moved to do so as I’m not sure why the Almyra is getting such negative press; I’ll try and be brief but I’m happy for anyone to e-mail and ask me questions if they want to know more.

> Rooms: We stayed in a Terrace Garden View room (one of the cheaper ones of the hotel). It was lovely and clean, well appointed, reasonably sized – not huge but not tiny either. Plenty of room for the travel cot they put in for our 11 month old and also room for her to crawl around. It was easy to ‘baby proof’ the room so she couldn’t reach anything she shouldn’t. Quiet, efficient air con (although you needed to lock the patio door properly – we only half locked it sometimes and the room got warm). The Sea View patio rooms looked the same as ours but obviously had a sea view which of course was beautiful if you want to pay extra – we didn’t but the view of the gardens was very nice and fine for us. Small bathroom but perfectly fine. Towels changed twice daily IF YOU WANTED – there was a sign that said they would only change towels in the bath or on the floor – not those on the rail.

> Creche (and babysitting service): I cannot praise these facilities enough – they would surely obtain an ‘outstanding’ ofsted. The room was lovely – with separate sleep room and outside area. The staff were fabulous – my little girl doesn’t really enjoy nursery at home so we booked a few sessions (some morning and some afternoon) thinking we may have to cancel them (24 hour cancellation) as of course we wouldn’t have sent her on holiday if she didn’t enjoy it. Best to book ahead actually and then cancel later if needed as it gets very busy – I expect you won’t end up cancelling. Anyhow, she loved it – it gave another element to our day (adult time) and her day too (freedom playing with other kids and all the toys!). Also – babysitting was great – we had a couple of evenings out on our own – it is done by the crèche and kids club staff and I wish I could have taken any of them home to be our babysitter here.

> Staff: We found them all very friendly, courteous, happy to help at all times – from the reception, pool, waitresses etc.

> Breakfast: Gorgeous – served 7 till 10a.m. – pastries, fruit, juices, cheese, fresh omelettes, pancakes, waffles and all the usual – eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes – delish! It was a lovely start to the day eating fresh food overlooking the pool (with the sea in the distance).

> Location: Perfectly placed a 3 minute walk to the start of the Kato Paphos sea front restaurants. Also plenty of restaurants, coffee shops etc opposite front of hotel. With our little one we didn’t go to old town but I believe it’s picturesque and nice to explore only a 10 min taxi away.

> Pool: Family pool was great, large, plentiful towels, huge ‘day bed’ style loungers, lots of shade or sun depending on what you want. Spa pool (adult only) was gorgeous and peaceful when our little one was in crèche.

> Baby friendly: Everywhere we went the staff couldn’t help with out baby enough – getting highchairs or just smiling and saying hello. I chose to borrow a (free) babywalker for our room which was good for out little girl to scoot around in – she can’t walk yet. They emptied our minibar for us – at our request- so we could store her baby food and baby bottles in it which was good.

> Food / drink: we didn’t eat at hotel apart from breakfast as we like to explore plus it was quite expensive (although I’m sure it was good). We had some drinks by the pool or in the evening which were expensive but the cocktails were gorgeous – and we were on holiday!

> I would recommend this hotel to anyone – plenty for adults, families, babies and children alike!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky_McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our stay in this hotel was not that great. The problems started when we arrived at the hotel. The reservation was not present at the reception, so they were not aware of our stay. The reason for this was a miscommunication of the travel agency. The reason for this was the late booking (approx. 48 hours in advance), but you should expect that this can be arranged with this time. Anyway, after one our waiting and phoning the travel agent, we were brought to our room. The next day the found out that we were placed into an higher category then booked so we had to move to another room, or pay € 50 euro's extra per night!! As there was not much difference between those rooms (only the large flat screen tv), we chose to move.

The biggest surprise to us was they are organizing wedding parties in their garden until 1 o clock in the morning. At our stay these very loud parties took place three nights in a row. You would not expect this at a so called 5 star hotel, paying euro 300 a night! Even if this occurs then you should be notified in advance. At the third night the music was so loud that we had to file a complaint at the manager. Even after he asked the party to reduce the volume nothing happened.

Furthermore the hotel room was clean, and they exchange towels twice a day. However, according to me this was not necessary and not evirement friendly.

Positives:
Great big lobby
Free wifi
Free courtesy room for one hour when you fly in the evening
Great (only adults) pool at the spa, too bad they do not have umbrella's for everybody (not even if you ask them to arrange this)
good restaurants (a bit overpriced)
hotel lies very centrally, close to the harbour
clean hotel room
good breakfast

Negatives
Hotel rooms more looking like 3/4 star, not 5 star
Staff a bit grumpy (not all)
Not enough beds/umbrella's at the pool, some guest 'reserve' beds very early and then come back a few hours later
Loud wedding parties during the evening/night
reception looks a bit disorganized.

Bottom line, the price/quality does not match, i would not recommend this hotel unless you like to have your wedding party here:)

Restaurant Tip: Gina's place (lunch) opposite of the almyra hotel and Sakura Japanese restaurant (dinner).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeVlieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Direct or indirect feedback helps us develop and improve.

We apologise for the inconvenience of changing rooms after your first night, but since the booking had not come through your Agent, we thought of providing you with the best possible room we had available and clean for your first night. Obviously, since this was not the correct category, as we mentioned on arrival, we provided the correct room the following day.

Almyra is a popular destination for many different occasions, and although rare, there can be more than 1 weddings taking place in the same week. We sincerely apologise for having been disturbed during your stay as this is not the norm in Almyra.

We value your comments and although we clearly failed in reaching your expectations, we hope we will have the chance in the future to welcome you back, to provide you with the usual "Almyra experience"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

When we first arrived at Almyra we were astonished at the contemporary lobby. The staff are all very professional. We were slight ly dissapointed with the location of our room, like another reviewer in the blog, ours was a ''garden terrace' and faced on to the main road, which was noisy at night time. I would recommend paying that extra little bit for a sea view room definitely. The hotel restaurant food is devine although (expectantly) pricey for a 5* hotel. Overall we loved the hotel location, right on the sea shore, which is beautiful, especially enjoyed from the breakfast area, or from the spa. The spa was excellent, with indoor and outdoor pools, gym, sauna, steam room and treatments; i had a massage which was actually one of the best i have ever had. Overall, it was spotless, modern, and ideally located.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate direct and indirect feedback as we strive to improve our facilities and services.
The town of Pafos is a lively one and we therefore suggest to anyone who may be sensitive to noise, to opt for one of our Sea view categories, as they face the front, not the town.
Thank you for your positive comments on Almyra and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We have just returned from our week long stay at the Almyra and had a relaxing and enjoyable time there. The main thing about the Almyra is that it is a good 4* hotel which has made concessions in order to to be family friendly. As someone who has (in her life before kids) stayed at many 5* hotels around the world I would say that this was a good compromise between adult boutique hotel and kiddie friendly hotel.

Positives -
The adult only pool & spa area - great when your little one is in the creche
The creche - the girls in the creche were lovely and our little one loved his time in there
Food - the food was very good in all the various places (although expensive)
Room - we had a terrace sea view room which was lovely and had enough room for us and our little one.
Service - in general the service was very good
Main pool - lots of beds available in the sun

Negatives -
Room - the aircon wasn't working properly initially but thankfully it was fixed within 24hrs
Surrounding area - the habour and immediate area outside the hotel is not much to look at and rather tacky. If you do want to eat outside the hotel some recommendations are Mantra, Almond Tree and Cavallini
Children over 4 - there isnt much for children over 4/5 to do.
Beach - there isn't really one!
Road - I agree with the last review about if you book a garden room

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $124 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing