We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, modern and breath-taking hotel....”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fantastic, modern and breath-taking hotel....”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Chris and I decided to book this hotel for our 2 year anniversary and we don't regret it!

The hotel is very very central in the Kato Paphos region. And next to the beach. It was recently refurbished, renovated and updated. The hotel is following the design of being 'minimal - yet - colourful'. There were lots of people there, yet it did not feel crowded.

The room we were in, it was white, with white furniture and photographs on the wall. I felt like that I was in a modern white penthouse overlooking the River Thames. The sea view was stunning and there was so much blue. Blue skies and blue waters.
The bathroom was lovely, modern and I loved it straight away. Nothing looked old, misplaced or wonky. No evidence of any stray ants. This is very common in Cyprus and we (Cypriots) do not worry about them but we are aware that tourists would be.
The bed was so comfortable and I slept really well that night. There are heavy curtains which black out the dawn or sunrise. There were complimentary plums and a bottle of water when we arrived. We used it all up.

The swimming is clean, stylish and really modern. The sunbeds are large and we had lunch at the pool restaurant. I had a gorgeous mozzarella and tomato salad. Chris was impressed with his club sandwich. We are fans of club sandwiches and anything to do with mozzarella. They were just very good and extremely fresh.

The most important thing to us when staying at hotels, is the breakfast. We were blown away. The breakfast was white, spacious and airy. We couldn't smell any of the frying. There was a table set up which offers you blitzed smoothies of ginger, apples and celery or watermelon with other things. This was fantastic and we had a couple of tries. They are supposed to energise you for your day ahead. There was even a table set up for people with special dietary needs. Anything wheat free or sugar free, they have it available for you.

We both had very good English Breakfasts and I loved the morning smoothies. The freshly squeezed orange juice tasted absolutely wonderful and we both left the hotel feeling satsified and relaxed.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone I know. It is superb and worth staying at. It is worth every cent.

And oh, this hotel is child and family friendly. This is good for a lot of people out there. :) Bon voyage if you do decide to come to Cyprus for a holiday! :) :)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paphos_Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    496
    160
    55
    29
See reviews for
582
789
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The pictures look great but you will soon find that when you get to the hotel, it is only the main areas which have been refurbished. The rooms are low quality with 2 star type cupboards, beds, TV cabinets, Grundig TVs. I was very disappointed and I hope to warn anyone else that may be enticed by the photos of this hotel - to please be wary that this places costs quite a bit, but certainly not worth the money unless you plan on spending most of your time in the main communual areas - which I have to admit are lovely.

The staff at front desk were ok, some better than others. Some really had no idea of what to recommend. I usually look to the expertise of the front desk to suggest places to go, restaurants to visit. Two of the guest service reps were very good and suggested great restaurants.

The water view is nice, breakfast was good. The WIFI broke down each and every day and I was there for a week. The shower was weak. I had to call maintenance to fix the toilet 3 days in a row.

The spa treatment was more expensive than 5 star London prices so I did expect a good treatment. Again, disappointed. Spent 20mins of my hour treatment having the therapist do 'reiki' which really was her putting her hands on my back and not moving. Not to sound like I'm a spa junkie, but I go to the likes of Renaissance, Mandarin Oriental, Sanderson Hotel etc in London and was really expecting the Almyra to be quite good.

This hotel could do much better if the rooms were also renovated to the same quality as the main areas of the hotel.
Luckily we did nice day trips out and enjoyed our holiday overall.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StarGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

The Almyra did exactly as it said in the brochures.
The staff are very friendly especially Ali in the Notios bar and Erika in the nursery both of whom gave service above and beyond expected.
The hotel itself was spotless,with excellent breakfasts,the rooms were more than adequate for a holiday of 10 days .
The food in the Notios was of excellent quality if rather expensive but hey you get what you pay for.
The location was perfect a short walk to the Harbour and restaurants all the way there but do choose very wisely.
If there was one fault (not the hotels) I would suggest that the hotel double glazes the front to try and reduce the noise from the boy racers,this was our only concern as we were travelling with a young child.
All in all one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at for a family holiday,it even beats some 5star hotels.

  • Liked — The friendlyness and can do attitude of the staff
  • Disliked — Noise from the boy racers on the road outside
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ramjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eton, Berks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2008

A 5 minute walk by road or along the coastal path to the Harbour, the Almyra has a great location.

Ideal for families, there is a childrens pool, childrens club and a creche. They offer a Baby Go Lightly programme, where you can pre book nappies, baby milk and baby food etc so you don't have to worry about packing.

The rooms are spacious. I stayed in a Deluxe Seaview Room which had floor to ceilings patio doors which opened, enabling you to sit with the glass of wine and watch the sun set!

There is a good adults only area around the spa. The Spa has a gym, sauna, steam room, treatment rooms, a restaurant, indoor pool and a fabulous infinity pool.

The buses to the Market and Coral Bay stop right outside, and there are a great choice of bars and restaurants within a stones throw if you want something different from hotel fare.

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Liked — The location...being within walking distance from the main town
  • Disliked — The decor...its very minmalistic and to begin with feels a bit cold.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElaineK_Eton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

My partner and I had a couple of reservations after reading most of the postings about the Almyra but within minutes of arriving, we knew they were unfounded. This hotel is beautiful and I can't find any (major) faults. We had room 222 - an Aetheon seaview room which was right on the end of the section which is children free. The room itself was really lovely. Gorgeous bathroom with shower (no bath which we knew about), well stocked (not overly expensive) mini-bar and a nice little balcony with a beautiful view. The pools are both lovely but extremely cold (something which I feel needs rectifying). We only used the adult only pool but the restaurant in which we had breakfast overlooked the main pool for use by those with children and it really is nice - lots of double sunbeds and plenty of shade if needed. The food is what really made our stay in the hotel so wonderful. We ate at Ouzeri 3 times during the week (greek/cypriot meze style - the most delicious food) and Notios twice. The sushi served there is truly exceptional and prices are on par with typical sushi restaurants in London. I must also give a special mention to Lucas, the manager. He is excellent at his job and is a real asset to the hotel. I really have only positive things to say about our stay with only a couple of exceptions. One particular male manager with whom I spoke to on several occasions was not the most helpful or insightful when it came to recommending various things. Luckily this was made up for by his colleagues! Another minor complaint came from a dinner we had taken at Notios. We arrived around 9.20 pm and had the most wonderful dinner (started and main course). Because we had enjoyed it so much, we really looked forward to the desserts but a waiter came over and told us we could only order ice-cream because the kitchen had by this time closed. It was so incredibly obvious that he wanted to go home but we called over the manager (the aforementioned Lucas!) who very swiftly sorted out desserts for us. Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Almyra and I can't think of anyone that wouldn't agree, and this statement comes from two extremely fussy frequent travellers!

  • Liked — Great room and even better food
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank londonlollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

This is one of the best hotel ive stayed at, and ive stayed at some of the best. The atmosphere, decor, food and staff are excellent. We went with our 2 year old because, despite the contemporary furniture, it is very family orientated. Only downsides are the beach, its small and because of the rocks is quite dangerous at places. Also, although the food is excellent it is very pricey. But besides that i would highly recommend it for familes or couples alike (the spa area and restaurant is adults only)

  • Liked — facilities
  • Disliked — beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed at the Almyra for 2 nights and I have to say it was a pleasant experience. Our room was a seaview room with the true meaning of the word "seaview" and not sideview or no view. Right in front of the beach the sunset was spectacular.

A few points though:

- Its true, the hotel is family oriented with lots of family guests with children which makes it quiet noisy sometimes.
- Although the sea water is crystal clear, they should do something about the massive rocks underneath the sea which makes it nearly impossible to go in and have a swim.
- The restaurant and room service meals are quiet pricey. 20 Euros for a burger!!! Just go outside the hotel were there are numerous restaurants that serve good food at reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing