We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best holidays yet. Fantastic hotel, amazing food and friendly staff”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best holidays yet. Fantastic hotel, amazing food and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Almyra Hotel Paphos, Cyprus between the 18th- 28th November 2013. We were looking for a relaxing holiday, so for the very first time ever we booked the full board option. We have always been keen to check out the best restauran. in the area and like to eat different food every day. When we booked and read some reviews, we hoped and prayed that the food in The Almyra hotel would be great.
We arrived later than we expected, due to some health emergency of one of the passangers on our flight. When we arrived, i was so tired then and was very annoyed to find out that we couldn't have a room on the ground floor with a seaview. We paid for a superior sea view room, but they gave us a sea view room on the first floor with a juliet balcony. We have a very active 2.5 year old boy and we were concerned with him climbing over of the balcony bars, if we took the room. The receptionist talked to the duty manager, Stellios, about our problem. He said an unnescessary comment at that particular time "why would a child climb over the balcony anyway" which made me cry at that moment. Every child is different and we just wanted the best for our child. His safety comes first and we wanted a stress free holiday.
He apologized for the comment and said that we could have the ground floor seaview room for an extra €600 for 10 nights. We found that a little bit ridiculous, its exactly the same room, the difference. is just on the ground floor and have a little terrace. On top of that, you hardly can see the sea from the ground floor because the view is obstructed by the trees, sun beds etc.
He then showed us different rooms and we finally choose the Garden terrace by the play ground. So just bear in mind when you book the room, superior seaview room is from the first floor above and if you want a seaview ground floor room, you need to book a seaview terrace room or next time we will book a Kyma suite instead. It's a bigger room and has a clear sea view plus roof top seating area.
Apart from the little problem above, we had an amazing time in The Almyra hotel. The room was always kept clean, 5 star standard. The food was amazing, 6-8 different salads every day. Breakfast can be a little bit boring after few days, but lunch and dinner are just exceptional. Lots of different type of food to choose from. There was something for everyone, fish, beef, chicken, vegetarian. They have different themes everyday and the quality was just very good. Spoke to the executive chef, Rob Shipman, who's just happened to come from Notting Hill, London. Such a lovey person and the staff at the restaurants, Elena, Eleni and Georgiana were just outstanding. Genuine service. Our son has food allergies and intolerances, soya milk and chips were always prepared for us every day. The location of the hotel is just perfect, close to the harbour and right in front of the sea. The pool and sunbeds area are just great. The spa is just simply amazing,the gym, the heated and infinity pools, steam room and sauna.
We checked out all other hotels in the area, we can proudly say that we stayed at the best one. All in all, fantastic stay, wonderful food and staff., oh they have a family play room, an amazing creche' with sleeping area for babies and lots of toys. The play ground (which can be maintain a little bit better maybe) is a good extra facility for children. Maria Christodolou, the duty manager kindly explained and took us to the creche'. Perfect hotel for families, couple or everyone. Stylish, casual, quality, friendly and perfect location. The Almyra hotel definitely ticks all the boxes. The weather was perfect in November, warm in the day and cool in the evening. If you are planning to stay in paphos, the Almyra is definetely a great choice. We are planning to return next year and possibly celebrate our renewing vows ceremony in the Almyra. Thank you all for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Check out our review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Almyra, and for sharing your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We especially miss Brandon! We are pleased that your initial disappointment with your room was quickly resolved so that you could enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a relaxing time.

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback, the team is very proud to know that you have lovely memories of your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist you

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    508
    165
    55
    30
See reviews for
603
834
81
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visited Almyra only for one night for an anniversary surprise! booked the hotel through booking.com around 20.00pm, arrived at the hotel at 00.00. When we went to check in the front office desk did not have our reservation and said that he did not have any access in the reservation system of the hotel. When he tried to find us a room, no room was clean except of one, a studio.It is understandable from our side that no rooms could not be cleaned at this time since it could be a high season for the hotel or of course at this time no housekeeping was in but it is unexcused from the receptionist not even tried to find a solution! He also checked at their mother sister hotel Anabelle, without with any result too. The receptionist said "i'm sorry i can NOT help you and do anything" we applied to him to upgrade us at least at the studio since he did not have any rooms to accommodate us, but he still insisted that he could Not do anything and did not have the permition to do it. Then we again suggested him that he is overbooked and he has to find another hotel to accommodate us, he said no!! When we insisted that we traveled all the way to come to Almyra and Papho to stay and had preference in this "lovely" hotel he still said "sorry i can not do anything". Then after all this conversation we asked him that we wanted to see a duty manager, he applied that the duty manager is not in. After a while suddenly the duty manager appears, he was not even was aware the the duty manager was still in the premises. The time have already gone at 12.45 a.m without any solution. Finally the duty manager did upgrade at the studio. This is unacceptable. Staff are not well trained, do not have the authority to take any responsibilities. It was an awful experience. We do like Amlyta hotel, we do support hospitality in Cyprus but it was our first time to have this treat.

Room Tip: the are with the studio rooms are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simplylovecyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review, following your one night stay at Almyra over two months ago. We do appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Unfortunately, when it comes to last minute bookings, online and actual room availability don’t always match. I understand that our duty manager, Maria Christodoulou, had eventually offered you a room upgrade of nine room categories, from the standard inland view room that you have booked to our best seafront suite. This gesture apparently could not compensate for either your half hour waiting time or the behavior of our untrained night receptionist who failed to immediately take this initiative, past midnight, in a hotel that was running at nearly full capacity.

I would like to thank you for your otherwise positive comments and judging by your rating I hope that you will reconsider returning to Almyra.

Best Regards
Stelios Moustakis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes ,Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is only my second visit , but it will not be my last. It may not have the polished stone like its sister hotel Anabbelle but it has the friendliest approach and feeling which i have not had better anywhere else,All the staff are superb and any problems would be sorted out immediately(not that i had any problems).The food was different and very much to my liking , so if you want ENGLISH food dont bother,after all you are not in England. But they do have Porridge!.
It has a Casual smart dress code which is not exactly to my liking, as i believe all men should wear long trousers for their evening meal?, It certainly should not be a problem.
The Spa is great, especially the indoor pool, the Sauna & the Steam room plus a great Gym.
it is also situated in a position which allows you to walk very easilyall over Kato Paphos.
I am trying to book my 3rd visit now for Spring. Cheers, Tom Tyson.

.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the Sea either a standard room or one where you pay a bit more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mr Tyson,

Thank you very much for sharing your complimentary feedback about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you back again this year, and it's very rewarding know you had another wonderful holiday, I am pleased you enjoyed the Almyra Spa facilities also.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another relaxing holiday.

Meanwhile, we all wish you a wonderful Christmas and New Year!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the "Alymra" Hotel Paphos Cyprus for the second time between the 11th Nov. and the 22nd Nov 2013. We are now looking forward to our next visit.

The "Almyra" has a very relaxing atmosphere, the swimming pool area and the surrounding sunbeds are well spaced, you do not feel as if you are on a military parade as with some hotels. The hotel also has a grassed area which is also quite and relaxing.

The Dining room is spacious and the food is very good, there is always plenty of choice and the staff are all extremely efficient, polite, and helpful, they make life easy by speaking very good English. "Elena" makes meal times a pleasure.

The hotel is perfectly situated for walks to the beautiful harbour, there are walks in both directions along the promenade, all of which are almost flat and suitable for the less mobile..

The hotel provides evening entertainment in the bar and lounge area, which is furnished with very comfortable seating. This holiday we were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful voice of Krisztina , the guitarist Helious and a harpist.

Trips to various parts of this wonderful island can be arranged from the hotel. the mountain tour which takes in some of the Monasteries is a really good day out.

The "Almyra" has guests who return year after year, which is a tribute to the Management and staff, who are always ready to help no matter what time of the day or night it is.

We had a great holiday.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floors give a better view out to sea, but all north facing rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Morrison-Gardiner,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your comments about the Hotel facilities, location and team very much.

It really was a pleasure to welcome you back, and we are all looking forward to seeing you again hopefully next yeat

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aglangia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Went with my wife and another couple for 1 night just to relax and spend a quiet time away from our daily rutine. The hotel gives u a relax feeling like going to a spa. Everything was neet and tidy. A good place to relax is on the 2nd floor where u check in. Go at night just to have a drink and listen to the music. Lights are faded out and with a small candle makes the night quite calm and special.

Didn't try spa, but i think it's one the think u must try.

The room was tidy but not what i expected for a 5 star hotel. Bed was not that comfortable, bath was small, it didn't have anything for the water not spilling out. The balcony is tiny, which in my case i didn't care due to the weather. I also realised that there was no greating card or something (maybe i didn't see it), nor fruits just to change your mood, just 2 glasses and a bottle of water. Well for me i wasn't bothered but maybe it does for others.

Morning breakfast was avarage i must say. Not much of a variety of food , but well made.

Overall i had a relaxing time, and prefere booking sea view. Close the tv and just listen to the sea while falling asleep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights on HB in a garden room at the End of September. We booked the holiday 4 days before flying as a relaxing break. The hotel has a contemporary feel.The choice of food at breakfast and dinner buffet was varied and of a good quality. The Spa facility and services are professional with a well equipped Gym. The hotel seems a good choice for families with toddlers based on the numbers of guests with small children. They have a family pool which is covered by canvas . We spent most of the days by the adults pool which is a very relaxing area with double size sun beds and an infinity pool looking out across the sea and promenade, you need to get here between 830-9.00 as the beds go, especially as their is no beach to speak off. Coral bay beach is reachable by the615 bus from the harbour. Overall we had a nice holiday here but agree with other reviews that it's a good 4 star.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at the almyra a number of times over the past few years and I am always glad to be back. The entrance and common areas are simple but so inviting and the daily sunset view is breathtaking. Although some areas may need a little bit of care, overall the place is grand and the staff very friendly and helpful. This is a great place either for couples only or families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We espcially value the feedback back of our returning guests very much, and feel honoured that you return to Almyra regularly

We are looking forward to your next stay with us

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,578 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing