We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAULTLESS”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Almyra for 12 nights as we were getting married and having our reception at The Annabelle (next door). From the minute we arrived at the hotel the staff were both friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us. Our room was stunning (superior sea view room) and staff from all departments cleaners, housekeeping, waiters, front desk etc could not have made us feel more welcome. We had a lot of our guests stay here too and they all had great experiences. Perfect location to everything in paphos and even though hotel was a busy it had a very relaxing and quiet atmosphere. we have stayed at many 5 star hotels in paphos but the Almyra felt like home and we will Definately return for our anniversary if not before. Thank you to everyone. Julie P

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliesteele2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
There are newer reviews for Almyra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,353 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Don't get me wrong this is a good hotel and has excellent facilities but I would agree with a few of the other reviewers that it is a little short of a true 5 star. We stayed in a Kyma suite, which is over £400 per night and frankly although very nice it is not worth the money. Having said this the Ouzeri and Notios restaurants are first class and the food terrific as well as being good value. Despite the hotel being relatively quiet service is haphazard and sometimes very slow, particularly at the bars and during cocktail hour, it took us 25 mins to get a drink, and that was only because we went to the bar ourselves. The sea views and harbour location are great and access to kato paphos very easy along the sea front walkway. I would say this is a good 4 star but charging way too much.

Room Tip: Sea view essential unless you hate the sun. Garden rooms a no no.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Cyprus and what an introduction we had! From our first greeting by the concierge, to the helpful introduction by the reception staff, we were made to feel most welcome and on every occasion after, recognised.
Our room was cool and the air-conditioning worked well. The room was well maintained and clean.There was a wide choice of food in the restaurant, which was changed each evening. There is a choice of three restaurants. All staff were friendly and ready to help in any way.
This may have been our first stay at the Almyra but it certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Almyra hotel is situated in the most perfect position, a short walk to the harbour and the town (Kato Paphos) It also boasts, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and great food spread between 3 restaurants. The exterior Spa & pool is great for adults to relax. Its Sister hotel, next door, is the Annabel - you can also eat here. No complaints whatever and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet, its great to have a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely staff, exceptionally poorly trained and let down by systemic management failings in every department. As a 4 star hotel charging 4 star prices - no complaints. As a pale imitation of a five star hotel charging five star prices it is just not good enough.

We complained after several incidents of bad service in the restaurants, reception and bars. The manager was charming and said all the right things. She offered us dinner on the last night as their guests. We were pleased. We had already pre-booked a babysitter before leaving the UK as advised and so said we would love to book at the Ouzeri restaurant on the seafront.

Our babysitter was booked for 8pm. At 8.20 we rang as the babysitter had not turned up. We were told it was some kind of error but they would try and sort something out. At 8.40 I went to reception and explained my unhappiness to the manager. Although we did finally get the babysitter we had booked it was something of an illustrative irony that even when they were trying to make up for their failings they failed. One would have thought the manager would have double checked the "difficult customer's" babysitter booking.

I have only ever complained in a hotel once before. It was a five star hotel. When I checked out on that occasion I was met by the manager who apologised again, asked if things had improved and whether he could hope to welcome us back again. At the Almyra, nothing.

Charming people, poorly trained is simply not good enough in a five star hotel. Clearly this chain knows how to do service given the standards at their sister hotel, the Anassa. Consequently I fail to see why they consider poor service to be acceptable. The only thing that was said before we departed was that it had been the babysitter's fault not the fault of the hotel, that no hotel is perfect and that they had done their best. They did refund the cost of the babysitter, but frankly it didn't touch the sides. We left feeling we had overpaid, less than relaxed and keen not to return. A real shame.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Mr Grey,

As we discussed in person, I appreciate your feedback, it is valuable and important to us. We accept that regretfully we did not deliver a consistently high standard of service to you and your family during your stay, which we are very disappointed about.

Your feedback, was communnicated to the Management team, and your concerns have been and continue to be addressed and followed up to prevent our guest's feeling this way again.



Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent the 1st week of September at Almyra and we had the best time ever! everything was perfect and we couldn’t have asked for more. Before leaving I read the negative reviews on Tripadvisor and I must confess I was a bit worried but our whole experience was flawless and I have recommend it already to at least 10 friends of ours since coming back. The hotel is minimalist and beautiful, rooms are comfortable, spacious and very clean (they change bed sheets every day, including our daughter's bed cot!) food is excellent (we are Italian and have high food standards), pool area is stunning, facilities for both adults and children are state of the art, location is extremely convenient just 20mins drive from the airport (but you can hardly see or hear any airplanes), 5 minutes’ walk from Paphos center and 1 minute walk from a nice sandy beach. My husband and I went with our 2.5 year old daughter and we can certainly say it was the most relaxing holiday we had since she was born (despite having holidayed in Italy, a country famous for being family and child friendly, several times before). We used the Baby Go Lightly service for a few items which we promptly found in our room upon arrival, we borrowed twice a buggy (new maclaren) for a couple of hours for which we were not even charged, our daughter is a bit of a fussy eater but there was plenty of healthy food choices at each of the 5 restaurants. We didnt use the creche nor the baby sitting service as we didnt feel the need, everywhere in the hotel is so safe, clean and child friendly that there was plenty for us to do as a family. We booked the trip as a package with British Airways and we got HB for the price of BB which we found extremely good value and would definitely recommend. We opted for the standard garden view room and it was absolutely fine (I remember reading complaints about the street noise, the poor aircon or the weak shower but none applied to our room, we slept beautifully and I particularly am a light sleeper). It is a family friendly hotel and as such there were plenty of families with plenty of kids and babies but I must say they were all very well behaved and there is so much space to wander around that not a single time we were annoyed/disturbed by kids tantrums or cries. Extras are a bit pricey compared to what you would find in local bars or restaurants but in absolute terms (and especially compared to Italy or the UK) are still good value. What made our holiday extra special was the staff: with no exception they were all genuinely caring, nice and friendly all the way from the cleaners to the managers. We'd like to thanks a few: Elena (Diana:-0) and Ciprian from the Mosaic restaurant, Eleni from the Notios restaurant, Magda from the bar in the lobby, Maria from reception, 3 weeks after our holiday our daughter is still asking for you all! We will definitely recommend it but would advise to avoid July/August if you can’t bear hot temperatures (it was 32 degrees in September, can easily reach 40 at the peak of the summer). Can’t wait to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beatrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us . It is very rewarding for us to know that you have left us with great memories of your time here. I have passed your comments on to our team which is also delighted. They all send their regards to your family, especially your daughter.

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Please contact me directly on mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com if you would like assistance with your reservation, or just to let us know that you are returning, so we can personally welcome you especially the team members you mentioned.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a wedding in Cyprus and booked the Almyra as that was where most of the wedding party were staying.
Hotel was great. Food was great. Pool area was beautiful. And very child friendly.
The Kresh was beautiful and the girls seemed really lovely. Loved the sleep room...with the twikly stars...really beautiful!
The best thing about the Almyra was the staff though...they were so genuinley friendly and helpful...which is not the norm in Cyprus! The customer service was second to none and the staff could not do enough for you. Very accomodating! I was so pleasantly surprised
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy a friendly and relaxing stay in Paphos!

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, we are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our priority is to ensure our guests receive a very warm, welcoming and genuine service throughout their stay, and always aim to impart the feeling that nothing is too much trouble for us. I am very glad you experienced this. I have passed your comments on to our team also who will be delighted.

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#33 of 85 in Paphos
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $144 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing