We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for a week in January. Our room had a marvellous sea view. Staff were very pleasant, evening meals were lovely, lunch fine, breakfast good too. The public rooms and pools also had lovely sea views. For January, the weather was warm and sunny. Blissful. The main drawback for us was the price of booze, especially wine, which was extortionate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    491
    155
    54
    29
See reviews for
559
759
73
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in March. Hotel itself is stylish and in a fantastic location, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Room had a great view over the harbour, but the en-suite felt tired. We got a "special deal" so had full board for the price of B&B. Food was a major let down especially buffet dinner. Choice of dishes was at best eclectic, and choosing a hot main was a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is very clean and well decorated with plenty of sunbeds although not all have parasols and the sunbeds are fixed flat beds. The dining rooms is large and spacious and the food is excellent. All the staff are friendly and helpful. I was looking forward to a couples treatment in the spa but as prices ranging from e150-e260 it was too expensive, drinks were also pricey- a bottle of house red e23, a bottle water e4, tea making facilities inb the room e3.50 per day and someone wishing to upgrade to a balcony room was told it was an extra e55 per night- but we had it included in our price. There was not much to do in Pafos if archeology does not interest you and hiring a car to explore further a field was more worth while

Room Tip: well worth getting a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved this hotel for it's location, very good food, nice big rooms with really comfortable huge beds, also very clean. All staff are very friendly and attentive. But beware of rooms with inter connecting doors, we moved rooms 3 times due to hearing everything through these doors, which do not give any form of sound proofing. I believe a whole block of rooms is dedicated to inter connecting rooms which is fine if you are a family, but I can,t imagine anyone not minding hearing the guests next doors every move. The hotel staff did there best to accommodate us, hence the 3 moves in one week, but it would make me think twice about booking this hotel again unless I knew which room I was booked into.

Room Tip: Middle block seems to be the rooms with inter connecting doors. Some rooms on roadside are very gloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in february on a full board basis. My room was at the front of the hotel with no balcony and a view of trees which were very close to the building. There was a fair amount of noise from the road. The room was pretty much what all hotels rooms are - quite spacious, though, and with a huge, very comfortable bed. The flat screen TV had 2 channels with programmes in english, in addition ot the news channels. The room, and especially the bathroom, were showing wigns of being tired and in need of refreshing. The tiles in the bathroom were broken, the grouting was very discoloured. I had a kettle and coffee put into my room - I was allowed 4 sachets of coffee per day and this cost £3.50 per day, which I thought quite expensive. Meals were buffet style with a different theme each night. I would say that there was nothing exceptional about the food, most of it was edible and it served its purpose. Where this hotel excels is in its stafff who were smart, attentive, efficient and professional. The receptionists were warm, friendly and helpful. The grounds at this hotel were very pleasant, with a number of different areas in which to relax, and led straight onto the sea. There is no beach. The spa is ridiculously expensive but I did have a discount included in my booking with Mercury Travel, which I used to get an excellent hair cut. Paphos itself is modern and pretty much just one road. When one ventures into the back roads one finds oneself in an area of decay and desertion. All in all, a pleasant holiday, but I will not be going back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, opt for one of the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plmalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel gives me everything I want and a little more. Had to upgrade from the Alexander the Great (still closed) but very glad I did. The staff are very friendly and the service they provide is spot on. Our room is a garden terrace however it is overlooking the sea and has sunshine all day, would not want a room at the road side of the hotel, looks a littltle gloomy!! Our room is a twin modern room with tiled floor and veranda, shower and bath combined, separate would be better! Beds very comfortable and our room area is very quiet. Food at the hotel is again 1st class, lucky enough to have free uprpgrade to full board, excellent choice of buffet style dishes. Breakfast again is hot / cold buffet with the choice of full English and more, inside or out on a veranda overlooking the pool and sea. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the harbour area and there are a couple of good local bars just across from the hotel with pints priced from €2. All in all this is a fantastic place to stay, and I would love to come again, out of season the price and service is great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank davewelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent position, very close to the harbour. The welcome was enthusiastic and the staff were very helpful. We had a sea view room on 4th floor, not sure it qualified as a "superior" though. We were on Full Board and there for 5 nights. Overall the hotel is living on its past reputation. it is when you look closely you see the small things that let it down.

Basin in bathroom was cracked
Plug didn't prevent water draining away - an irritation when wet shaving.
Drying line in bathroom obviously broke at some point in the past so wouldn't stretch across the bath.
Bed was uncomfortable, both of us had backache every morning.
Supplied Bathrobe would fit a size 10 female only, if you're lucky!
Shower screen was pointless as floor gets covered in water every time you use the shower
As mention by another reviewer, WiFi signal indifferent. My wife's Android phone picked it up better than my iPhone.
Lounge Bar had no Keo!
All drinks were extra, including tea/coffee in the room. Although there was unlimited coffee with breakfast. A bottle of water was 4 Euro
Checkout was Midday so how many people do you think wanted to checkout at that time and how many staff were on duty in reception? 20 minutes to checkout.

On the positive side
The buffer was plentiful, although the main courses had limited imagination - how many thing can you cook in rice?
View from window was excellent
Staff were friendly and helpful

Would I stay there again? Maybe, but it would have to be an exceptional deal to do so.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank userLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am very sorry to read about your overall experience at Almyra. This isnt the lasting impression we wish our guests to have of our Hotel.

It seems we did not deliver to you, our usual & consistent high standards with regard to your room and some other areas; for example not having Keo beer in bar, which we certainly do ordinarily have available. I would be interested to know if this was the case throughout your stay.

You have shared some important points for us, and I welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in person to understand them further with the view to ensuring these issues are not repeated again. . .

If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please do not hesitate to e-mail me your contact details and the most suitable time to call you; on mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com

I hope to speak to you soon,

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#18 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, MrandMrsSmith, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing