We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but definitely not 5 star”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our first room was a sea view room and so didn't suffer from the noise from the clubs or road which others have mentioned but they had put us in an adjoining room next to a family with (as we discovered at 6am the following morning) young children who were very noisy. The room itself was ok but not 5 star in my opinion. The room also hadn't been cleaned well as evidenced by some contact lenses stuck to the bedside table. When we complained about the noise they moved us to a different more modern room. This room was much better e.g. it had a proper shower and a flat screen tv as opposed to the old CRT in the previous room. It was also quiet which was our main concern. 

The hotel is much more suited to families and there were plenty of them so I wouldn't recommend it for couples. There is a separate adult pool next to the spa and it is just as well as the main pool was noisy and filled with children. 

The quality of the food is reasonable however it is expensive. Lunches were a bit disappointing e.g. a salad at the spa restaurant was swimming in dressing (literally about 2cm of balsamic dressing at the bottom of the bowl) and a pizza base which really did seem to be like a shop bought one although I was assured it was made on site. The buffet breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of food to choose from. 

I'm surprised about the comments regarding the staff being very friendly and helpful as really the service does not compare to most other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. For example, at the spa pool you often had to go looking for someone to order a drink or food however they did seem very quick to tell some people off who had brought their own bottled water to the pool. I found this attitude very disappointing of a 5 star hotel - either provide the service or accept the fact that people will bring their own things to the pool. You also have to bring the pool towels from the room. On our first morning the attendant came across quite belligerent about the fact that we hadn't. After I explained that we couldn't get the towels as they were changing our room and now didn't have a key she eventually just told us we could get some at the spa. Again not really 5 star service - could she not have provided them? A lot of the staff could do with some training in smiling and greeting guests. A couple of notable exceptions were at breakfast where Elena and one of the other male waiters were always smiling and helpful and eager to help. 

We were also at the hotel during the power cuts and fortunately weren't too badly affected with the power being off mainly during the day. However I can appreciate the other comments regarding the hotel not really doing much to make the situation better eg supplying bottled water. It's also the first hotel I have been in which charges (15 euro a day) if you put something in the room fridge. Not sure how or if this is enforced but there was a notice to that effect which I was amazed about.

In summary, it's probably a reasonable hotel if you have a family or not really expecting excellent service. 

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Almyra this July for your holiday. We welcome feedback and if direct, we may have been able to act on your comments even during your stay.

Please note that due to the hotel being fully booked in some categories, we had the luxury this time to upgrade you to one of our Aethon Sea view rooms, in our adult-only wing, with our compliments. Obviously, for guests travelling without children, this is the category we recommend.

Almost all food served (except i.e. the local pitta bread) is prepared on-site and we have communicated your comments to our Executive Chef who will be addressing them to his team.

We are genuinely surprised with your comments about the service at Eauzone, as we generally receive very positive feedback for our waitresses there. Please accept our apologies though, if for whatever reason they didn't meet your expectations. However, it is not a matter of attitude or behaviour not allowing food or drinks from outside to be consumed in our restaurants, public areas and pools. This is firstly a matter of principle and also a legal issue. For all items consumed on premises we must have first issued a receipt. After all, I'm sure you do not take drinks when going to any restaurant or bar. The pools are exactly the same.

Regarding the charge for the minibar, allow us to clarify, that this is a charge for the entire stay (not per night) and applies for emptying the items from the minibar. If the items are removed by guests instead of staff and are left in the room they go off (anything from chocolate, to fizzy drinks and wine). Therefore we need to be notified, but just like any service there is a charge for it.

We would like to thank you for your understanding over the power-supply issue and the tragic accident. It is true that the hotel was only slightly affected and the local authorities deserve the credit for that, as much as our maintenance team which did whatever possible to minimise the impact.

Once again we would like to thank you for the feedback, please accept our response and our apologies for not meeting your expectations throughout your stay. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Almyra, over a period when schools are open, so that you can enjoy the hotel and facilities with less children presence, as you obviously prefer.

Best regards,
Almyra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,143)
There are newer reviews for Almyra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,713 - 1,719 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Tired hotel, blighted by noisy discos/clubs, soiled carpets, badly constructed bathrooms. Rooms at front of hotel pulsate with music until 4am. I and 2 teenagers had to change our two rooms after 2 nights as it was impossible to sleep. Sea view rooms much better decor and quiet but not worth the extra money charged. Kids' pool turns blond hair and bathing suits green, the management blames the use of suntan lotions which is blatantly ridiculous. We were at hotel when Cyprus' main power generator blew up. No bottled water given out for free although many children were overheating when the water and electricity supply was cut intermittently for several days for hours at a time. I understand that it was not the hotel's fault that there was no power, but it would have been nice for the hotel to have looked after its guests during the crisis. Most of staff were very kind and smiley which is extraordinary given senior managers are seldom seen. Drinks and food very expensive but of a very good quality.

Room Tip: sea view rooms only all rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisy because of bars, drunks and m...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zanadoo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Almyra during your recent holiday. We really appreciate feedback, especially if it’s constructive, as we strongly believe that suggestions from our guests can help us improve.

We are pleased that you had a peaceful stay after moving to the Aethon Sea view rooms, in our adult-only wing and we were hoping that our gestures towards the discounted supplement and the dinner offered out of goodwill for your inconvenience would have been appreciated.

Please accept our apologies for your daughter’s swim-suit, but you couldn’t have kept it since we were prepared to refund or replace it. There seemed to have been a few cases over the weekend when the summer school-holiday started, but after reminding guests to wash off the sun-lotion before entering the pool, and treating further the water, it was quickly resolved. We are disappointed to read a general statement about it when this is not the case.It's not wise to doubt the words of laboratory experts who advised us on this. After all, if everyone would have followed the pool instructions this would have been avoided and there is hardly a way of ensuring that all guests do.

Due to the tragic accident in Cyprus, there were disruptions in the electrical supply everywhere on the island, but considering the scale of the accident, the lives lost and the destruction, hotels were prioritised by the authorities and hardly affected.

In only 2 or 3 cases was the hotel left without electricity, mainly on the first day, less on the second, while from the 3rd day onwards everything was back to normal within Almyra. Even the intermissions were no longer than 2 to 3 hours at a time, all before dinner time when our guests were around the pools anyway. Drinks were always available cold in all outlets!

We honestly apologise for the inconvenience, but in return we have thanked the authorities, because there was hardly any impact on our guests, especially considering the size of the destruction and the repeated disruptions (even up to today) in households and other public services. We have also thanked our guests for being so understanding.

Please excuse the lengthy response, however certain clarifications were necessary.

Understanding though, that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations for reasons that were out of our control, we are convinced that if you were to give Almyra another chance, we would prove to you that this was only an unlucky circumstance and not the norm.

Best regards,
Almyra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at the Almyra ten years ago when it was Paphos Beach and stopped going as it had got very tired and the staff disillusioned. We thought we would give the newly named Almyra a go and our opinion remains the same its not 5 star quality. We upgraded to the Kyma suite the best the hotel has to offer. Although good sea views the bathrooms are small and very minimalist with no tiles at all, not even in the shower. We were woken on our first night by a night club over the road (about 50 yards away) playing the loudest music until 3.30am. We complained and were moved to another suite. We dediced the Almyra was not for us and moved hotels after the one night. We have since learned that the Police visit this nightclub regularly and have removed the equipment twice !

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EastSussex80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for booking Almyra for your holiday.

Since its transformation from Paphos Beach hotel, Almyra has attracted a clientele with different taste. Being more modern and spacious than its predecessor we know that some guests prefer more traditional hotels, like our sister property Annabelle, next door.

As far as we know the club you mention that disturbed you during your stay, has now (been) closed.

Having upgraded Tv-cabinets, introduced new fabrics in our lobby, updated our LCD screens and generally refreshed the property, we are hoping that we can provide a better experience. Although we regret for not reaching your expectations, we appreciate that Almyra may not be for everyone. Hopefully you can find your favourite between Annabelle and Anassa.

Thank you
Almyra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We visited the Almyra for the second week in July to have a relaxing break, our last without children. From the outset the hotel were incredibly helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and well layed out. The hotel has two main pools, offering an adults only pool by the spa as well as a family friendly pool with a pool for small children nearby. The hotel were very welcoming and helpful, offering advice and assistance whenever required, nothing was too much. The hotel is on the seafront, only a 5 minute walk from the tourist area of Kato Pafos where you'll find the Paphos Mosaics. There's an excellent bus service that runs from the harbour for 2 euros a day that will take you to Pafos centre and the Tomb of the Kings. Would definitely recommend. Top tip for a beautiful place to eat is one of the hotel restaurants, Ouzeri, which is on the seafront and has a great meze offer. The only down side was that the inland rooms could be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillGill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Amazing place to stay with kids. We stayed for a week and this is def a place we would return too. The staff were exceptional and food better than expected (I had low expectations for a place that we would eat on site but it was really good). The pool area was awesome and when it was your turn not to baby sit there is a lovely spa and adult area.

We upgraded to a junior suite as we found the standard room a little small with a baby, and this transformed the holiday. My advise would be get the biggest room you can and avoid the road side of the hotel which we believe was a bit noisy.

10/10 for us on the holiday, will def return and would recommend to anyone looking for a sunny break with kids...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LargeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing Almyra for your recent family holiday. It is a great pleasure to welcome new families to Almyra and even more seeing you depart happy.

Ou Junior suites are indeed highly recommendable when travelling with one child, and we are very happy that you made the right choice for your recent stay. We hope you took advantage of our Baby Go Lightly service too.

We would also like to thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor and we hope to have the chance to repay you the gesture in the near future, when you return to Almyra.

Best regards,
Almyra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our wedding at Almyra Hotel was fantastic, we got married on June 2011 and the day was a memorable one. The attention to detail was superb by the hotel, location, setting and the food was the best we had our whole time in Cyprus. A party of 60 family and friends travelled with us and also said it was the best wedding they have ever been to, so for those who are thinking about traveling to get married I would highly recommend it. The hotel at Almyra was beautiful, clean, and spacious and everything I imagined, the Kyma Rooftops were amazing and a superb location for drinks after the wedding ceremony and I have posted a couple of pictures that show you what it was like.

All this would not have been possible or as successful if it wasn't for my wedding planner Mandy from www.cyprusweddingpaphos.co.uk Mandy was a fantastic wedding planner, very pleasant, helpful and instantly from our first email she talked with me for over a year and a half planning and exploring different hotels and ideas in Cyprus for my big day. Mandy was very thorough and totally helped and responded promptly to all my questions and never once complained with all the emails I was sending '3000' to be exact! I would highly recommend Mandy to other brides and grooms thinking of getting married in Cyprus, Mandy had the best attention to detail, and helped to create the exact picture I had in my mind. Prior to the wedding Mandy sent over examples of wedding photos and videos to give us an idea how it all looked so that we could decide on booking our photographer, who was fantastic. Mandy also went above and beyond the call of duty on many occasions as our wedding planner, firstly she arrange all our day trips when we arrived in Cyprus, provided us with good eating places to go as she lived there, and provided all our entertainment for our wedding booking our balloon lady, Cypriot dancers and our DJ for the day. Also more importantly my little boy had taken ill while we were away and was taken into hospital, Mandy was fantastic and picked us up from our hotel and took us to the hospital and continue to phone us to see how he was doing. On the day of our wedding Mandy was around all day and stayed until 10pm that night to ensure everything went according to plan and also really helped look out for our wee boy alongside my mum. Mandy also brought a bag of toys for my little boy to play while he was on holiday which was such a nice gesture.

I would recommend Mandy to anyone thinking of booking their wedding, as I have heard other brides weren't so lucky as me and had wedding planner who refused to speak to them until they arrived in Cyprus and then had to undertake the task of planning their wedding when they arrived.....not appealing at all. With Mandy all our details were arranged prior to our arrival, all we had to do was hand over our documentation and then we were able to enjoy our holiday in the sun and feel excited about the wedding without the added pressure of organising everything when we arrived.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and wedding in Cyprus. We will return to Cyprus, as will my family, to reminisce our fond memories of Cyprus and our wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We just got back from our second visit to the almyra. A relaxing and easy hotel to use where the food was really good and the facilities and atmosphere for children perfect. Maybe the rooms need a little modernising but they are at least a good standard and more than ample for us. The breakfasts first rate too and I cannot emphasise how great every single member of staff was - immaculate appearance and friendly and polite. The hotel makes those with children feel very welcome but I wouldn't rule it out for couples . I can't say I really like paphos- it seemed a little tacky and maybe too many Brits (sorry I am British but what can I say? We aren't generally a very highly cultured people) anyway there was at least a starbucks nearby but no other reason to leave the hotel as the food was that good! We will return

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abarcpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Almyra and even more for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Although the tourist area near the harbour of Paphos is not very traditional, we have endless recommendations to make, so that you can experience sights, tavernas, wineries, monasteries and nature in a true Cypriot spirit. We hope you will feel more adventurous on your next visit, so that we can recommend them to you.

Otherwise, please accept our sincere thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards,
Almyra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#33 of 85 in Paphos
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $143 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing