We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary hotel, great food and very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary hotel, great food and very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I travelled to the Almyra with my partner in May/June 2011 for a week. On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming and polite, which gave great first impressions. The room was airy and comfortable, and very clean. The rest of our stay continued to be very positive. There was a wide range of choice of food for breakfast each morning together with extremely polite and efficient waiting staff. The pool area is always kept clean, staff are on hand if you require a drink from the bar while laid around the pool. The only slight negative of our stay would be that a couple of the receptionist staff did come across quite snooty when we enquired about directions or taxi transfers to the airport, maybe they were just having a bad day?
The location of the hotel is perfect. Having visited Paphos on numerous occasions previously, we chose Almyra purely based on its location. It is a short walk to the harbour where there are many fish taverns and lovely restaurants or alternatively there are regular buses that take you as far as Coral Bay. The hotel is situated right on the sea front which also offers a lovely stroll along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fion2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    494
    158
    55
    30
See reviews for
575
772
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at Almyra for 1 night. Well..the hotel was nice but...
1. the outside pool was covered in order to block the sun and as a result the water was very very cold!!! and because of that nobody was using it!
(2. the beach that is next to the hotel can not be used because of the many many rocks and there is no sand also.)
3. The hotel restaurant is very expensive... 1 humburger with (6-7) fries, costs 16euros!!

In general it is a nice hotel but over-rated

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Guest

thank you very much for staying with us recently at Almyra. We appreciate the fact that you chose Almyra and your comments on TripAdvisor.

On the points you raised, we would like to clarify, that the pool sail is placed mainly for protection against the sun, so that our guests can enjoy the pool for longer than usual. Up to mid June the pool temperature was kept at 29 to 31 degrees during the day, which is the normal for the season. Please accept our apologies, if this was lower than you expected.

The sandy beach in front of Almyra, provides a good access to the sea when the waves are not high (not very common) and it's used on daily basis. It may be limited in size since the promenade was completed, but completely natural and we wouldn’t like to spoil it.

All over it tends to be, that for food and beverages, one pays more for superior quality, location and service. Please accept our apologies if this did not meet your standards. We hope that since you enjoyed your stay, we will see you back in the future.

Best regards,
Almyra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just returned home from a four day trip to Cyprus and the Almyra hotel. Although the hotel, facilities and staff were great my whole holiday was ruined by a group of British thugs that came over to participate to a wedding. I honestly cannot understand why hoteliers have to put up with behaviors like this. They were cursing and swearing in public areas, near families with children - never seen such ignorant and uneducated people. In the nighttime I kept waking up because of the noise coming from their rooms. I met the bride and groom and seemed to be nice people, I am surprised they were associated with these people. The management kindly offered us to move after we explained the situation and at least managed to sleep properly on our last two nights (Should have opened my mouth earlier). Anyway, we will be returning later on in August. As I mentioned in the beginning of the review the accommodation, food and staff were very good and the only sore spot were these guests. I am actually ashamed as we actually accuse other countries for their attitudes (Germans for waking up early to place towels around the pool and Russians for being rude)...we need to think about ourselves first...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekingisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest

thank you very much for spending your recent break with us at Almyra and for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

We would like to apologise for the behaviour of this particular group of guests and their behaviour. We continue to receive threatening emails and vengful reviews on this and other websites, because we asked them to leave the premises. Please understand that we could not have foreseen this and after a couple of warnings we had to ask for the help of the local authorities.

On a more positive note, we really appreciate your recommendation of Almyra and we would love to see you back soon. We will do our utmost to avoid having similar incidents in our hotel in the future. Please rest assured that your next stay will be much more rewarding and peaceful.

Best regards,
Almyra manaagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We can't say enough good things about the Almyra hotel and its staff, the hotel manager was wonderful and extremly helpful. The view and room exceded our expectation and we very much enjoyed the pool and sunloungers. Roll on September :)

Zaria and Leanne.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leannedanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Ok, so the rooms could use a makeover and better TV sets (we had a sea view terrace) which are in contrast to the sleek, modern, designer reception area and spa / pools, but overall we had a great time with our 2 babies. The staff are marvellous throughout, they will go out of their way for you with a genuine smile. The girls in the crèche were superb. We were a little nervous about using it at first but any concerns evaporated when we spent a few minutes with these highly capable, affectionate and patient people. As wonderful as spending time with the kids on holiday is, those couple of hours of utter peace and relaxation in the afternoon were priceless while the kids played, painted and generally had great fun at the crèche. The food at the Mosaic restaurant was generally very good and whilst the children's buffet was available (why did management decide to stop that halfway through the holiday?)it was easy to sort the kids out quickly and with good variety.

Although a cup of tea by the pool was 5 euros and the smart, onsite Notius restaurant (Asian fusion type food) was equally expensive (and not included in our half board deal), I think overall it was worth it and I would definitely recommend it, particularly if you are travelling with babies or small children.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLEMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for us when our facilities and services are enjoyed by our guests.

Both the BGL creche and our SDC Kids club are a big part of our success and feedback like yours show why they are so popular. We are really sorry that the Kids buffet was available for a part of your stay, but there needs to be a certain number of children staying/using it, otherwise it is better to provide fresh dishes when needed.

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor, which we highly appreciate. We hope to see you back at Almyra soon.

Best regards,
Almyra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

we spent the most lovely and unforgettable time. The manager kindly helped us and made us feel like home. The rooms are nice and designed. I loved the paste colors and all the small details in our room. The hotel is spotless and the food is delicious. This place is magic. Our room had fantastic view and the staff was allays there to help us. We had a great time!

Room Tip: contact reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newyorker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

It's been almost 2 years since our last visit. I have to say Almyra has improved in most areas!!!

This time it was a shorter break, just for mom and dad. Right after the half-term (to avoid the families) we saw the hotel busier than last time and the weather wonderful. We were recognizd by the reception supervisor who my wife remembers from our last visit. They were so friendly and made us feel at home immediately. Their guest relations desk proved helpful this time, as we wanted to see things. Thank you Sara and Natalie

This time we booked a sea view room (I can understand the comments about noise in the city view rooms, because Paphos was buzzing) and although we didn't see any upgrades in the rooms (please do something about your doors/TV/wardrobes) we were happy to get upgraded. next time we will book a kima suite. we saw one and it was amazing. With our baby last time we were around the big black pool, but now every morning we were around the spa which is available only to over 16-year olds

the hotel does not reach its 5-star rating, but then again it's the cheapest 5-star we have ever stayed in. It cost us about 120 quid per night including breakfast and dinner on expedia!!! If they only had better quality finishing in the rooms and better bathrooms they would be amazing. Their staff is great everywhere. The spa is great and Maria at front desk or Elena in the pool restaurant are wonderfull. BTW the free dinner was worth it, although we ate out twice (ask them for recommendations)

We highly recommend the hotel for families, but couples too (outside school holidays). This time I even went golfing!!! The new course "Olivea" designed by nick Faldo is amazing (although too hot this time of year). If people would only stop whining about petty little things and see the big picture, Almyra is the best value for money place in Cyprus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginobilli335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for returning to Almyra and for complementing us for a second time on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to see that guests like you appreciate the concept, service and food of Almyra.

Everyone you mentioned on your feedback will be informed of your complements. For us in hospitality, we feed off praise from our guests, to continue providing good service. It seems that by now you have fully enjoyed the facilities of Almyra, both with your child and without.

Please feel free to mention this review next time you stay with us, so that we can also show you our appreciation while in-house.

Best regards,
Almyra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing