We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel great setting”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Seaton, Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel great setting”
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Me and my husband stayed at the Elysium for only one week, but we throughly enjoyed the whole experience. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly. I have read some other reviews and don't know where these people stayed, but we have no adverse things to report. The room was excellent, and even though some people did not like the fact that some weddings take place here I think its is lovely seeing these couples start their married life in such a beatiful setting.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to relax and have an enjoyable holiday. Yes its a bit expensive, but it is 5*.

Hope you have a good holiday if you are planningto go hee.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 90ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,615
    464
    108
    41
    24
See reviews for
952
1,704
64
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I have just read a couple of rather mixed reviews and thought I should add my own thoughts on our wonderful holiday. We have never enjoyed a stay in a hotel as much as this one - even though there were a coupl of weddings it was wonderful to see couples starting their maried life in such a wonderful setting.

I would recommend this hotel to all kinds of people and you have to remember tht everyon is an individual and just because some people like to moan about everything others are more than happy with curtious staff, friendly guests and a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY, UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I booked the Elysium for 10 nights as a 2nd wedding anniversary treat after having honeymooned in Cyprus at the Paphos Amathus Hotel (5*) 2yrs ago. In all honesty, we wish we had paid the extra and gone back to the other hotel! The Elysium is shown as a 5* Hotel sadly, with 2* staff. On arrival late at night, we were shown to an inland room which was nice, but we could hear the busy traffic noise and karaoke bar just along the road. The next morning, we met with Juliann on reservations who immediately upgraded us to a much quieter room with side seaview and could not have been more helpful. Unfortunately, in our haste to move rooms, my husband had left something behind in the old one. Numerous requests to the reception staff and a letter of complaint (never acknowledged) proved fruitless. He even spoke with the new occupants of our old room and house-keeping and eventually 5days later, we were re-united with our lost property. The receptionists appeared aloof and un-sympathetic in wanting to resolve our problem which was a pity, as the hotel itself is lovely. The pool area is split into various lagoons and although on a couple of days, it was busy with hyperactive children (Cypriot bank holiday) we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing time. Most nights were spent eating out. We tried the Olympus (don't bother), Duomo & Martelli's (fantastic food and large servings with exceptional staff) and took the local bus to the other side of the harbour where there are plenty more to choose from. DON'T however eat at THE PREMA INDIAN restaurant near to the Elysium. Awful food and I had to leave without eating the main course which we cancelled due to the largest cockroach hanging off the curtains behind me!! You have been warned! Aside from a couple of grumbles, the Elysium provides clean, spacious rooms and a nice environment with friendly pool staff and excellent selection of food for breakfast but if we do ever return to Cyprus which has become extremely commercialised since our last visit, we'll be saving up for the PAPHOS AMATHUS instead which has the edge!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BLUELAGOON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2006

For starts, this is a five star building with decent facilities of what one would expect, but the marketing of this hotel is from the same ilk as that used to turnaround Burberry from high-class fashion to everyday trash chav!!

This hotel processes rowdy weddings and unfortunately attracts a sub-one class clientele who I’m sure have no idea of what a 5 star hotel is about. This is the worst 5 star hotel I have had the misfortune to stay at.

The weddings themselves are reasonable attractive affairs, but the associated noise and the rambles of people they bring is ill-fitting for such a hotel. During the time I was there it seemed particularly popular with several hordes of groupies attending weddings. These people are simply unable to be alone and thus move around the hotel in noisy packs of 20 or more – try a relaxing sun-bathe – no chance, as you’ll be in the middle of people bartering wedding music over you; should it be indie pop or garage punk? They also think it acceptable to allow their off-spring to play football in the hotel reception, run-around shouting during dinner and giving them a pint at night – ok for teenagers maybe, but 7 year olds!!

And I’m sorry but the hotel staff need take more responsibility. A written dress code for dinner is all well and good, but what is the point? You can do anything you care in this place and the staff don’t bat an eyelid. In fact, you don’t even have to pay to stay here, as I noticed most of the wedding groupies stay next door in the apartment complex, and simply walk over and commence using the facilities as if they were paying the same as you – particularly poor when you can not even get a sun lounger!!

Try, a day out, or a few hours in the evening for a nice meal away from the chaos and there is nothing at all worth writing about. You may as well save your money, book a week at Blackpool and eat in whatever Irish themed bar, McDonalds or Chinese take-away they have. Want Cypriot food, try Marks and Spencer’s food hall in your local home town, as you’ll find none here!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

No complaints whatsover with this hotel. You get exactly what you expect to get from a 5* hotel. If you want cheap, double measure drinks and karaoke/holiday camp entertainment, then don't pay for a luxurious, 5* resort.

A thoroughly pampered, relaxing week at an ideal location.

Couldn't fault it one bit.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JackieB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We have just arrived back home from a one week break at this splendid hotel.I would agree with every one of its five stars but the pleasure for me was the balance of luxury without being pretencious not often enough is this balance achieved.
The quality of the buffet meals for vegetarians was a surprise compared to other hotels i have stayed at around world. Staff were attentive but again the balance was not compromised in making you feel comfortable.Rooms and all surrounding areas were well cared for and very clean. I would say all in all a week of total relaxation. One word of advice would be Paphos itself is not a pleasure the harbour was a real let down.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2006

We pondered for hours when booking this holiday and debated numerous hotels and locations. Cyprus has always appeared nice and when we stumbled across the Elysium Hotel in the brochure it sounded perfect! We also read a lot of the reviews and it seemed like a luxurious, mainly adult hotel so we booked for a week purposely during school term time!! We also paid a bit extra for the sea view and it was worth it (well when the wedding discos had finished at 11.30 pm!).

On arrival the reception was very helpful and we were directed to the bar for a drink whilst the concierge took our luggage up to the room. After 30 minutes we were just ready to go for a dip in the pool but still our key hadn't appeared! We eventually grabbed the concierge and made our way up to the room. The room was a nice size and the view was amazing from the balcony. Mini bar was very expensive and stayed closed all holiday! Unfortunately the shower was not working in the room so we had to wait for maintenance the first night to mend it.

We ate in the Lemonia restaurant the first night and the meal was fantastic. Drinks were expensive but like everyone says, what do you expect for a 5* hotel?! Well one thing I dont expect is kids running around in a restaurant at 10pm whilst I'm trying to enjoy a romantic meal with my hubby!! And then the booming of the wedding disco until 11.30 pm just under our balcony!? We then realised what a wedding destination our hotel was and whilst it was lovely to see two or three happy couples every day getting married, for 5 nights on the trot we had to suffer the open air disco! Unfortunately there was no-where in the hotel to disappear from the noise. A real pity as the terrace was beautiful on an evening for a night cap but the sound of the disco and unruly kids really spoilt it.

Although it was school term time whilst we were there, the place was over-run with families of varying ages (most of which had well behaved children and sensible parents who kept a close eye on them) but it only takes 1 family and 2 brats to spoil that! Why I would want to eat in a restaurant with kids running around my table, screaming and chasing cats and birds whilst their parent sit chatting and smoking oblivious to what they are up to........?

So after 3 nights and a rapidly increasing room bill of £400 we decided to start eating out. If you're looking for cypriot food, you'll be hard pushed to find anything authentic near the hotel! It's like a mini blackpool on the lead up to the hotel geared up to the English with Fish and Chips, Roast dinners, English Breakfasts and Irish pubs! For those of us who want to forget we are English and experience true Cyrpus, this part of Paphos is not for you!

The Italian and Mexican were edible but nothing to write home about! We found a fantastic Chinese just past the Tomb of the Kings called Chloes (there's also one at the harbour) and the food was fantastic. The service was also excellent and we ended up eating there 2 nights on the trot!

In conclusion, a fantastic hotel for families as it's clean, safe, friendly and over-run with them. You can do what you want, when you want and no-one gives a damn!
But if you're looking for a 5* relaxing holiday look elsewhere unless you can afford the Royal Suite with your own pool, but there again, you will still have to suffer Agadoo and the Timewarp at 11pm most nights!

A real shame and disappointing as it has such potential!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Malts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,635 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 88 in Paphos
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing