We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel amazing staff”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We loved our holiday here, the hotel is great, the pools are lovely, the gym area well kitted out. By far the best asset to this hotel are the friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. I am a gluten free vegetarian which is a pain at the best of times but dishes were adapted to suit me time and time again. They also bake gluten free bread on the premises which tastes fab. Room was lovely with a really comfy bed and good shower. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We didn't opt for sea view which I would do again as there are so many beautiful areas to sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,519
    445
    105
    39
    24
See reviews for
911
1,645
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just spent 10 nights here. The hotel has a different style and architecture which sets it apart from any typical 'white box' hotel. Combined with the well landscaped gardens and pool areas makes this hotel feel smaller than its actually is. It doesn't feel crowded or busy even though there are a lot of rooms. I have to agree with others who have written here that the staff are fantastic.... Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was polite and patient with guests.

Hotel rooms were spacious, airy and modern. Our room faced East (not the side of the pool), and was a sea view room, but overlooked a piece of scrub land that was separate to the hotel and a bit rough looking. Rooms were well equipped and clean.

Food was very good quality in all the restaurants here. Drinks are expensive, but we were forewarned of this be reading other reviews beforehand. We initially booked half board, but we were upgraded for free by the hotel on our arrival to full board. A number of guests apparently had this upgrade when we were there.

The Mediterranean fish restaurant is an extra cost option to the standard buffet and we thought was very expensive for what you actually got. The Italian 'Bacco' restaurant was also extra cost but was better value for money and well worth the extra money, being set in an enclosed court yard.

The pool was clean and clean, but not really suitable for young children, albeit there was a small sheltered kids pool for toddlers.

There is a good sized and well equipped gym, that is not 'hidden' away like in many hotels, along with a decent indoor pool and spa all on the ground floor and overlooking the pool and gardens.

The gardens lead onto the coast and beach. The beach is small and sandy, with lounge style four poster sun beds and whicker seating. The beach area is enclosed by a small made made stone reef to lessen the effect of the waves and current along this side of the coast. This makes is safer to swim. The rest of the coast line is a bit drab and the coast walk to Pafos harbour is about a 3km walk and not particularly inspiring.

My advice, eat in the hotel for dinner as the food is great and reflects the quality of the hotel and its staff...

Room Tip: Visit Coral Bay on the 615 bus. This is a 400m long sandy beach that is more sheltered than much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Elysium for 2 nights after getting married in Paphos. We had booked a royal studio but were upgraded on check in to a Royal Villa.Everything about this hotel is 5 star. I cannot fault the accommodation and the special touches just made it even better, bottle of wine and fruit in the room and a complementary bottle of champagne delivered to the room. The facilities in the hotel are excellent (we used most of the restaurants and the spa).

The staff cannot do enough for you and make you feel very special. I would highly recommend the Bacco restaurant , it is quite expensive but its one of the best meals we have ever eaten. It feels like you are in an Italian courtyard and the service was first class. The buffet breakfast had a huge choice and the food was very fresh.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel (its well worth the money) and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: If you are booking a Royal villa request the one closest to the hotel, it has amazing views from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and my mother are just back from a 2 week stay at the Elysium and cannot praise the hotel enough. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed with refreshing drinks and as soon as you enter you know your somewhere incredible. The staff are such a credit to the hotel, they really cannot do enough for you, from the guys round the pool moving your parasol and finding your sunbeds to the staff in the restaurants and spa and housekeeping nothing was too much trouble. The setting of the hotel is outstanding and i have some fantasic photos, every detail has been thought through, it never felt crowded even when they had large functions. Will never forget that view from our balcony of the beautiful sunsets every evening. Cannot wait to go back next year! This is such a special place and have such special memories.

Room Tip: opt for a full sea few, rooms on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairemac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Elysium in September / early October 2014 and booked the trip online through Thompson, as a late deal. We hadn't been to the Elysium before. I'll set this review out with general impressions first, followed by some simple good points and areas for improvement. There are a few things which could be bettered, although we did thoroughly enjoy our stay.

The initial impression of the hotel is very grand, and actually very large. I was surprised to find out later on that there are 'only' 250 or so rooms as the site is pretty extensive! The hotel location is great, it's right next to the tombs of the kings archaeological site, which means there isn't another large resort hotel crowding on the right hand side (as you face the sea), although to the left there is a square piece of waste ground of approximately 2 acres and then the next hotel, the Kefalos beach. This is significant if you have a 'side sea view' room as the direct balcony view is over this piece of ground towards the Kefalos beach hotel. We walked into Paphos several times and when compared to the location of other resort hotels such as the Alexander the Great, the Elysium has a great location and offers far greater privacy. There is an extremely well built, wide pathway which one can walk on straight into the middle of Paphos along the waterfront, the walk is about 35 minutes to Paphos port for someone who is fit and used to walking reasonable distances, but could be an hour or so if you dawdled a lot. The Segway tours in Paphos get great write-ups, and you'll see them silently using this path quite a lot.

The beach is small and is chock full of the hotel's canopied beach beds for two people. I think, but can't confirm, that this is a deliberate policy to ensure that there is no room for non-residents to come and stake out their own spots immediately in front of the hotel. There is an artificial reef about 100m offshore to act as a breakwater so swimming is generally safe and fun even on fairly windy days. It's actually one of the nicest beach areas that I can see in all of Paphos.

Without filibustering this review, I shall just say that the photos of the pool area, public areas etc. don't really do them justice, the area is well laid out, is very high quality and again spotlessly clean. The staff will find you a sunbed, parasols and generally ensure that you are happy and comfortable. The fact that they periodically bring round cold towels to mop a perspiring brow is a nice touch. The hotel was pretty full when we arrived, but there was almost always a choice of pool, lawn or beach; overcrowding was not an issue.

The hotel food was extremely good. We stayed half board and had no concerns for the quality, quantity or selection (which is very extensive) for the meals. There were as you would expect different themes for different evenings, and this added sufficient variety that we weren't bored with the Elysium's meals for a fortnight. We did go out once and we ate in one of the hotel's other restaurants, Bacco, for a change. Bacco was very very good, a superb setting and a lovely meal.

Our main concern was the amount of upselling of very expensive additions. I appreciate the hotel is a business which exists to make money, but perhaps for better overall levels of customer satisfaction based on the reviews we have read and our own experience, it could try to make this slightly less obvious! We came back from a walking expedition carrying a 'brick' of still mineral water from the local supermarket (price €2.50 vs the hotel's €9 for the equivalent volume) to be met by the concierge (who shall remain nameless as he's a lovely chap just doing his job) who literally jogged through the front door to meet us outside the hotel and explain that the hotel's policies didn't allow us to bring in our own water to drink. I confess we ignored this one throughout our stay, so far as something as essential to life and comfort as drinking water is concerned. There were no fewer than 4 separate bits of paper in the room ramming this point home for a variety of reasons: 'health and safety', 'hygiene' and 'international hotel regulations'. I was sorely tempted to ask to see these regulations, but life's too short and we were there to have fun! In short, the hotel group policies need to work on the optics of how obvious it is that they want to fleece the guests.

The hotel conducts a lot of weddings. This means larger groups of people being resident and we had a couple of nights of interrupted sleep as the 'inbetweeners' next door went into town, partied until 3am and then returned, noisily, to the hotel and continued to party until 5am. This wasn't the Elysium's fault, and they swiftly moved us to a better room away from the ruckus and the hotel manager 'discussed' the group's (there were 20 people) behaviour with the group leader - the following day there wasn't any noise. So well done! Nevertheless, you have a higher probability of larger groups of younger people staying in the Elysium just because of the wedding services offered.

My wife is no stranger to spas - including ESPA especifically - and was really impressed with the personalised approach taken with each treatment session - learning something useful (healthwise) in the process. The indoor pool is at an optimum temperature for anyone wanting to do a number of lengths for fitness purposes - often the temperature is too warm at other establishments. Also - if you are lucky you will have the pool to yourself for some or all of your swim which is great - so it is worth using the indoor pool if you want to keep fit swimming on holiday as well as relax.

So, the following is a quick round up of the good points and the few areas where we felt improvement was possible in bullet form:

* Staff were universally wonderful, very attentive, personable and professional. Our warmest "Thank you" to you all!

* Any issues were dealt with quickly and efficiently

* If reception said they would do something they always did it

* Wonderful food

* Great location, setting, pool, restaurants, spa, quiet areas, etc.

* Spotlessly clean

* Great gym

And room for improvement in the following areas:

* Constant upselling, mentioned in several other reviews

* One slight niggle was the pool bar menu stating a 650ml large draught beer, but I was given a UK pint of 568ml. I am sure this is a simple oversight, or perhaps an outdated menu but combined with a €6.50 beer price it was an annoyance.

* Draconian policies on consuming anything not bought on the premises as mentioned above!

* Very high mark-up on wine (normal for a 5* hotel, but a constant whinge of mine is that if I am shelling out €30-€40 for a bottle of wine I should have something really superb rather than exactly the same bottle I can buy in a UK supermarket for £6.99 and a Cypriot supermarket for a bit less!)

* Charging €4.50 for a coffee after dinner, when at breakfast its part of the service - just a small annoyance

* Charging €8 for a glass of prosecco as an aperitif when at breakfast its part of the service - another small annoyance

* Gym too hot! Needs to be at least 3 or 4 degrees cooler.

* Room keys are not too reliable, it is a pain after a 40 minute workout to get back to your room and then to have to return to reception to get another one cut as it has mysteriously stopped working! I saw others having the same problem as well, although our second room did not have any key card problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendian-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member Wendian-hols,
Thank you for choosing the Elysium for your recent Cyprus holiday and for taking the time to review your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for the extensive and wonderful comments about our hotel, the facilities, the services and mostly our staff.

In regards to the few issues mentioned in your review, which needless to mention that will be thoroughly looked into, we would like to comment the following:

1) The prices of the services offered are in line with 5 star properties of the island.

2) It is an international practice that hotels, restaurants and bars do not allow the use of food and beverage items purchased out of their premises.

3) There is a slight difference at the price of the suggested equivalent of mineral water, as we offer a special pack with 6 one litre bottles at the price of 6,00€ to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came to this place for a short family vacation. We ended up spending the entire four days in the confines of the hotel. With the large public area, the wonderful choices for food, the great spa and off course the spacious and well appointed rooms no one wanted to leave the hotel. We had in our group people age 10 to 80 - all had a great time. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is a more secluded area reserved for adults - which is quieter and has its own pool. A good ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked our wedding through Thomson which all In all Thomson have been very good! Our Thomson wedding co-ordinator was organised, efficient an very friendly! However the Elysium treated us like a couple if singles on their conveyor belt of marriage. We were not greeted with welcome drinks which is standard. And our upgraded room was a side view of the hotel to your left you could see another building part of the hotel and to your right a skip!!! We were Livid! The hotel reception tried to say this was all they had however after a few stern words they called the manager who admitted we were not upgraded to the best room. We had other wedding guests staying at this hotel who were also upgraded and to better rooms when I asked why this was they said they automatically upgrade anyone with the same name i.e. Mr and Mrs smith because it is likely as they are married they will return again! Despite the fact we were the bride and groom. On top of that our Elysium wedding co-ordinator was rubbish! On the day we had to ask for her twice! If you want to feel special this is not the place to go! On the plus side they have us both a €30 vouchers for the spa.. Although everything is €50+ euros. If u want a hotel at a greedy money grabbing hotel come here! Otherwise I can recommend aim cheaper And yet better hotels elsewhere! We won't be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather19885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member Heather19885,
Thank you for taking some time to review your experience here at the Elysium on Tripadvisor.

We always consider that constructive guest feedback is of outmost importance and a valuable tool that enables us to evaluate the level of our services and product. Within this context, your review is welcome, however we feel compelled in setting the record straight on some of the issues mentioned in your review.

Our records show that you have arrived on September 21st , having reserved through your travel agency a Deluxe Bedroom with Inland View. At the time of arrival and considering that you were celebrating your wedding in the resort, we had automatically provided you with a Deluxe Bedroom with Side Sea View, the best room type available at the time. We would like to point the word “available”, due to the fact that you claim that the Manager you have spoken to “admitted we were not upgraded to the best room”. In your review you have omitted to mention that the very next day, on September 22nd, the availability permitted us and we have moved you to a Deluxe Bedroom with Sea View, 2 categories up from the reserved category, were you have spent the remaining 10 nights of your stay.

In regards to your wedding, you have provided us with no negative feedback about its organization directly here at the hotel or through the review and in view if this, we consider the word used to characterize our wedding coordinator, rather harsh and malicious. We have the pleasure of organizing successfully many exclusive weddings here at the Elysium, limiting them to 1 per day, as we want our guests to feel special.

As far as the prices are concerned, indeed there are cheaper options in the island within the 3 or 4 star properties and as far as the 5 star properties are concerned, our prices are in line with them.

Thank you

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
2,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
1,828 reviews
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing