We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is exactly what it says on the tin.

I'm quite hard to please, if I book 5* then i expect 5* this hotel is very much a 5*.

Everything was just perfect good food, great staff and lovely rooms. Pool was a bit cold so had to use the indoor one. However it was December.

A great time was had by all

Room Tip: don't get a connecting room as noise can be heard through the doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had been looking forward to our 4 nights stay at The Elysium for some time and it didn't let us down. In the run up to our trip, Jan 26th to 30th, I had contacted the hotel on a few occasions and they always gave me a prompt, detailed and courteous reply. From the moment you arrive you are transported into sumptuous surroundings with waiting, smiling staff on hand. It's just as it looks on the fantastic website. Five stars it certainly is. We were surprised at how quiet it was with very few guests in January and felt privileged to be staying here. It was lovely just to wander around the hotel complex, indoors and outdoors. Anyone thinking of going to Cyprus - this is the place to stay if you have the budget. It's heaven on earth. If not, take a trip out of season where the room rates are a third of what they are in the summer. You won't be disappointed. A massive thanks to Julia and the guys at Occidental & Atrium and the guys in Bacco - the food was great. Thanks for the memories Elysium. Stuart & Susan, Stonehaven, UK ps.great atmosphere in the Atrium bar on a weekend with live music and looks to be a place where the well-heeled locals head to for their entertainment. Great fun.xx

Room Tip: Cyprian Maisonettes that don't face the Royal Garden are excellent value. We stayed in 1025 - sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a 5* in every sense. The accommodation is superb and if the hotel is quiet upgrades are not too difficult to get. Booking just out of season can also net you a real bargain.

The spa facilities are good, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room, plus the indoor pool. Outside the surrounding area is picturesque and although the hotel is set back a little bit from the beach it is not more than 30m away.

There are plenty of choices for food in the hotel 4+ restaurants but also 50m away is the main road to Tomb of the Kings and then there is a selection of other places to eat there, so location is not too bad, although you are not close to paphos town centre, but then with the facilities why venture out :-)

Great hotel, especially if booked at a bargain price.

Room Tip: If it's quiet just ask if if any better rooms are available, sea facing rooms are much nicer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boswellovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in January 2013 having booked with Mercury Direct and flew from the U.K.

We chose this hotel on the strength of the reviews on this site and to our utter amazement we found that the excellent messages here are not over stated.

My report is short......

Location........ excellent
Hotel atmosphere........ excellent
Food........ excellent
Room........ excellent
Staff........ excellent
Service........ excellent
Hygiene........ excellent
Decoration........ excellent
Wifi........ excellent reception in lobby.

I wish all hotels were like this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horace_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Elysium fully justifies it's five stars. Staff are universally friendly and helpful, eg an unfussy upgrade was immediately provided when I pointed out that a neglected local dog was howling all night ,every night ,somewhere from the properties to the rear of the hotel.
Facilities are comprehensive, rooms are well equipped and of good size and breakfast is truly wonderful.Great value for off season luxury.
Add to this it's location next to the sea and adjacent to a major archaeological site (Tombs of the Kings) and it would be tempting to spend most of your stay here, spoiling yourself with occasional trips to the hotel spa.
Make the effort to get out however,not necessarily to Paphos itself but up to the Akamas peninsular, to the local monasteries, away to the wild Troodos mountains, to the local sea caves and sites related to Aphrodite. Hiring a 4x4 would broaden the range of wild places you could get to.
If you look beyond the half built hotels and housing developments which are determined to spoil the Paphos area this is a rewarding and fascinating place to explore.
Other than the poor dog, some minor hotel issues would include rather high prices in the restaurants and bars (perhaps it's required of a five star status) and a slight oversell of the spa's overpriced physical "therapies" - but really these are fairly minor quibbles.

Room Tip: Inland facing rooms are best value but suffer from an all night dog barking problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This review should of been written last June (2012) when we stayed at the hotel. No, I didn't want to tell the world about it, simply because that my wife and i really wanted to keep it a little secret. I couldn't sleep at night from not letting the world know and not giving the hotel the right credit it deserves. So here it is: We visited the hotel as a couple for just 2 nights (not enough). We booked B&B. We had a car so were happy to find out there was an underground parking (secure) that allows direct access to the hotel lower level.
Our room was clean and offered everything one could need, including a walk on balcony.
The interior of the hotel is special and even as "indoors" offers an open feeling.

The swimming pool area was great as it offered a few areas, depending on how quiet your like the surrounding area to be.
There is also an Indoor pool (near the SPA) that has showers and changing rooms.
The grounds go onto the beach area, which have sun beds. The beach isn't great, but to be fair, the whole beach area on that part of the island isn't great. Never the less, its very relaxing sitting there during sunset and the access is well maintained.

Food:
We took B&B and decided to see what is available when we arrive.
The hotel restaurants are diverse however we never eat there (besides Breakfast). it was a little pricey for our taste. We found a great Thai place just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and for the second night, we found a good Indian place in town (We had our minds set on asian anyway).

However, the hotel restaurants seemed great, high class and the menu's should a good selection of options.

We have 2 kids (who we wisely left with grandma) but we would consider taking them next time as the hotel seemed to offer a kids club and we got the feeling our kids (aged 3 and 7) would enjoy the hotel and we too would be able to enjoy our holiday.

One thing, we felt was unnecessary: The Minibar. They had this sticker saying that they don't allow guests to store any "non hotel" items in the mini bar. I found this a little silly and unnecessary as there was no way i'd pay the rates they are asking for their stored drinks and there is a mini market about 30 meters from the hotel anyway. So, we ended up buying our own drinks (like to take to the pool etc.) and were not sure what might happen if we stored them in the fridge to stay cool. I won't say what we ended up doing, but just having that restriction was just annoying. If they were to ask logical rates for the drinks, i wouldnt think about it twice. So why ad a restriction? its just annoying knowing you have a minibar but "must" use their things only.

Internet: Come on..... You want to charge for WiFi ? This is the 21st century. Internet should be free! Does anybody actually pay the extravagant fees they ask? Again, stop by at the Minimarket and buy a data SIM to use in your smart phone. Much cheaper and you can take it anywhere. So, if the hotel is reading this long story, I urge you to offer free internet as standard. Even Burger king offers it free :-)

The above isn't a negative about the hotel at all and didn't effect our stay. I'm sharing it with you so that you know their our ways to get around some of these things.

I hope you enjoyed this review and I wish you a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Always good to speak to the reservations staff in advance and let them know if your coming on a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of my best visits in the hospitality industry if not the best. The relaxation and professionalism stands out even if visiting this place just for a coffee....Def reccomended to everyone who wants to visit Pafos and can afford it...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yiotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: $147 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing