We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Qawra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

What a superb hotel this is. I had previously read some poor reviews, and wondered if we had made a good choice, but the hotel is great. Attractive, spacious rooms, great food, helpful staff and everything looks so beautiful. As our visit was in January, we couldn't experience the lovely beach and outdoor pool, but will definitely return in warmer times to try them out. The indoor pool was good though and a fair size. The Messina Brasserie for dinner was fine dining at its best, in our opinion, if a little pricey, but one expects that at a 5 start hotel. We had two bottles of water from the mini bar in the room which we won't make the mistake of doing again. Very expensive! Beds very comfortable, rooms very clean and well looked after. Can't wait to get back. One review did say it could be noisy and we did hear the disco one Saturday night and also someone playing their TV in another room, but it only happened once. Might be a bit different in high season. Wonderful time was had by all - a really great hotel!

  • Liked — So much room in the hotel and lovely architecture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lucialuvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,525
    447
    104
    40
    24
See reviews for
913
1,649
58
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

We visited the hotel this month and had a lovely time, The hotel was perfect the staff very friendly.
If you need some where to unwind and relax this is the hotel for you.
The outside pool was closed during the winter season, but you had use of the indoor pool, which i found was never busy.
At breakfast you had a good choice of food, and the food was lovely.
The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.
The hotel room was very clean, and i didnt find it noisey.
i would definently recommend this hotel and would revisit

  • Liked — the standard of the service
  • Disliked — cold outside pool and being closed in the winter
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dawnie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

I rarely write reviews but I have to agree with the reviewers that felt disappointed. Most of them were too polite. The problems are definitely there and too big to ignore. It was a very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank afazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

This was our third time at the Elysium. The first time in 2005 it was great, the second in May 2007 disappointing, and now this time definitely not five star. The location has got really bad and has affected the few views that were pleasant. There are now smells from bars and appartments next door and noises throughout day and night. There is no place to walk around the hotel any more and with no views it is very suffocating. But unfortunately the hotel has changed to the worse to. The hotel service has become cold and mediocre to say the least. It is more run down as well and the crowd is now terrible.. loud, swearing etc. it is such a pity.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank hbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich, suffolk, england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Had an enjoyable week at the Elysium in mid-November. Most observations seem accurate. The outdoor pool was very cold, as you would expect in November. On one side of the hotel the ground has been cleared for a building project - not a pleasant sight if you sit on your balcony and look down at the ground for your entire holiday. The hotel is a good walk away from Lower Paphos - say, 15 minutes max. This walk takes you past numerous touristy restaurants, all of them serving atrocious food (some of which have been praised in other reviews; don't people have palates?!). Nevertheless the walk is interesting and there are the archaeological marvels at Paphos harbour to entice. Buses and taxis abound.

The hotel presents a marvellous breakfast spread with a wonderful egg chef who's always cheerful. Most of the staff were excellent, but it's true that reception/administration are distant and aloof, reactive rather than proactive. This contributes to the spacious and beautiful hotel lacking warmth or soul. Neither noise nor cleanliness were a problem.

Who eats in hotel restaurants? Only the unwise. Having said that, we decided to give the renowned Cava a try, and naturally we wished we hadn't bothered. The food is above average but far from excellent so the high prices are not justified. Additionally the Cava staff are so serious and puffed up with their own importance that they are in danger of disappearing {---}.

Locally we tried two highly rated Italian restaurants and wished we hadn't bothered; but the excellent Nicos Tyrimos and Apomero saved the day, both in Lower Paphos and both serving delicious food and exceptional value.

Would we return to the Elysium? For the price we paid (package deal), most certainly.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank connery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

Beautiful hotel and grounds, great breakfast and fantastic staff BUT rooms were very noisy. We had to change rooms twice, firstly because of English yobs in the room next door and then because of dogs at the back of the hotel barking all night!
The 3 rooms we stayed in, on the 4th floor, all had doors linking to the next room. Everything (even normal volume conversation) could be heard from your neighbours.
We were woken up most nights & most mornings by neighbouring guests that returned to their room late at night but still got up very early for breakfast. The rooms have very poor sound proofing.
If you're a heavy sleeper or don't have people staying next door, you'll love it. The hotel is very well maintained, the pool areas and gardens are very well designed and the service is excellent.

However, outdoor pools were cold, I think the chart on the wall stating 27C hadn't been updated for a while.

Drink prices at the hotel bar are roughly the same as bar prices in London. As you would expect, minibar prices at 5 star hotels are extortionate. You pay four times the price for half the quantity compared to any shop on the high street.
Example - 1.5L bottle of water costs £0.50 (CY) in the shops, whereas a 330ml bottle of water costs around £2.20 (CY) from the room's minibar.

Fat Mamas seemed to be the most popular restaurant on the main street. The food was good and the portions were absolutely enormous (or average size for Americans :-) !
There is a good Thai restaurant called Phuket, on a corner on the main street. I wouldn't rate it for atmosphere but the food was superb.

  • Liked — Elegance and luxury of the hotel
  • Disliked — Noisy rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank W3LL_Travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2007

The Elysium is a haven of tranquility and relaxation. From the refreshing welcoming drink to the end of your stay, there is very little to fault this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are first class, the rooms are spacious and modern, and the whole hotel is as good as any 5 star that we've stayed in, anywhere in the world. Some people consider it expensive, but we would regard it at very reasonable compared to other hotels. Not many other hotels offer a champagne breakfast as standard! The spa facilities are very good, and the restaurants are great. The only slight quibble would be that the Cava restaurant is not quite as good as it thinks it is, although the staff are very attentive.

  • Liked — Modern, spacious, attention to detail
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing