We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money - best wine on the island”
Review of Kolios Winery

Kolios Winery
Ranked #35 of 112 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money - best wine on the island”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited this winery couple of days ago - main reason: I love their wine! It did not dissapoint! We got a bit lost on the way, but if you head for the main village square, you will see a big board, so you can't miss it. Stunning views from the restaurant area, we got a lecture about the winery and the wine making process and then the owner showed us around. The mezze lunch was delicious, (even though not that presentable) and for 20eur a head its great value (includes even a cake and coffee). I am not sure why people complained that the wine in the winery is more expensive then in the shops, we found quite the opposite - our favorite wine Status 99 was around 30% cheaper then in the shop and after buying a whole case of 12 (50eur), we got one extra bottle for free. Surely this wasn't my last visit and I look forward to taking another group of friends over there soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went there today just after lunch and was served shortly by the owner. He had a large Swedish party arriving soon after us but still made every effort to make us feel at ease and help us purchase our crates of wine. Perfection!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MandiKillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Winery tour was nothing special, when you've done one winery you've done them all. What was special was the Meze lunch, the courses just kept on coming! dessert and coffee folowed, not to mention as much wine as you can drink with lunch, and all for only 20 Euro's per person that's what I call value for money and the quality of the food was excelent. Nearly forgot to mention the amazing views from the restaurant!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jaz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The one winery to visit”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

in my view Kolios produces the best wine in Cyprus. Why? Probably because it is the highest vineyard in this part of the island, protecting the wines from the summer heat lower down. So not only do you enjoy spectacular views on the way up to the winery, you get wines worth tasting when you arrive.

We visited in the middle of winter, and the car park was empty, but even so we were welcomed by a very friendly Filipina girl with fluent English, who brought out all of Kolios's wines for us to taste. The restaurant has large picture windows overlooking the valley below, through which we could see clouds rolling towards us. Seconds later we were engulfed in a downpour of rain and sleet, violent but brief. Sitting in the warm, enjoying excellent wine, was the best place to be!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruffinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Lovely Wine Lovely view.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to the winery through the villages from Emba it was a very worthwile experience even if a little daunting as it was a very misty day fortunatly we had the road almost to ourselves. We arrived to a empty car park and fearing the worst I went looking for signs of life . We were told they were not officialy open for the season yet but they would gladly show us round and we could also try some of their what turned out to be delicious wines. The mist cleared as if by magic and the view down towards the vines and valley was amazing we look forward to retuning on our next visit to purchase more wines and to try the restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolios Winery also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Kolios Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing