We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
Ranked #61 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I needed affordable accommodation for a week and this place was incredibly reasonable on one of cheap rooms websites. The reception is clean and bright and the reception staff very good when I rang for directions and at check-in. I didn't have any further dealings with them as I know Paphos well and required little except the room which was very dated and a little tired but basically very clean. As it was an aparthotel there was fridge, cooker, sink etc but I didn't use any of them. The pool looked clean and tidy as did the area around it but in early march I wasn't tempted to try it out.
Wifi is available in the bar and reception and it functioned very well.
I had one breakfast there which was reasonably priced, well cooked and served promptly. The location is just of the Tomb of the Kings road which was once buzzing but now (particularly at this time of year) is a little tatty and quiet. There are some very good bars and restauants if you don't mine a 10 - 15 minute walk or te bus service is just 5 minutes from the hotel and is frequent and cheap (1euro) and this takes you to the busier Paphos harbour.
The hotel served my purposes well for the week and I would be happy to recommend it for value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    149
    80
    31
    21
See reviews for
103
181
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Exactly one year on from my last review and we have just spent another two weeks at the Hilltop gardens.

As expected, the friendliness, helpfullness, service and advice from all staff was outstanding.

The renovation programme is well advanced and this is borne out by the bright airy feel of the reception area as soon as you enter. Most rooms are now refurbished and nice and bright.

I am not familiar with the exact criteria for gaining another star in the ratings but I cannot help but feel that the Hilltop will be well worth one when the renovation programme is completed.

Comments about the Hilltop being a little far out from the centre of Paphos are somewhat correct but if you don't want the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area it is more than ideal. That said, there is a bus stop within a few minutes walking distance and the buses to town, Coral Bay and the harbour run every 20 minutes and a day-ticket costs only a few Euros.

We will certainly go back there for our visits and I am even planning to arrange for ex-members of my Regiment to stay there for our reunion in 2015 on the 40th anniversary of our deployment to Paphos with United Nations in 1975.

True value for money and highly reccomemnded.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christakis-megalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Chris.

Thank you for you wonderful review on this page.

Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had enjoyable stay, room basic but clean, room service daily, nice staff, did not use the pool as the weather in Feb was not warm enough but it looked nice a was a good size. We hired a car to explore which I would recommend, the walk along the sea front to the harbour is lovely

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had spent here five days and we were very satisfied. The room had the terrace with the sea view, clean rooms. It is strange that you need to pay separately for the air conditioning and tv remote control. If you do not the car, than i think it is quite difficult to move around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgr2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed with husband1 week location excellent !(but only if u have a car)all amnities very close !people in reception very friendly even if not always helpful.you also have "SOS" shop in hotel. But inside hotel room ...well decor could be better everything very old and shabby hardly working tv never worked well due2 signal problem if we feld cold we had2 pay for heater 5euro daily !wi-fy only downstairs near reception nothing in room! Towels was changed only once in whole week but overall if u are couple without children and don't want cook in Appartment and there only during night time/purpose sleep than u can risk and book otherwise think twice

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team. All our rooms are been up dated and will all be all complete in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a good start of our holidays on Cyprus there. Clean, spacious apartament, helpful staff, qquiet area.
Unfortunately we were disappointed by poor breakfast menu. Our next hotel in northern part of Cyprus was in the same price, but food was really great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in december for 10 nights. The appartment was recently renovated in white and cream, it was a good sized. The lighting was adequate but an odd mix of strip lights, ceiling lights and reading lights (the bedroom had 3 reading lights only) the double bed was 2 independent single beds joined together thus we slept in one as otherwise they seperate. The bedding was a mix of sheets, extremely heavy blankets and lighter polyester blankets which were in the wardrobe. The bedroom contained said wardrobe and small dresser with mirror. The bathroom though containing a bath was not terribly practical as the water was rarely hot enough to bathe in. The kitchen/dinning/living area was large with sliding door leading to balcony with table and chairs. The living area was scattered with occasional tables all in white and 2 of which careless clutter. 2 sofa beds neither suitable as sofas or beds were stained and very springy. Despite the apartment being suitable for 4 people the dining table had only 3 chairs. The kitchen area was pretty ghastly. A low level cupboard blocking accessibly to the only very small patch of work surface. The fridge with broken freezer compartment was simply stuck in the room housing a kettle/toaster where it should of been part of built in kitchen thus providing a work surface. The apartment was tiled throughout.

The apartment was not ideally equipped for self catering. Toilet roll, towels and a guest soap provided but nothing else. Thus for our relatively short stay we had to buy washing up liquid, sponges and so on. The most irritating thing however was the ignorance shown toward home cooking. 1 small egg pan, 3 saucepans, basic cutlery, crockery and a small cutting board. There was NO utility knifes, bottle/can opener, spatulas, stirring utensils, scissors and so on. Despite the gas hob/oven the obvious tool of a simple gas lighter is not provided. All in all when you take into account the number of items you may need to buy yet barely use the cost/waste element is greatly increased.

There is a very basic shop on sight which is costly and un inspiring though the small jug of red wine for approx £5 was rather good (lidl is a 5 min walk away).

There are some additoional optional costs. For a €2 a night one may have heating/air conditioning though note neither avaiable in bathroom (there is also no lock on the bathroom door). More bizarrely the other 2 optional costs seem to have no genuine purpose. The mini safe fixed inside a kitchen cupboard could be removed from wall by a burglar in seconds. Thus if used all your valuable items could be located easily. Also other than handing over the key the safe has no on-going running cost so pretty ridiculous to charge €2 euros a day for its use. The television also costs €2 per day this provides only channels from Cyprus/Greece. Thus the few English language programmes have subtitles. Why, when electricity is inclusive, this rather average extra costs so much is mind boggling. Personally I don't go abroad to watch foreign tv I don't understand anyway so it was not a problem, just rather odd.

The staff though not unpleasant were not what you would expect from a customer facing buisness, no smiles or greetings, at times it felt like the world was ending.

The pool area was a good size with avaiable sun beds and a bar. The pool itself was a reasonable size however for most our stay the pool was being filled and cleaned and we were unable to use it. When it was usable it was very cold but this may be due to the amount of sunshine hours in December. The pool was often full of leaves.

The location of the hotel was in a residential area, the walk to the main road with a selection of shops and restaurants (choles chinese was lovely and beautifully lit up) is approx 10mins. On this road you can catch a bus to the harbour or to coral bay, buses are regular and cost €1 a trip.

All in all the hotel was satisfactory with several minor frustrations that could be easily rectified. We very much enjoyed out holiday in Cyprus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfbourton402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Public Relations Manager at Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests. All comments will be shared with the team. All our rooms are been up dated and will all be all complete in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilltop Gardens Paphos in the near future,

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.9 mi away
Pandream Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#59 of 88 in Paphos
258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#45 of 88 in Paphos
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#14 of 88 in Paphos
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#42 of 88 in Paphos
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
#35 of 88 in Paphos
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments

Property: Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
Address: Tombs of the Kings Road, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop Gardens Holiday Apartments emerged in beautifully landscaped surroundings and built just off the "Tombs of the Kings". Close by there is a variety of shops, bars, coffee shops and restaurants. There is also easy access to the renowned "Coral Bay" Beaches ( European Blue Flag )General informationHilltop Gardens offers a wide range of services. We offer a variety of rooms, which are spread over three floors. Rooms on the ground floor have patio furniture, whilst rooms on the upper floors have private balconies with furniture. The appartments have a WC with a bath and shower combined. Appartments also have air conditioning (Paid Locally), warm or cold depending on the time of the year. A locked box is available in the appartments (Paid Locally). All our appartments have a kitchen, with a fridge freezer, cooker and untensils. The living rooms have bed settee's with a coffee table, dining room table and a television that plays local channels. Hilltop offer a a full menu of hot and cold food include tradional dishes. Food is served from 08.00 Hours until 22.00 Hours. We have a wide range of beverages available. Soft and alcoholic drinks served from 08.00 Hours until 01.00 Hours which is from the bar area. In the bar area we have a pool table and arcade machines, with Sky sports channels. The bar is situated next to the pool. We also have a children's pool. Sunbeds are available in the pool area. The Hilltop has an onsite mini market that sells foods, drinks and other things that you may need whilst on holiday. Free WiFi. We have a tennis court. 5-Day/week cleaning, linen/towel changing twice a week. Please remember that some services have a local charge. (A/C Safe paid locally) ParkingCar park Public transportA daily bus service runs just outside the hotel, both in Winter and Summer as well as as to Upper and Kato Paphos. Taxi's available at reception on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com and HRS so you can book your Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apts
Hilltop Gardens Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing