We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The serving staff spoilt our visit”
Review of Alfie T's

Alfie T's
Ranked #223 of 557 Restaurants in Paphos
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: English owned restaurant music sports bar with full English breakfast served all day,plus lunch and specials menu
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The serving staff spoilt our visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We saw Alfie T's bar and it looked full of life. we went in and ordered 2 large beers, so far so good. But after 30 minutes the staff constantly pestered us to purchase more drinks although our glasses were stil half full. we are not sure if this was the management's idea to get more income but it put us off so we left when we had finished our drinks and never reurned again

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionAndLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandma4189, Manager at Alfie T's, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
we are so sorry you did not enjoy your visit we have had a few over eager staff this year so we have shown them your comments as the last thing we want is to feel that people are pressured to buy drinks please ask for karen next time you are passing so i can apologise to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    19
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
anglesey north wales
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Do not be put off by negative reviews this place is the bees knees”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Please guys, Don't be put off by negative reviews. Yes the bar staff ask you if you want more drinks they are being attentive, if you dont want this just say we would rather get our own thanks, you will be left totally alone. You do not have to feel under any pressure to drink. just say so. it really isnt a problem. Have been to this place so many times its like home from home. food is fantastic and entertainment great. There arent many bars where you feel so welcome we reutrn time after time and always a cheery hello when we do. Myself and my partner love it here. jan and dom.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anglesey_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but service was in your face.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Alfie's T was popular an had a nice atmosphere. the Neil Diamond night on Thurdsays was excellent. However the was one major ownide about thi bar the staff were continually "in your face" trying you to buy more drink when our glasses were not empty and we got thoroughly fed up with this issue and told the waitress in no uncertain terms. We were not bothered again that evening but did not bother to return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LyneHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but staff must be on commission to sell drinks”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Alfie T's has a great atmosphere and is vibrant.It was very entertaining. That is the postive. The big negative is the staff must be on commission to sell you drinks as they were constantly asking if we wanted anymore despite still having liquid in our glasses. This was hne only bar in Paphos were we felt under pressure to purchase more drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ColchesterHelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Too pushy at selling drinks.”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The bar itself is great and prices are very reasonable. Thursday night is Neil Diamond night and the singer was excellent and we were enjoying ourselves.. However what really got up my nose was the number of times the waitresses asked if we wanted more drinks when our glasses were half full. We were asked 3 times in 10 minutes. We had brought 2 rounds already that night. I got very annoyed finished our drinks and got up and left lodging a complaint. It was shame it spoilt was was turning out to be a good evening. we would never return here again there are bars which don't push you to constantly buy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onestepbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfie T's also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Alfie T's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing