We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not a 4*” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aloe Hotel
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4*”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Checked in by a scowling receptionist was a disappointing start to our stay here, and things just got worse. The room was poor, the towels well-worn and almost threadbare. When we wanted to make a cup of tea, there was no kettle, which is normal in any decent hotel! We were told later, by the grumpy receptionist, we could rent one for €5 for the night. Wifi is normally available free in hotel lobbies - but not here, where they charge for it.
Finally, the breakfast was disappointing - the orange juice and coffee were tasteless. We won't be back!

Room Tip: Get a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    332
    242
    154
    77
See reviews for
228
449
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel in the past looked forward to the holiday. The room was clean and maintained this way all week, but the view outside was terrible with huge cracks both vertical and horizontal in the walls on the balcony, our Jet 2 rep. didn't think the management knew about this(they must all be blind)
. The food, which was always good, is now terrible, worse than 2nd rate,how on earth this hotel
could now warrant a 4 star rating is bewildering. After 25 years of visiting Paphos this is the only negative review I have ever felt compelled to write, I hope whoever is doing the cost cutting realises they are also cutting visitor numbers because this hotel is definitely on my black list for my next holiday in Paphos.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

First impression of this hotel was good,we went to our room to find it had not been cleaned,there was grease on the bedside table as we found out when my daughter put her mobile down only to get a hand full of whatever it was when she picked her phone up,the tv which only had BCC news channel in english was covered in dust as was most of the room.now to the food,well breakfast was ok if you liked eggs as there was not a lot more to choose from,I was not impressed as we turned up on the 1st evening to eat at 9pm(it closed at 9.30pm)and the only thing to eat was dried up chicken,the food was 2nd rate.of an evening there was no entertainment,so would I recommend this hotel no,its a shame because speaking to others who have stayed there before,they said a year ago it was a good hotel,may have something to do with it being for sale(other guests told us this) it would explain why it has gone down..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roseannfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here the last week in September, and had a great time , good location staff very friendly room was cleaned every day with fresh sheets and towels. The evening meals were very good different theme everynight so food not repetative. there was a lot of cats about but they didnt bother us, we thought we had value for our money, our son got married at the Alexander hotel across the road and stayed there, and there is no comparison thats set on the beach front, but he paid a lot more than us as it was their honeymoon. you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wickedwendy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

12 days (Sept-Oct 2013) First impression of the façade & reception area was, Wow! this is impressive, but that's were it ends. Most of the previous reviews are fairly accurate, the food is 2nd rate, very second rate, complaints must have been made during our stay as kitchen staff suddenly started to appear at dinner to "oversee" proceedings. The staff were average or downright ignorant. If they don't like serving the customer, find another job! Some were polite, others not so. Pool areas were generally clean, but the sun loungers & small tables should be consigned to landfill, also the parasols. Poolside bar staff were generally polite, food again, iffy at times. For those on B&B evening dinner would set them back almost 18 euros, ouch. The "entertainment" (none at all at w/ends) was dire & third rate, with the bar usually empty. Other lounge areas not inviting therefore not utilised, my wife went round the main reception lounge each evening, switching the table lamps on to make the place at least look cosy. The entire hotel needs a good shake-up, we heard it was "on the market" but a sale fell through.

Room Tip: Only redeeming feature of our room was it faced the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeeJayCeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were origially booked in to the Paphos Gardens hotel but due to overbooking we were moved to the Aloe Hotel instead. We were then given a suite! BONUS!
Loveley big, airy room, superb bathroom and very comfy bed!

We spent 3 nights here and have no complaints, it is is a great location, directly over the road from the beach, a 15 minute walk into town, bars and restaurants in walking distance and has a little shop in the hotel.

We were B&B basis and the food was really good, great selection and plenty of it!

The two outdoor pools are fab. Gradiated depth in one which was great for kids or us who dont like deep water.

Rooms were cleaned every day, new clean towels.

Staff were very helpful and spoke great english.

I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlymeheretosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for a week at the end of September, pool chairs and loungers were filthy! Although rooms were "cleaned" daily I think the staff need lessons on cleaning as the bathroom was rotten dirty hand marks on back of door, shower head full of limescale, and hairs in sink!!!
Most of staff were Russian trainees who didn't understand a word you said to them and looked absolutely petrified!!!
Our first night we stayed we went down to dinner (which was being served in the breakfast room) at about 8.30pm ( dinner is served until 9.30) staff were rushing everyone to get out, food was cold or lukewarm! The reason they wanted us out was the fact that they had a wedding in the dining room and had to be in there to serve the wedding guest!!! We spoke to the rep from Mercury and she told us that it was a lower 4 star!!!! They don't advertise as a lower 4 star.. they should advertise this hotel as a 2 star. Pool area is full if cats laying on the loungers with some guests feeding them I even saw one guest get a box iof whiskas out if her bag and feed them! In my opinion I would steer clear of this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 241165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#8 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#73 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Hotel

Property: Aloe Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60190, Paphos 08101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aloe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Hotel Aloe
Aloe Hotel Cyprus
Hotel Aloe Paphos
Aloe Hotel Paphos Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing