We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloe Hotel
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from a ten day stay in the Aloe. Was expecting a little luxury from a four star hotel and was very disappointed. The whole hotel is very shabby and in dire need of some maintenance. The bed linen and bath towels are grim as are the sunbeds and garden furniture. Aloe claims to be "the friendliest hotel in town" and yet I didn't see one member of the staff smile! There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms (shocking considering the price paid!) The cost of these facilities is 2.50 euros per day! And when the tray arrives you will find the kettle nailed to it with a six inch power cord making it impossible to have it placed anywhere apart from the floor. The hairdryer is in a drawer, nailed down, again with a six inch cord meaning you have to dry your hair in the drawer!!! The fridge is a further 3.00 euros per day and the safe another 2.50 euros per day. The beds are like concrete, the pillows bricks and the airconditioning (which is free - gasp!!) is about as much use as a chocolate fire guard and very loud to boot!!

Not impressed Aloe, not impressed at all. Would never stay again and would not recommend.

Having said that - the positives are - the hotel is well located for the Harbour and Coral Bay is a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEN1965_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    334
    244
    155
    77
See reviews for
230
451
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent two weeks from 16/10/2012 to 30/10/2012 at this hotel. NOT 4 STAR.
Breakfast was appalling. Thin, tough rashers of bacon grill or grilled luncheon meat, are described as bacon. Watered down fruit juice, when you could get a glass to put it in.
Dried up halves of grapefruit and oranges, Undercooked fried eggs every other day, or some concoction of beaten sloppy, undercooked eggs in a dish described as 'scrambled'.
Evening meals were slightly better, but very repetative.
Room was in poor condition, with shower control and head falling off wall, couple of loose tiles round bath. Walls were scuffed and in need of repainting. Beds very lumpy, and my wifes was 3 inches higher than my one? Curtains smelt musty and were torn. Carpet had several stains.
Fridge smelt like something had died inside it, which you have to pay 3 euros a day to use.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities, if you want a cup delivered to your room each day, it costs 2.50 euros per cup. Disgraceful for 4 star hotel.
Swimming pools are very nice, and pool side bar serves reasonably priced meals at lunchtime.
Plenty of sun beds. Getting a clean beach towel is another matter however.
And talking of the beach, very crowded, and lots of shingle and rocks to negotiate in sea, Some of which are very sharp,before you get out to a sandy bottom. .
This hotel needs some major work doing to it to bring it up to 4 star standard, but we've stayed in worse.
All in all we would say, briliant location, very dated and worn out hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Lincoln
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading some of the very negative reviews we were getting a bit worried about staying at the Aloe. We knew the location was very good and also we had seen the swimming pool from staying at the Paphos Gardens so knew that was excellent, and that the reception area was nice as we had been inside. But it was the state of the rooms that people had described that worried us, but arriving from the lift to the second floor and coming out into a very nice roomy area with lots of easy chairs and coffee tables( where people would leave magazines, books and newspapers for others to take)we entered our room (211) and found it to be very nice. Plenty of hanging and storage space and it seemed very spacious with a nice bathroom with toiletries provided.We didn't have enough coathangers and needed two extra pillows which on asking at reception we got promptly. We took our own kettle and tea making stuff and there was a nice area to boil the kettle.
There was a burn mark on the carpet from a travel iron which someone had obviously left on the carpet but that wasn't the fault of the hotel and it didn't bother us at all.
Breakfast was ok. sometimes a bit hectic even at 8am. but we had plenty to eat and always found somewhere to sit.We were only B/B so can not comment on the evening meals. The hotel was charging 17.50euros if you wanted to have the evening meal but we thought that was a bit expensive as there are some lovely restaurants nearby with lovely 3 course set menus cheaper than that.
The pool area is brilliant. lots of areas to sit and we usually went to the top of the garden as there was some nice shade from the trees.We used the pool towels, and some were better quality than others but you could change them when ever you wanted.
We met some lovely people of all ages and enjoyed their company.
The weather was wall to wall sunshine for the whole 2 weeks and this added to a very nice holiday at the Aloe Hotel
Would we go back, of course we would.

Room Tip: We asked for the second floor and got room 211 which had a side sea view and looked over towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIMASSOL CYPRUS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice and clean swimming pools. Polite staff.
But… they have a fridge in rooms that is locked and you must pay extra charge (3 euro per day) to have it unlocked! No facilities in room. The toiletries are only for 3 stars hotel and below, no tea or coffee facilities and nothing reminds you that you are in 4 stars hotel. It must be a total renovation
Sauna is for extra charge. Breakfast and lunch are nice but poor for a 4 star hotel.
Furniture is old fashioned and carpets must be changed. The price is too high from the average for these facilities.
We will not come back again instead of the nice and clean swimming pools and the polite staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor facing the swimming pool are good to choose them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemessionarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Been going many times since 2001 and once again found it relaxing and just what we needed - few noisy kids and no all inclusive deals (or even chips in the restaurant)

The food was good and varied as evidenced by the almost full restaurant every evening and the breakfast choice was better than some others we have stayed at.

The staff were friendly helpful and efficient.

The hotel was clean and well maintained and furnished to 4* standards - the sunbeds and (free pool towels) could do with replacing but given the abuse they get from some guests its expected they will soon look tired. Good Gym and pool area too

Not too many English either - younger guests may find it a bit tame/boring but pleanty of nightlife nearby for all types

Cannot undertand some of the (few) adverse comments

Room Tip: North side view rooms lack view/sun but are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhilJones109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading some worrying reviews about the Aloe, I was a bit worried about what to expect, what we did find was a warm friendly welcome, a very clean spacious room, full and spotless bathroom and an excellent cleaning and linen service. We booked B&B as we like to eat out locally, the breakfast choice was suited to all tastes from continental to cooked, I did hear one lady complaining that although there was bacon, sausage and fried eggs there were no tinned tomatoes or fried mushrooms available, I am sorry but if you want a traditional English fry -up, why leave the UK at all ??
The pool area is excellent and extremely well maintained and cleaned, it was great to have fresh pool towels every day and the food at the pool bar was excellent, freshly cooked and good value for money. We met some very nice people who had been coming to the hotel for several years so that speaks for itself. Whilst the decor might need a bit of an update, the service couldn't be faulted.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Floors two and three have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

People say it was like an old age home but we met some lovely old people.Breakfast was excellant. Theres no hotel in Pathos with a pool areathat rivals aloe`s pool. Dont take notice of other trip advisors reviews that give a negative review. THIS PLACE IS SHITHOT love Tommo n Nina p.s have a drink at Billys :-) n memories. Pps The indian is unbelivable mwah mwah i love Cyprus Kiss Kiss xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DirtyZeusTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#78 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
5.7 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Hotel

Property: Aloe Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60190, Paphos 08101, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Bookcyprus.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Hotel Aloe
Aloe Hotel Cyprus
Hotel Aloe Paphos
Aloe Hotel Paphos Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing