We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent company in a family friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alkion Tavern

Alkion Tavern
Ranked #67 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greek Cypriot Taverna (Est 1994).
2 reviews
“Excellent company in a family friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Food just what we ordered. Suckling pig & Mousska! Greek dancing a bonus but didn't last too long for those not inclined to join in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanBC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    66
    22
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food as good as before and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The owner is a true Greek Cypriot - family first and then the food!!
Always busy and locals use it - what more can be said?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited Alkion on our last night in Paphos and were very pleasantly suprised. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful. We only really wanted something light as we were not that hungry so looking at the prices we thought the portions were going to be small, WRONG. I had a difficult time choosing from the extensive menu but eventually I ordered a seafood salad and it was a huge bowl full and absolutely packed with prawns, mussels, seafood sticks, calamari, olives and of course salad vegetables. My husband ordered spag bol which he said was very nice too. My husband also had ice cream for dessert and the waitress brought out 2 spoons so I could share, which made us laugh. The owner also bought us a complimentary drink. We would definitely return if we find ourselves in paphos again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Meze In Paphos!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went here based on another restauranteurs recommendation after we told them of a bad experience we had the night before with a Meze restaurant.
We received a very warm and personal welcome upon arrival. The owner Kiriakos and his lovely family have run the business for 23yrs and it definitley showed. When the food arrived it was all displayed lovely and each course brought out was clearly explained.The quality of the food was great and there was certainly plenty of it.
All in all this was a wonderful dining experience with live Greek entertainment on Thursday and Saturday nights to add to the atmosphere. If it's Meze your after then be sure to check this restaurant out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RikRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantriasant
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Food was good as price is reasonable we had set menu. They do a little Cypriot dancing and glass balancing as entertainment. We ate early as bar street can get noisey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alkion Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Alkion Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing