We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money!”
Review of Alkion Tavern

Alkion Tavern
Ranked #77 of 556 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Greek Cypriot Taverna (Est 1994).
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the amazingly cheap menu put you off this great place. Under €10 for a 3 course meal and they are very accommodating if you want to pick different things off each menu. The service isn't the fastest but that's not a bad thing as they are very attentive. There is traditional dancing on certain nights which is worth seeing. Last time we even took a doggy bag as we couldn't finish our food and it was too good to leave!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    70
    26
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food great service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

this restaurant was recommended by a couple we were on a trip with i am so glad we went there the food and atmosphere was fantastic nothing was any trouble when we wanted to swap things on the menu suckling pig and the chicken diane was the best iv ever tasted we went there four times they have greek dancing thur and sat but you have to go early to get a table there very busy them nights the staff were very freindly the price of the food was excellent for the quality of the food i would recommend this restaurant to anyone with or without children this is a very good family restaurant with high quality food..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynda404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We often go to the Alkion when on holiday in Paphos. The menue is extensive and the prices reasonable. They have a Greek night on a Thursday and Saturday evenings which can be fun to watch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirtybertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Saved by the Suckling Pig!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We popped in here as it had some good reviews and the menu looked nice but wish we hadn't bothered!
Apart from a very nice portion of Suckling Pig the food was pretty awful.
The swordfish was overcooked and therefore dry the stuff that came with it was just some frozen chips and veg. It was tasteless!
Lots of people have given this place good reviews but I really cannot see why!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickandKaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST VISIT”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Friends had recommended the Alkion and we decided to try it on a Thursday arriving there at about 8.30pm, we were seated given menus and offered drinks. Our order was taken and although it was quite full the service was quick and the staff were friendly. Although bread and butter was on the table our starters came with hot pita, bread, garlic mushrooms for me and haloumi and lountza for my wife. Just after 9.00 we were entertained by greek dancers, our mains were served, I had peppered pork fillet and my had cod fillet both were excellent, we had Alkion ice cream and coffee to finish. With excellent food, service and entertainment this is a restaurant not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alkion Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Alkion Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing