We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Stay at The Annabelle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“First Stay at The Annabelle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have been to Paphos quite a few times before, but have always stayed at the Pioneer Beach hotel further up the same road. We were told by friends that they had stayed at The Annabelle and that it was very nice so we thought we would try it. We were allocated a really nice room overlooking the pool and the sea, so were very pleased. The location was excellent as you were literally a very short walk from the front. The food was really good and the restaurant staff were most friendly and accommodating as were front of house. The maids who cleaned our room did a first class job, and each evening we had a turn down service with a flower and a poem which was nice. Gardens were beautiful and I imagine in the Summer would be lovely especially the swim up bar.
We had a meal in their sister hotel one evening which was an option, this was good, waiter service, but it was closing down a day or so later for the Winter, so it was quite quiet.
I preferred the beach at the Pioneer Beach hotel,as it is literally at the end of the gardens; but at this time of the year it didn't matter to us.
We had wine with our meal most evenings which was 10 euros, so that was ok, I know some people thought the wine was expensive, but you are in a hotel so that is about the norm.
The bar drinks weren't any more expensive than any other comparable hotel, although the Pioneer Beach used to have a happy hour which was good.
All in all I would return for a winter break, but if I went in the October time, I think I would prefer the Pioneer Beach for the beach location.

Room Tip: I would think any room overlooking the gardens or sea on a high floor would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonnedate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    597
    206
    58
    14
See reviews for
472
1,517
78
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

In response to Mr Petersfields review while I agree with some of his comments I was incensed by his comments that the elderly clientele were less discerning than himself, I would point out that the "Oldies" had been discerning enough to get themselves a very good deal with Mercury Holidays and were thoroughly enjoying their 3 weeks,,Perhaps when Mr Petersfield is of a similar age he will view things slightly differently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a 4 day break in Cyprus to get some winter warmth. We also like the idea of being spoilt in a 5 star environment for a few days, so, since Annabelle was classified as 5 star on the Book Cyprus web site, we decide to go for it. Our Easyjet flight and the luxury car transfer from the airport were superb.

When we arrived at the hotel we were told we were upgraded (from a Double Sea View) and taken right to the far end of the hotel to a suite - which was next to a building site !
We were not happy with the view or the noise or, indeed the long walk to the hotel facilities, so asked for a room back in the main body of the hotel and this was done immediately. The question I ask is why were we not given this room in the first place ? The hotel was only half full and nobody in their right mind would want the room provided. It was not a good start.

The food, especially in the evening, was not 5 star - at least as I understand 5 star to be. There was no omelette counter for breakfast although there was a reasonable choice of continental and cooked breakfasts. The lunch and dinners (all buffet) were hugely disappointing. There was a different "theme" every evening from English to Asian to Mediterranean etc but the fact is that apart from one or two buffet pots , the food was exactly the same night after night.

Now I know that most of the residents were elderly (time of year ?) and are perhaps not as discerning as most - but even the most reasonable of them admitted that the food was very boring when staying for 2 or 3 weeks. Well we noticed after 3 days !
On the plus side the grounds are beautiful and well kept; there are ample spaces to sunbathe on comfortable beds and plenty of "hideaways" in the gardens if you don't want to be close together by the pool.
The staff were all excellent and gave a 5 star service.. We felt that the reasonably tired state of the hotel (again not 5 star) was saved by the excellence of the staff i.e. those looking after the rooms,waiting staff and reception staff were all happy, loyal to the hotel and very helpful. No complaints here at all.
So all in all, if we had been expecting and paying for a 4 star hotel then I guess our expectations would have been met but we came away feeling we had paid a lot of money for a reasonable room and ok but boring food.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the sea,preferably on the side furthest away from the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnpetersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

As a current guest at The Annabelle I must commend management for their fast response to reviews. Several issues which were raised recently on Trip Adviser - coffee pots at breakfast, tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, use of fridge, water at mealtimes, free use of the safe - these have all been addressed.
We booked a side seaview room, another time I would definitely book a seaview- they look amazing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Annabelle Hotel is rated as a 5 star hotel. It is in a great
location, right on the western shore of Cyprus. I arrived at 10am to a
sleepy December morning at the hotel, for a one night conference stay.
The hotel looked about 40% full. Nonetheless, the front desk stated that I
could only get my room at 2pm - when proper check-in is provided. So for
4 hours I was forced to lug my trolley around with me, as well as
request that some food which needed refrigeration, be placed in a
fridge.

There is a smell to the hotel that I can't quite put my finger on. I
think they are trying to use some sort of spray but it smells like sweat
and sugar. It permeates the open spaces as well as the rooms. My room is
102 and every noise in the uncarpeted hallway gets echoed into my room.

The rooms and venue are clean. The room does not have blackout curtains
so light will get in. The towels are large and plush as well as a
bathrobe and slippers are available. No pay-per-view is available, just
about 15 TV stations - with plenty of news channels.

Room Tip: Find a room where the hallway is carpeted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with four friends last week in November and from check in to check out we were overwhelmed with the friendly staff...faby huge beds in lovely seaview rooms where the sun shone on the balcony all day..immaculately clean everywhere...the food was a huge choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner and was all delicious...great location and easy walk into town...we definately coming back next year for another relaxing holiday in the lovely Annabelle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balnabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my 1st time of staying in one hotel for 3 weeks and I couldn't have hoped for a better experience than I had at the Annabelle. My room was extremely comfortable and well cared for; the staff were friendly and always very helpful; the buffet meals provided a good range of choice and variety; the grounds and view were magnificent ; it was accessible to the promenade and local shops; there was an excellent bus service and ample parking on site for hire cars. I certainly will recommend the Annabelle to my friends and hope to return regularly.
Alison, Yorkshire Nov 2013

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and it was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing