We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kevin & helen S” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Annabelle
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kevin & helen S”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, all staff including gardeners, cleaners,very friendly, staff on reception were very helpful. food very good, plenty to choose from,we had two meals in the Amorosa which were excellent, the gardens are beautifully kept as were the pool areas, we would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed here 13-20th Nov.2013 and the weather was great.

Room Tip: Request sea view rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    585
    203
    57
    14
See reviews for
455
1,475
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Annabelle and the Almyra are sister hotels sitting together in a great location in Paphos.
Full board offers, and using restaurants in both hotels provide a good mix and food choices. Using both buffet restaurants for your 3 meals a day, is an excellent option. The staff are almost without exception very friendly and welcoming . The pools indoor and outdoor are lovely with plenty of places to lay in the sun or shade. Previous reviews mentioned that drinks were dear - you can get wine at 10 euros a bottle or 2 euros a glass. Lovely cocktails from 4.5 euros each - certainly comparable with local bars / cafes unless you go to the 2 euros pint, football pubs
Only complaint is that the buffet food could be cold but simply wait for the continuous topping up of the choices by the kitchen staff.
The hotel itself is well kept with comfortable lounges and sitting areas - would rate as a 5 star holiday. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback about the Annabelle and Almyra, we are proud of their location , beautiful grounds, swimming pools and certainly strive to deliver the highest standards of cleanliness and service for our guests. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to either Annabelle or Almyra very soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist you.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I agree with many of the recent reviews. The Hotel is in a great location, and looking around at the others is in fact the best situated. It is also nicely hidden from the sea front promenade and the gardens are beautiful. We stayed for 10 days at the beginning of November.
Parts of the hotel (eg carpets in corridors) are dated and need updating. The room we were allocated though was large and comfortable - but no coffee facilities.
I also agree that to be expected to put up with inferior coffee from coffee machines is definitely NOT 5 star. Also the egg station was quite poor at times and no-one to cook an omlette. I once asked for one and was told by the cook to ask one of the waiters - I didn't bother. Its a shame because the quality of the food (we had free full board upgrade) is very good, albeit a bit samey after 10 days. They are trying to save a few pounds here and there and are doing themselves no favours at all - it is a silly decision to cut back like this in "low season".
The pool too was not heated (far from it) although it was advertised as such.
I make these comments to be constructive and hopefully help the management make better decisions in the future as the hotel and location is lovely and the staff well trained and helpfull.

Room Tip: Sea View in Numerical sequence 2 or 351-9
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that overall enjoyed your stay with us. We consistently strive to ensure our guests feel the welcoming, warm, helpful and attentive service from the moment they arrive until their departure, which I am pleased you did experience.

It is however disappointing for us that we did not meet your expectations in some areas of your stay. We provide tea & coffee facilities for all guests on request. We are sorry we did not have the chance to organise this for you when you were with us. We ordinarily have a small card informing guests of this also by the mini bar in all of our rooms.

We would also like to clarify that the indoor pool at Almyraspa in our sister Hotel next door is heated from November. This is enjoyed by our guests staying in both Hotels. It is unfortunate that you were given the understanding, that our outdoor pool would be heated. We would be interested to know where you saw this advertised, as we do not advertise or guarantee that the outdoor swimming pool at Annabelle is heated in November. Please feel free to forward me the details and we will investigate further.

We thank you for your feedback about the good quality of food in our restaurant. We are sorry that your breakfast experience was disappointing, this is not the usual standard of service we strive for, and your comments have been helpful to avoid similar misunderstandings for our guests.

We hope you do consider returning to Annabelle, as we would like to ensure you enjoy all areas of your stay next time

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist in any way.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel with fabulously helpful staff (all bar two!). Don't think of complaining because it won't be taken seriously. A superb selection of food in the restaurant and a very nice boutique with designer clothes. The sister hotel next door has a spa that can be used and a spacious garden for sun bathing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your comments about the quality of food in Fontana which our team of chefs take great pride in preparing for our guests.

We were disappointed by your feeling that guest complaints are not taken seriously, for which we apologise. It is important to understand what led you to conclude this. May I ask you to e-mail me with more details please. This is not the feeling we like our guests to have. Our priority is to resolve guest concerns as soon as they are brought to our attention and we usually do this successfully.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

mod.annabelle@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Returned yesterday from the Annabelle. Not a five star but very friendly staff. Helped sort out my husbands gluten problems, even cooked him some special pasta. Thank you chef. All the rooms want updating and decorating but they were very clean. We enjoyed our stay, any problems we had were soon sorted out by the friendly and efficient staff. We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room worth the cost of an upgrade and take a travel kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Annabelle. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, and experienced the genuinely warm, welcoming and attentive service from the team, which everyone is very happy about.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do let us know when that will be by contacting our guest services team directly on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com and to let us know if we can assist with your future stay.

Kind Regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager
mod.annabelle@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for a week during the October school holidays. We had a lovely welcome when we arrived, porter to collect luggage, reception showed us to comfortable sofa where we were given iced towels to refresh ourselves with, iced lemonade and a member of staff sat to check us in to the hotel. Our room was spacious, two single beds pushed together, set drawers, large tv, 2 armchairs and round table. Plenty hanging space in double wardrobe which housed the safe which was free. The bathroom had large vanity sink area, bath with shower, toilet, plenty space and clean. Complimentary toiletries and shower cap, etc which were replaced daily if used.
The room was at the side overlooking the neighbouring almyra hotel gardens and we had some views of the sea too. Small balcony with coffee table and 2 chairs. Maid service twice daily with evening bed turning, flowers and poems left on your pillow.
We slept soundly, no disturbances, the air conditioning was very efficient in fact the best we have ever had on holidays.
We were given a free upgrade from bed and breakfast to half board on arrival. We expected little from this and we expected to eat out at local restaurants like we usually do but pleasantly surprised by both the quantity and quality of food available, each nite had a different theme, French, Italian etc with good selection of dishes on self service buffet. If you prefer waiter service then you can eat in the other hotel restaurant at extra cost but we were satisfied with the buffet.
No problems getting sunbeds though there were the usual culprits (Brits) who bagged the best beds around the largest pool at 8am. However, even at 10am we were able to get loungers either in the garden area or smaller pools. Angela Rippon and TV crew were filming at the pool one day we were there so look out for this later.
All in all we had a lovely holiday, the hotel is perfectly placed in Paphos, a short stroll takes you either down to harbour area or into shopping area with shops open quite late evening..
Couple of minor criticisms, you have a fridge in your room but are warned that this is not for personal items unless you pay extra. There is no tea/coffee provision in rooms which we found unusual for a 5star hotel but we had taken our own travel kettle and supplies after reading reviews mentioning this.. The entertainment at night is held in bar lobby area and most nights was a pianist or harpist, very professional but not to our taste, one evening a very good singing duo. We tended to take stroll out after eating.
Most staff were pleasant, helpful and courteous with the exception of the waiter running the bar in the garden area who was quite rude and outspoken in his views especially concerning English women.
All in all, very pleasant first holiday at the hotel and resort and we would return at later date. We travelled with Jet2 and had no issues at all with this company.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor facing the Almyra quiet and views nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notquiteretired22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed review, we appreciate it, and we are delighted that your first stay with us was enjoyable. Your comments have been communicated to the team also, which will be very happy, as we all take great pride in ensuring our guests are happy and hopefully return.

I would like to clarify that we offer complimentary tea & coffee making facilities to guests on request, and the small one off charge for the minibar is to empty all the items to allow you to store your own if you wish to. This is a common practice in 4&5 star Hotels in Paphos Hotels. Some Hotels charge daily.

We were disappointed and suprised to hear about the behaviour of one of our team, and can assure you this is not the professional standard we strive to deliver to our guests. We assure you this is not a normal occurance within the team.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We arrived late afternoon on 1st November. Dinner was at 7 so we went in with high expectations after all the reviews and we were not disappointed. There was smoke salmon and everything. Then at breakfast we had a waiter who came to our table asking if we would like a pot of tea or coffee and a chef cooking omelettes to your satisfaction. Then on 4th November everything changed. There was a tea and coffee machine installed where you had to serve yourself. The waiter was showing everyone how it worked. Now we always get up early so we were in breakfast by 7 but god knows what it was like about 9. It must have been chaotic!! One morning there was no hot water which was chaotic enough when we were there at 7 along with about another 6/8 people so again it must have been murder around 8 or 9. Also, the man cooking omelettes was no longer there. We also found the food deteriorated as well. The food in the containers was always luke warm and the salad bar seemed to be getting worse every day. Also, the dinner time was changed to 6.30 one day which we were not informed about.

Other than that, I have to say the hotel, although dated, was really nice. Apparently they were filming some holiday programme with Angela Rippon around the pool area the day before we arrived, so we were told. The staff were fantastic, especially Sophia on reception. She helped us beyond the call of duty.

Just a few things in the room that I felt should have been looked at. The shower door was stuck to the bath so it was very difficult to get the plug in the bath and when you had the taps on to run a bath the shower was running. Also I felt there should have been tea and coffee making facilities in the room. All in all, apart from the disappointment in the food, we had a good holiday so that is all that matters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, February 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay at the Annabelle. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, such as the friendliness and helpfulness of the team and your clean and comfortable room.

I disappointed that we did not entirely meet your expectations. It is our priority to resolve any concerns as soon as possible, so that our guests can enjoy every aspect of their well deserved holiday. I sincerely apologise that we did not accomplish this for you. This does not meet with our usually attentive and helpful service culture

I hope that you do consider returning to Annabelle in the future as we would like to have the opportunity to ensure your next stay is much more comfortable and enjoyable

Best regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager
mod.annabelle@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing