We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
bromley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Annabelle, we were hoping for a complete rest and relaxing time, which we found 100%. This was achieved by the wonderful attention given to us by the Reception staff on arrival, especially Agatha, and George in the Restaurant was very attentive. The position of the Hotel is great for exploring Paphos - harbour, shops, cafes and bars etc. would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottleBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    628
    210
    58
    14
See reviews for
509
1,642
85
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Annabelle. We have been to Paphos a number of times so knew of the hotel before we booked, but had forgotten what a great location it has. So close to the port, shops, bars etc yet when you are within the hotel grounds it still feels very secluded. Visiting during term time the hotel had quite a sedate feel to it which was exactly what we were looking for. Don't expect aqua-aerobics at 10am in the pool!

The hotel has been around for a number of years, but is well maintained and the pool and grounds are really lovely. There are some clues to the age of the hotel, for example you are presented with an actual key to your room rather than a key card, but these are really minor details.
For snacks and drinks the hotel is not cheap, but not too expensive either. A beer for €4 is reasonable enough, but if you plan to drink all day you might want to try the bars around the corner where you pay less than half that price unless you have deep pockets.

Probably the highlight for us was the food. We were half board, but planned to take some meals in the hotel and some out in local restaurants. In fact, the food was so good and the dining experience in the buffet restaurant too that we actually ate in every evening. The experience feels more restaurant than buffet and the selection and quality of food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. There is a different theme for each evening of the week, providing variation but at the same time enough choice for the fussy or conservative eater. It was also really nice to see Chef David each evening mixing with and taking feedback from guests.

It is worth also mentioning the benefits of being able to use the facilities of the Almyra Spa Hotel next door. The Almyra is a newer and stylish hotel with a couple of pretty cool pools and a nice outside bar area. We used the very modern gym facilities most days and tennis courts as well. The Spa has a really lovely feel to it, and though we didn't take any treatments, the place sure did smell great!

The only negative for us was that being in a ground floor room, the fire doors were a bit noisy if people were coming and going in the middle of the night. Overall though, a lovely holiday and we would recommend the Annabelle/Almyra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Lee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel but not 5 stars in our opinion. My husband and I paid extra for a sea view and received what we considered the worst view in the hotel (room 369). You could just about see the sea but when opening the door onto the smallest balcony we have ever been on. All we saw was the hotel wall in front and the hotel being built next door on the other side. After complaining 2days later we were eventually moved. Considering that we had paid over £3000.00 for this holiday i cannot believe we were given this room in the first place. The new room itself was ok but very basic with no tea/coffee facilities, iron, ironing board which to us are the norm as in other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. You also cannot put your own water in the mini bar otherwise you get charged! When we asked if we could keep the room until 6 teatime on the day we were leaving as we were not being picked up until 7.10 we were told yes as the room was not being used after BUT at a cost of 104 Euros!!! We made do with a courtesy room at the end of the day at no cost. Customer service within the hotel is very nice but extremely OTT. Restaurant staff albeit very nice are programmed to say the same things to everyone all the time and it gets a little irritating after the first week. Pools very nice - 1 being lovely and warm - the other by the grotto bar quite cold but refreshing. Drinks, food and ice lollies at the pools way too expensive. 4 Euros for a calypo!! Food in the restaurant at breakfast and night was nice and varied but something needs to be done re the ice cream. It was never solid always sloppy. This hotel also needs updating regarding entertainment during the day and night. Needs possibly half an hour of keep fit in pool in the morning and maybe something going on in the afternoon for an hour. We also think that people do not want to listen to harp/piano playing at night (boring). Everything about the hotel is very regimented and they need to loosen up a bit as people are on holiday to enjoy themselves. At the end of every holiday you are normally given a survey to fill in. We were given nothing as I don't think they are interested in your opinions. All in all I would class this hotel as just about a 4 star due to the lack of extras that should be provided in the rooms. We think it relies a lot on its location rather than the basic extras that you should receive with a 5 star.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 369 if you have paid extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are bits to the hotel that are difficult not to like. The location is ideal and the staff are warm. The gardens are lush and there is definitely a soul to the hotel that has undoubtedly grown over the last 25+ years the hotel has been in Paphos. Then there are the things that let it down. It's worn and not enough is done to keep up its appearance. The paving around the outside of the Fontana restaurant and the stairs down to the beach are dirty and just need a high pressure hose. The corridors to the rooms wouldn't look out of place in a 3* hotel. Old carpets, wood that hasn't been varnished in years and stains on the ceiling. Doors to rooms have little security and look tired. Balcony doors that are difficult to lock. The rooms in the Aphrodite wing on the ground floor seem basic. The more expensive rooms in the other wings are well designed and well appointed but you pay for it. In fact, you get the sense that the hotel is out to drain you for every cent you have. 4euros for a lolly by the pool is a rip off, especially in a hotel that looks after kids well in other respects since they can use the kids club in the sister Almyra next door ( for a charge obviously).Also, the room mini bar menu informs you that a charge will be made if you just want to use the fridge to chill your own bottles! If you're on a special breakfast and dinner deal guests of the Annabelle can use the Mosaic restaurant in the Almyra which has a kids food table and serves a generally good breakfast and dinner buffet. Sometimes bland but usually good. In fact, the difference between the traditional Annabelle and more cool Almyra gives guests great variety for eating. The Ouzeri restaurant on the front of the Almyra is excellent for lunch and is a perfect place to watch the sea and world go by. Back on the positives, the pools at both hotels are great. The Almyra has shaded white sails that hang above it. The Annabelle is surrounded by pretty plants and its temperature is one of the main reasons I would return. It is probably the perfect temperature of any hotel I've stayed in. Maybe not to everyone's liking, but it's warm yet refreshing. (usually 31C). It looks great and has been refurbished recently ( however light brown stains of dirt can be seen collecting at water level ). We generally didn't have a problem getting sunbeds at 930am but it does get busy quickly. Pool staff don't go overboard to help you and they are generally some of the more lack lustre staff. The Annabelle's restaurant staff were by far the most friendly and a few were outstanding ( Laurentiou, George, and Christios. Maria (Almyra), Heli and Pambos (Ouzeri) were also first class.
Overall then, a four star hotel which could be five stars but needs money spending on it to make it what it was 25 years ago. ie. the best hotel in Paphos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SirRupertPloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic location with stunning view of the harbour and castle and ideally placed for shops, bars and restaurants with a bus stop located outside. This was our 10th visit to the Annabelle and as usual it lived up to our expectations. From the moment we arrived it felt like we had returned home, we were greeted with a huge smile and kiss from the friendly porter to welcome us back. Check in was smooth and swift thanks to Agatha and the rest of the reception team. Our dear friend Chrystella personally took us to our room situated overlooking the gardens with a stunning sea view. The room was lovely and kept very clean. The food this year was even better, if this is possible, with a great selection to cater for all tastes. George and Andreas couldn't have looked after us better and even arranged for snow potatoes when they were not on the menu. Thanks also to Marika for her friendly and professional service. The service and attention to guests requirements is outstanding and this is what makes this a five star hotel. I liked that sunbeds could not be occupied until 8am. Service from pool staff was also first class and Andreas makes a mean mohito. We can't wait to return in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is stunning. The staff are excellent - couldn't do enough for us. Right on the beach with excellent sea swimming. The pools were lovely too. The food was to die for. Buffet restaurant offered huge choices of food, but if it was difficult to decide, you could have everything, and as much of it as you wanted. We had a lovely relaxed holiday. Location was very central for the town where there are plenty of bars and bistros to choose from if you needed them.

I would go again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. Had a great view of pool and sea from balcony. A/C was fantastic. Neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Annabelle. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate it very much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights at The Annabelle hotel in Paphos and it is one of the best holiday's we have had.

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like celebrities and all of the staff are absolutely fantastic - so hardworking and cannot do enough for you.

The hotel lobby area is stunning, the room we had (416) was beautiful, and although listed as an inland view, had a great view of the sea if you stood on the balcony :-)

The hotel has 2 great pools - the main one is busy with families and heats up quite quickly under the sun, and the 2nd "grotto" pool is great - ice cold and with a swim up bar! perfect!

The food is absolutely amazing - buffet style breakfast and dinner - Head chef David and his team clearly take real pride in making sure everyone is happy and has something they enjoy. The only problem I had with the food was not eating too much!

Laurentio, our waiter for the week, was absolutely brilliant. He remembered everything to give our stay a personal touch - remembering our drinks, seating preferences etc. He is an asset to the Annabelle. George was also brilliant, very warm and caring - you cannot fault any of the staff, and their quite visible leadership from Ashley who manages the hotel(s).

The hotel has the added benefit of sharing facilities with the Almyra sister hotel next door, which has a fantastic spa and good gym. The massage I had by Galina was out of this world - and with a sea view in a relaxing room to top, you feel in heaven!

The Ouzeri (located on the waterfront outside Almyra and Annabelle) is an absolutely stunning restaraunt with a fantastic mezze menu and brilliant views.

I could go on and on about this hotel, but in summary, absolutely fantastic break away - we did not want to leave. We will book to go back again! Enjoy!!! Thank you to everyone for making our anniversary so special!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are honoured that you chose to celebrate your Anniversary at the Annabelle. Its makes us extremely happy to know that you had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay and have left with wonderful memories of your special holiday

Our aim is to deliver a personalised, individual service depending on our guest's preferences and tastes especially in our Restaurants. It's a pleasure to know that you felt this during your stay generally and during your dining experience The team are very appreciative of your kind words

We hope you return to celebrate your next Anniversary with us, if not sooner

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 86 in Paphos
2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing