We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Annabelle is looking jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Annabelle is looking jaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just stayed at the Annabelle for two nights to attend a wedding. Room was very noisy on the ground floor and right next to the main restaurant. We had requested a quiet room. The cleaning staff were also noisy in the corridoors.

No tea/coffee making facilities.

Air con leaked a brown fluid all night all over the shelves and our bags. We did not realise the latter until after our departure. Room was clean. Breakfast was good but not 5*. Our waiter was brilliant and looked after us well each morning. He remembered that Brits like their tea made in a pot, not a plate with a tea bag and some warm water! Reception and pool area staff were also very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. Not enough sun shades and loungers for number of guests. Many guests put towels out from early am, a habit I detest! It should not be necessary if there are adequate supplies.

Hotel in need of some love and attention and a refurb.

Room Tip: Spa was in hotel next door. Do not choose a ground floor room by the restaurant! We were in room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazNorthernCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,571
    597
    206
    58
    14
See reviews for
472
1,517
78
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just had a week at the Annabelle for our friends wedding. On arrival we were given a refreshing drink, and were given a room on the ground floor (108). There is no privacy in this room, I would advise anyone to avoid rooms 101-108 as they look directly onto the restaurant, and are very close to some of the diners. The hotel staff were very helpful and we moved rooms on day 2 to the fourth floor, which gave excellent views over the pool area towards the harbour. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the rooms were tired and fairly small, the bed was comfortable, flat screen tv with lots of channels but I felt they needed an urgent refresh.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Service was a little slow around the pool, order was taken quickly but delivery was slow. The food was excellent, breakfast was a mix of continental and English. I was happy to have excellent bacon and poached eggs available every day. The evening meals were of a similarly high standard, each night is based on a loose theme, we enjoyed the Asian night and on the Sunday we had a roast dinner with a choice of pork, lamb or beef. We were able to to upgrade to the al a carte one night for an additional 15 Euros per person. Again this was an excellent meal.

I had read reviews before travelling and a lot of people had complained about a lack of sun beds. We had no such problems, there are lots of different areas, one around the pool, one around the gardens and then one adjacent to the beach.

And finally, the hotel was an excellent location for our friends wedding, I would be surprised if there was a better hotel in Paphos.

Room Tip: Avoid 101-108 if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Got back from the Annabelle last Wednesday. and it was a nice break but not what I was expecting from a 5 star hotel.

It is very tried in places.

Good points:
-main pool is lovely and very well maintained and clean, lots if sun beds but you do need to get down at 7:30 to get one.
-staff very friendly and cater to your needs and provide 5 star service
-cocktails are very nice, £6 each and up.

Bad points
-very tired hotel
--shower in room leaked
--blinds in room gappy
-lift floor cracked, and they closed the lift for days to repair it very badly and it cracked next day. So looks a state.
-marks all over hall walls
-second pool with pool bar is in a state with holes in the bottom and not nice at all. Was looking forward to this the most, very disappointed.
-no tea & coffee making facilities in rooms.

The only part of this hotel that was 5 star was the service provided by the staff, they really did cater for your needs.

This hotel is more suited to older people and the roughly 80% of the guests were over 50.
I would not recommend this hotel for families, there really is nothing for kids to do as the hotel cares too much about its older guests.

There are strict pool rules too:
"No inflatables or ball games allowed in any pools. Wish I knew this before I came. They claim its because of space, but there has always been tons of room in pool."
But this is enforced when it feels like it, usually punishing the easier guests or ones that will not put up a fuss.

The buffet breakfast was nice, but the evening buffet meals did not feel 5 star.

It also seems the more you pay for the room, the better condition they are in.

Overall a nice hotel but not worth the money of 5 star.

Room Tip: the more you spend, the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darren_Goulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in the Annabelle with my youngest daughter to attend a friends wedding in the sister hotel, the Almyra, next door. From the minute you arrive you feel sincerely welcomed and looked after in the Annabelle.
The luxurious sofas in the lounge make for easy relaxing over a tea, cool daytime drink or evening cocktail.
The dining areas impressed me most with the best buffet range I have experienced in any hotel. If nothing is on the buffet to suit you/your children, the chef will make an alternative with pleasure.
It's location is perfect. You are within a few minutes walk from the centre of Paphos where there is plenty to see and do but you do not experience any late night noise. Sitting on the waters edge, the views are stunning. Request a sea view room with a balcony if you can.
The décor, pool and every aspect of this hotel is fabulous. and a little bit of Cypriot sun just adds the icing on top!
The Almyra next door offers a great spa.

Room Tip: request a sea view room as we were to the side of the hotel which looks on to the next hotel and doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got married at the Annabelle June 10th 2013.
On arrival the night before the wedding i was shown to my room-well lets call it a suite i was very excited to find my own little pool and the most beautiful room. I ordered some room service and tried to get a good nights sleep-the bed was very comfortable and i was very happy to find english channels on the tv to.
I woke up and had a lovely breakfast in my room with my mum and daugheter. We then had a chill and swim in our private pool.
Inwas then time to start getting ready-we ordered drinks and room service all day and the staff were beyond helpful and lovely.
The wedding was amazing we got married on the little area by the bridge and it was perfect.
We then had a drinks reception and a meal in the taverna, all of which was amazing the food drinks staff i could not fault it!!
We then went upstairs to the private little bar area where we had the most wonderful DJ-any song you wanted he had it and was so lovely and friendly.
I think the wedding planner at the hotel is called Sally (along with our wedding planner Paula) they worked so hard and our day was magical and was just perfect!!
when we returned to our room we had petals shaped into a heart on our bed and we were offer a champagne breakfast the following morning.
I can never thank you all enough! it was an amazing day!! Thanks you all xxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the Annabelle hotel in paphos & were delighted with everything,the choice of food was very good,the staff were excellent,very friendly & helpful.everywhere was always clean & tidy.The location was excellent & within short walking distance of all amenities & lovely stroll to harbour."definitely worth a try" would,nt hesitate going back.!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthuredgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Annabelle in Paphos for 12 nights and would highly recommend it. The hotel was immaculately clean, well decorated and the rooms spacious. Lots of choice in the restaurants especially in the Fontana which was where they served buffet food -we had taken advantage of a very good half board deal. The grounds, pool and beach area are very well maintained and picturesque. All the staff were friendly, hard working, professional and very helpful. Nothing was too much for them. They couldn't do enough for you, they were polite and cheerful and seemed to enjoy working at the Annabelle. Even before our arrival when I emailed a query guest services replied almost instantaneously! Terrific Service. The Head Chef came out every meal time to ensure everyone was happy with the choices and even offered special meals if you had a particular requirement. Their were lots of nice little touches that made our time there a delight. The hotel is very convenient to the town and its only a few minutes into the centre. This is the second time we have stayed at the Annabelle and we will certainly return. It has to have been one of the most relaxing holidays we have been on.

Room Tip: Although costly some of the rooms at front have a private pool. for a cheaper package 2nd or 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing