We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Annabelle
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Rufford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Having lived here for 34 total weeks, I have an in depth assessment of the Annabelle. Faded glamour. Out shone by more modern hotels but still first class and a standard that never alters. The food is excellent, the attitude is perfect, the gardens a delight, the pool area excellent and the facilities are all you would expect from a 5star hotel. What makes this "better" are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble which makes a stay a real pleasure.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    585
    202
    57
    14
See reviews for
455
1,473
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am currently staying at the Annabelle hotel Paphos which must be the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Due to the location of my room (105 in the 'Aphrodite Wing') which overlooks the pool/oustide dining area and is near to the terrace area off the lobby/reception the noise at night is bad and in the morning when the staff are laying tables for breakfast at 06:30. At night the noise from the entertainment and guests sitting on the outside terrace is quite bad. I asked to be moved but was shown two rooms which were not suitable.
Sound proofing in the rooms are not existent with a constant scraping of furniture, and sounds of footsteps from the room above. When I booked the hotel I E-mailed customer services to request a quiet room on the highest floor possible, I got a ground floor room in the noisiest area of the hotel!
Wi-fi in the room is very slow so it's best to use the facilities of their 'business centre'.
Food is ok, the usual buffet hotel style food, nothing of a wow factor.
Drinks/mini-bar extrememly expensive, Four euros for a small local Keo beer, and the same for a bottle of still water. I go to the cafes/bars in the very nearby harbour. or use the Nest cafe/bar opposite the hotel. When I questioned the prices in the hotel I got the usual reply that it is a five star hotel so to be expected. Just because this hotel may charge 'five star' prices does not in any way make this a five star hotel, in my opinion it is four star.
I ordered coffee for business guests in the lobby area, at 4 euros each I would have expected a pot of coffee not just a cup! When will they realise that if they were to be more competitive on the price of drinks they might sell more, a concept that they fail to understand.
The facilities of the steam room and pool in the nest door Almyra hotel are very shabby with tiles falling off the walls and floor of the pool and steam room, yet again I am told these are 'five star' facilities!
One saving grace for this hotel are the very friendly and hard working domestic/reception and waiting staff

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room in the Aphrodite wing which overlooks the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GazFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed on full-board over Christmas, arriving on 23rd and leaving on the 30th December. This included a "Gala" waiter service dinner on Christmas Eve and 3 buffet meals per day.

The buffet meals were of good quality, with hot/cold selections and cosmopolitan content. Drinks were provided by an efficient, professional and friendly waiter service. Charges for drinks were very good for a 5-star hotel with local Cypriot produce being lower, as you would expect; but it was Christmas so we went for Champagne and cocktails in any event on a number of occasions, particularly for pre-dinner drinks in the lobby bar!

We were in a room with a balcony directly overlooking the swimming pool and the sea. The views of the sea and harbour were spectacular, particularly of the setting sun. Room service was excellent with chamber maids being extremely particular and thorough. The staff generally were very helpful and courteous.

The price for our stay was very reasonable, considering it was full board with taxi-transfers and priority check-in at the airport. We booked through Thomson. A number of hotels in Paphos were closed for refurbishment over Christmas, but this appeared to improve the price to customers at the Annabelle rather than increase them - the wonders of modern economics!

We will certainly return to the Annabelle. With driving on the left as well, who could ask for anything better?

Room Tip: Rooms with direct views of the sea provide a fuller vista, but most rooms have some sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited in December with daughter and husband . We were apprehensive as the cost was so low for full board in a 5 star hotel. We were pleasantly surprised as the hotel was lovely, excellent spotlessly clean rooms. Plenty seating area, but may not be the case if hotel was full. Buffets meals varied and good quality. beautiful gardens and pool area.
Dining room staff were pleasant, helpful and obviously well trained.
Hotel position ideal for walking into,Paphos or along the seafront or taking public transport elsewhere.

Room Tip: Directly Sea facing room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James99222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Easyjet on way out was fine exit row seats and also on way back, best to get either 1A thru to 1C as more leg room
Beware of the Paphos cages at the airport, just wait in terminal till you see the line in your cage moving, there are 3 cages for the 3 Easyjet flights, assume they all leave around the same time each day
Hotel Annabelle
35 euros with taxi but on way back got bus which was nearly as quick and only costs 1 euro, very easy to work out timings on the bus website
Pretty much all the staff were friendly apart from one lady in the buffet section who could at times be short and was also telling off/bullying another member of staff telling her that she was only allowed to clear plates, funny thing was this member of staff was interacting well with the customers, hence the thinking it was more bullying as opposed to being told off
Check in was smooth and paid an extra 200 euros for a sea view room for 4 days, probably not worth it for us as the first room probably had a side sea view
Nice entertainment each night with singers, football shown and a fun casino
Food was buffet and as I suffer from Ceoliac the chef came out on the first night and explained what could and could not be eaten, breakfast was fine with a large selection on offer and there was a Gluteon free option at lunch. As the food was quiet similar each night we also ate out in the Penguin cafe a very short walk down the road (the bus stop is also outside the hotel)
Did not feel any after effects on the whole from the food so guess it was proper Gluteon free food.
Nice pool area and despite previous comments we were able to store food and medicines in our fridge (I am also a Diabetic)
Gym was next door in the Alymra which again was short walk away down the beach, this hotel seems to cater more for Russains including a scary man walking around the gym bare chested like a caged animal
Towels, water and apples all available in the gym
Only a few minor niggles, firstly the tap in the sink was a little tough to use although the bathroom was fine apart from that and perhaps two soaps would be help full, one for the sink and one for the shower
Proper beds as well which we're comfortable to sleep in
Also balcony doors were a bit tough to open and close and beware you are on a shared balcony
Selection of TV channels, however the volume is not in sync and can cause a shock when changing to a full blast Chanel
Most of the above are minor niggles and overall this hotel was perfect for a relaxing break in Cyprus, the staff are very friendly although it would seem there are too many set rules for it to be a true five star hotel but for the price you are paying it is good value.
Mentions for staff include the always smiling doorman, the reception staff we dealt with - both from England I believe and the young lady who was the buffet host.
Also will say that the Paphos Cats are extremely well behaved and will not pester you for food and will even sleep on your sun lounger. It is apparent that they are well looked after as they were completely different from other cats in different locations, they are not skinny and appear to be well fed

Room Tip: Try your side sea view room first before upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were staying at the Almyra Hotel which had a few steps and I was having problems with my knee so after breakfast we used to walk to the Annabelle and stay there until late afternoon. We visited the Annabelle Hotel a few times and ate there twice at lunch time. We asked at Almyra reception if it was ok to eat next door and they said yes but just tell the waiter you are staying at the Almyra. You always had to give your room number anyway to put drinks on to your bill. The food was almost identical to that of the Almyra as both hotels were overseen by the same chef. You could see him walking from one hotel to the other. There appears not to be as much room around the buffet counters at the Annabelle as there is in the Almyra and the Almyra restaurant is larger and nicer we thought and so did others who visited the Almyra whilst staying at the Annabelle.

The bedrooms are more modern in the Annabelle than the Almyra and all rooms have a balcony. The area down from the restaurant to the pool only as a couple of steps. The outdoor pool is also heated.

Both hotels are only a short walk to the centre of Paphos and the harbour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nora42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Annabelle in November 2012 on a full board basis, which was a special offer during November. The hotel itself is very nice, the lobby area and restaurant are lovely and the pool area is stunning with lovely sea views and two nice pools. Although they were not heated to a sufficient temperature for our baby to swim (we did use the indoor pool at the sister hotel, the Almyra, which was lovely and warm). The rooms are comfortable and we upgraded to a suite, which was stunning, but the upgrade was more than the total cost of our holiday. The food is really good and they make a real effort for it not to be repeatitive. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the seafront with direct access to the coast path and a short walk to the harbour. The reasons I did not give this hotel 5 stars is due to some hotel policies, which just seem plain mean and did affect our view of the place. Despite being a 5 star hotel, there is no tea or coffee making facilities, there is a charge of 3.95 euro for a kettle and several teabags, coffee sachets and some milk. We had to justify why we needed a kettle for our baby's formula. There are mini bars in the room, however it is not permitted to put your own food in the fridge and if you are caught doing so it is a 15 euro charge, apparently it is "against international hotel law" to have your own food in the fridge. I have travelled around the world and never heard of an international law that prohibits food in a hotel room. The hotel will not provide an iron and ironing board and guests are told to use the expensive laundry service. The one thing that sticks in my mind about the hotel and means I will not be returning was their attitude when my friends complained that their room was noisy due to building works going on next door. The builders started at 7am and were crashing and banging until 5pm, so not only were they being woken at 7am, they could not get any peace in their room during the day. My friend asked if they could be moved, the first response was that the hotel was full. The manager then changed her mind and said that my friends could move, but it would be too a seaview room at a cost of an extra 70 euro a night. This was just plain mean, my friends wanted a relaxing holiday and paid for a nice hotel and did not want to be woken at 7am. The hotel staff did not want to know and even said that they couldn't let them have a seaview room without the extra charge, as "someone may walk in off the street and pay for that room". I can't believe that a hotel would have unhappy (and justifiably so) guests and not move them to a quiet room for free, just on the one in a million chance that someone will walk in off the street. After 3 days of putting up with the noise, they were moved to a room on the other side of the hotel, but without a seaview. That spoilt their holiday as they were only there for 7 days. I would have loved to give this hotel a glowing review, but I think that they seriously need to review their policies and unless they are changed, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Try and book a seaview room. If you have a non seaview room ask for one away from the building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traceywit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing