We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional Meze” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apomero Taverna - CLOSED

Apomero Taverna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good traditional Meze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really good and varied local meze - Fish, Meat and vegetarian options. Good value for money, and an excellent range of local Cypriot dishes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenshireTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food, Correct Service, Friendly Owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Atmosphere

The restaurant is somehow out of the "center". We found it by accident while looking for another place we'd read about in Tripadvisor. But we were so hungry and two guys were outside for a smoke telling us that this place was an absolute must - try. The guys outside were just customers themselves. Inside the place feels a little classy and misses some cozy feeling to my personal opinion. But there's nice music playing and the owner makes you feel home.

Food & Drink

The menu isn't that extended, though they have some choice of typical Cypriot food. They also offer a set - menu where you have quite some choices for a starter, main dishes and two choices for dessert. The menu is a good deal as it's very reasonably priced at 9,50 Euro's for the 3 courses. I had houmous as a starter my wife had fresh melon. For a main we took spiced minced meat rolls (forgot the Greek name) and for dessert my wife took icecream and I took the only other choice which was creme caramel. I drank a large Keo (local beer), which was totally overpriced (4,40 Euro's) and my wife took a freshmade icetea with lemon, which was normally priced and very good!

Conclusion

For our two set menu's, a large beer and an icetea we payed a little over 25 Euro's which was very reasonable. If you look for a place a little out of the tourist center, with good food, reasonable prices and a friendly owner, this is where you should be. We went here just once.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidloncke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is an absolute gem of a place. The service is excellent and the proprietors charming. The aubergines in beer batter are to die for. Slightly off the main drag for some Pahos visitors but worth seeking out as an authentic Cypriot taverna.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Taverna Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This taverna was a real find and we returned several times to sample the meze with my wife choosing the best sword fish that she had ever had. Lovely traditional place for locals and tourists alike.All food cooked fresh so expect a wait but that is what eating out should be.
Gorgeous local bread which comes free and village wine from the barrel rounds off a perfect Cyprus experience. The two brothers who were the proprieters were attentive and charming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Meze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate a delicoius vegetarian meze here. Excellent service very friendly owners lovely taverna atmosphere. A little off the beaten track but popular with locals and tourists alike. Local house wine one of the best we had on our holiday. Will definitly return

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apomero Taverna also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing