We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Undersea Walkers

Undersea Walkers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Undersea Walking is the newest and most innovative attraction to arrive in Cyprus. There are only seven in the world and we are the only one in Europe. Take the opportunity to explore the amazing Undersea World the easy way.As you stroll along the sea bed in 10ft of clear turquoise water to observe the sea life as it swims around you but you also have the opportunity to hand feed the fish. You need no lessons or swimming ability only a swim suit, towel and spirit of adventure. Get ready to take a walk on the wild side!!!
lee on solent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We undertook this activity after our Thomson rep made us aware of it at our welcome meeting. When we arrived at the 'walk' site we were given a safety briefing, issued with wet suits and shoes. After waiting about 20 minutes for the group in front of us to finish we were ready to go!
You are in a group with a maximum of 6 people. You have to walk down a jetty and start to climb down a ladder. As you head gets level with the jetty one of the team put your helmet on and then you continue down the ladder until you are met by somebody on the sea bed. The initial experience and feeling is very strange as it seems unnatural that you can breathe normally underwater.
Once you relax you certainly see plenty of fish and even feed the fish yourself. Lots of photos and video taken for you to purchase after.
An experience you should try on your holiday in Cyprus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    22
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Underwater Walk Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from Paphos and whilst on our trip we took part in the Underwater Walk, we had the most amazing time, we regularly snorkel whilst on holiday but this experience was even better, we would not hesitate to recommend to others and if ever we are in Cyprus again we would return.

You are picked up from your hotel and talked through the whole experience, the guys really do put everyone at ease, even the more nervous members of the group and you can tell they still enjoy it themselves even though they must have done it 100's of times!

It really is the experience of a lifetime that all members of the family can partake in, some great memories made and the option of buying a lovely cd full of photos to share with family at home.

If you are visiting Paphos this should be top of your list of things to do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SuffolkKl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience - Just Do It!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having been to Paphos on quite a few occasions i was looking for something a bit different to try and when i typed in 'paphos adventure' into google - the undersea walking was the first choice that appeared. So i thought i'd give it a try.
I contacted the company via the website and booked for a walk on the 2nd October. They were fast to reply to the emails and the best thing is if you book online you get a 25% discount on the price.
I was picked up from my hotel at 8.45am and was driven out to the dive site which was at the Cynthiana Hotel on TOTK Road. We parked in the car park and then there is a small walk to the dive site. You take a seat at they go over the very simple rules to follow and they give you a pair of dive boots to wear and you get the choice if you want to wear a wetsuit or not.
You are split in to groups (we were in groups of 6) and you go down with 2 divers so you are safe all of the time. While you are waiting the Cynthiana Hotel lets you use there facilities so you can have a dip in the pool or swin in there lovely lagoon.
When you get called up you walk along a jetty and get taken down one by one. You go down a ladder until your shoulders just reach the water and then one of the guys places the helmet on your head - it is quite heavy until you get into the water and it hardly weighs anything.

When you first go down the ladder it is a very strange feeling but as soon as you reach the bottom and get your feet on the ground you feel fine. You may find that your ears become blocked because of the pressure and i found that if i cleared my ears when you reached the bottom you feel so much better.

You breathe normally and can even wear your glasses in the helmet (if you wear them). It is very noisy in the helmet but as the instructors say - noisy is good as it means the air is getting in the helmets. This means you cant talk to each other and sign laungage is used to communicate with the divers and you get told the signals before you dive.
So when u are down you all stand in line and hold onto each other until all the group is down, then the 2 divers escort you along to a clearing and you hold onto a rope. One by one the divers give you bread to feed the many fish that are down there (watch the do nibble a little bit) and you feed the fish 3 times each.
Why you are down they take many photos and a video of your dive which i did buy as i had to have a memory of this great day
You dont need any swimming ability as it is very easy to walk along the floor and we had a few people on our group that was very nervous and one said she was a bit claustrophobic but she did her dive and said she was so glad she did. There is room in the helmets for you to have a look around you and for you to reach your hand in to scratch your nose or clear your ears if needs be.
You are down for your walk for about 30 minutes and is a fantastic experience - all the guys who work and run this are all very professional and very friendly from the driver who picks you up in the morning to the 2 instructors that do the walk with you.
So if you are looking for something a bit different in Paphos i would recommend doing an undersea walk and you'll have some great memories from the walk.
Thanks to the guys - I'll be back next year to do it all again!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank scottishsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Undersea Walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This experience was very enjoyable. I was nervous at first but soon got over that. No swimming ability required so open to anybody. Strange sensation at first but you soon get used to it. You can even keep your specs on if you want. Feeding the fish was great fun. I would highly recommend this. We also purchased the DVD of ourselves which is good to look back on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nervous - No need to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had found out about this prior to our holiday to Cyprus so booked it on-line making a 25% saving. We had been emailed by Scott to confirm the time we would be picked up from our hotel (included in the price)! We were picked up on time from our hotel and enjoyed the chat with the driver. I was pretty nervous and so was another lady in our group. When we arrived at the dive site we were greeted by Scott who gave us the brief safety talk. We watched as the previous group came back and were able to talk to another lady who had been nervous too but she told us not to be. All the staff are very reassuring and we had a good laugh with them all. We entered the sea down a ladder, the water felt a little cold when we first got in but as soon as you go under the water you don't notice it at all. By the time we had got to the bottom and given the thumbs up to say that we were ok I had settled down. I had been worried about getting pain in my ears as I do on the plane but kept swallowing and had no trouble at all. It's true you don't walk that far but you don't need to as the fish come to you. In my opinion it is far superior to snorkelling. Your face is dry and visibility far better. We saw some small fish (can't remember their names) and some larger sea bream. I found the whole experience uplifting and was a great way to start our holiday. I went down looking very nervous but came back up with a silly grin on my face! We had the opportunity to view the photographs and video before saying we would like to buy them. These were delivered to our hotel the same day.

Thanks to Scott and all the guys for making it such a lovely experience! Good luck for the future!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 44HappyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Undersea Walkers also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Undersea Walkers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing