We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, fantastic decor, fantastic people”

The Lodge Steak & Seafood Co.
Ranked #32 of 545 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Premiere South African Steakhouse and Seafood Restaurant in Paphos. Specialising in Charcoal Grilled, Dry Aged Steaks at excellent prices. Relax in our Cocktail Lounge, main restaurant or under the stars in our outside Braai Boma. Experiential Dining in an Exceptional Environment. Come and Taste Africa
Rothbury, Northumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic decor, fantastic people”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate well in the hotel most nights (were on half board deal).
However, I am so glad we tried The Lodge on recommendation.
This is dining at its best.
The ambience was superb. Just love the decor, relaxed & yet so sophisticated.
The food was fantastic, fresh & so tasty. The menu mainly consists of meat & fish, which was beautifully cooked.
The South African wine was gorgeous & my other half also tried the South African brandy which he adored. Beware of the measures that you may get! He can't remember getting back to the hotel!
The staff are friendly & genuine & owners Peter & Stacey/Stasie deserve to succeed at this. They know how to run a good restaurant & they care about what they do.
Seriously, if you are anywhere near the Paphos region of Cyprus, you are missing out on something special if you do not go to The Lodge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RothburyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    162
    82
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Lodge is an exceptional restaurant in every respect”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Before arriving in Paphos we booked a comedy show that recommended restaurants for dinner. So glad The Lodge was the one we picked, as it was fantastic. We booked by email with Peter and arrived late in the evening, as we ate after the show. Peter and wife Stasie could not have been more welcoming. Never a suggestion that they wished we'd hurry up! We had African meze which were delicious. The staff Stewart and Ben were so helpful explaining the different dishes and very enthusiastic about what they do. We ended up going back for a second equally brilliant meal and dropping in for drinks with them on our last night. We were only there a week so it shows how much we rated it. The decor is lovely and great touches such as giving us rugs to keep us cozy! But the real atmosphere is the delightful people. Hi everyone when you read this!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A taste of SA in Paphos!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having spent the last 8 months working in Jo'burg I was pleasantly surprised to see The Lodge in Paphos. Never having been to Cyprus before I wasn't sure what the typical spread of cuisines was likely to be but expected Greek/Cypriot, English and Italian. The Lodge seems to be quite unique and occupies a niche in Paphos. The setting was excellent, the service was great, the food was very good although portions were on the large side. All in all it was very good value. €80 for starters and main courses for 2, cocktail, 2 Keo large beers and a bottle of rose Pinotage.
The Lodge was highly accommodating as one of the diners was Gluten Free. Rice cakes and Piri Piri was a great alternative to the delicious fried pita bread and Brai sauce.

Shame the restaurant wasn't busy as November in Cyprus and not many people about. If full I am sure the ambiance would be excellent.

Recommended if you love meat and very hungry!

Ps. The resident Black Cat was gorgeous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam19H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food, fantastic staff, lovely relaxed evening”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

went here as a group and had the african meze - amazing!! all food was fantastic, beautifully cooked and harmonious in each course, very clever chef. serving staff really friendly and willing to talk through unusual dishes without being patronising.
excellent value, gorgeous setting :) thanks

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were on an all-inclusive stay in Paphos but wanted a change from the hotel for our anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. It doesn't look much from the outside, but once you walk back to the restaurant itself, it's absolutely stunning. Tastefully decorated and honestly you feel like you are in South Africa.

The staff were fantastic and really looked after us (admittedly it was quiet when we were there) The food was very good, certainly different from the usual holiday offerings. Plenty of steak and fish to choose from - mostly served from the BBQ or "Brai".

We liked the place so much we sat for a drink in the bar afterwards and it would also be a great place to come for a drink early on an evening out - just a really lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge Steak & Seafood Co. also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to The Lodge Steak & Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing