We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely piece of Cyprus but you need a map to get there”
Review of vatouthkia

vatouthkia
Ranked #111 of 556 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: beautiful welcomimg family restaurant in the hillside of paphos near to adonis baths
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely piece of Cyprus but you need a map to get there”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We go to Cyprus most years and I would feel I let down if I did not make it up to this little gem of an eatery. One year we went and they were actually closed but opened up to cook us a delightful meal. Okay you need a hire car and you need a map. Its a dusty track but stay with it and enjoy great food, great views and some of the nicest people in Cyprus.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clint N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“a lovely find”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dont be put off by the track leading to this place it is well worth it and we got there in a little hire car with no problems but slowly!!
It is right in the foot hills in lovely country sde There is a lovely outoor eating area wth lovely plants etc. There is a shaded area too ad an indoors area but we int go inside.
The village wine is Vasilicon from Kathikas and is very pleasant The menu is quit large and varied with ishes I will be going back to try There were 4 of us for lunch we had garlic mushrooms, avocado and shrimp cocktail, calamari and butterflied prawns all very tasty. Two of us had pork fillet in mustard sauce The sauce was lovely but the pork a bit over cooked. Oe had chicken keab and the other chicken in a blue cheese sauce. All very nice Followed by a plate of fresh fruit We will def be going back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvhkouklia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vito dei Normanni, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Worth the off-road drive to reach this traditional Cypriot restaurant. Stuffing and Mousaka are excellent but beware as the portions are enormous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

8 of us visited on the 8th November for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was full (which is not surprising) and the atmosphere lovely. Lunch is a buffet style consisting of 3 courses and then coffee or tea. A waitress comes to your take to take drinks order and then you go and help yourself to a salad starter. In my opinion (and I am very fussy) these were the very best salad starters I have come across. The choice and freshness of produce was excellent. You then go and choose your main course, when we went there was a choice of two roast meats : pork and beef, The chef cut me a very generous portion of each and they were both cooked to perfection. You then help yourself to veg etc., For puds the choice was fantastic there were at least eight different choices - not the usual two that is normally offered at most tavernas. Finally you finish with tea or coffee of your choice. All this for 15 euros (excluding bar drinks). An amazing meal in great surroundings with wonderful views - will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodforthought60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great scenic location”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The road to this restaurant on the way to the water falls is a bit bumpy but well worth the drive. There are beautiful views from the terrace restaurant. The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. We have been there twice this week. We had the mousakka once and the mezze the second time. Both meals were beautifully cooked. The portions are huge!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed vatouthkia also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to vatouthkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing