We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cypriot taverna in Paphos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Polis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Cypriot taverna in Paphos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having lived on the island near Polis for the last 8 years, Laona is the only restaurant we visit when visiting Paphos. Why? Because Chris and his family serve the best home-cooked Cypriot food anywhere in the area. And at the best price! Hidden away down a side street off Makarios avenue, if you want to experience real Cypriot food, then forget the rip-off tourist places in Kato Paphos and head for old Paphos to experience Laona.

Lambs liver cooked with onions, fish delicately layered with vegatables and cooked in the oven and rabbit stifado are just some of my favourites and you will be hard pushed to find these dishes anywhere else in the Paphos area, if not the whole island.

So take my advice, visit Laona, one my little Cyprus Travel Secrets.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenSmeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    162
    39
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having been visiting Paphos since 1987 I have eaten here on many occasions and it has always been a pleasant experience. Usually it would be for lunch but latterly it has been in the evening for dinner. My husband and I ate here on a Friday evening in early October and the restaurant was very busy. The service was efficient and the food, as always, very good. We opted for the small meze and asked it be served ‘siga siga’ (slowly slowly). We were always asked, after a short break, if we were ready for the next course and never at any time felt rushed. This is a family run restaurant that serves home cooked traditional food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food in Paphos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

If there is anywhere you can visit once for lunch in Paphos, then make it this place. Best village food in the city, wonderful people, and a great atmosphere. Truly a hidden gem! I will be planning my next trip around when I can visit them again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaJane85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home cooked wholesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful little family restaurant in the heart of Kato Paphos. Worth a visit and excellent value for money. Very welcoming

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iamalwayswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Truth is that sometimes I read the reviews in Tripadvisor and take them with a pinch of salt. But Laona lives up to every expectation.
Hard to find, yes. Worth looking for, absolutely.
We stumbled across it as we left the Market in Old Paphos and recognised it from the photographs on this site. That lunch was so memorable, we came back twice more during our holiday. The first meal I had was the Rabbit Stifado, delicate rabbit with mounds of onions, spiced beautifully. We came back for the small mezze and ate out way through meatballs, peas with lamb, fish in oven and more.
This is peasant cooking at its best, served by people who care at exceptional prices. For a real taste of Cyprus, go to Laonas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkfrombrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing