We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 537 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Traditional food, well cooked, friendly service and reasonable price, what more could you want. We ate here twice on our visit to Paphos and would have liked to have worked our way through the menu but it does get busy and may be advisable to book.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    154
    38
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This is a tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

A true family run restaurant. It caters for both tourists and locals and that's exactly how it is. The food is traditional and fresh. This type of traditional restaurant is sadly disappearing, well worth a visit either in summer or winter. I am a regular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston spa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic and good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Before writing this review, I had to double check that there arent two restaurants of the same name in Paphos, as some of the criticisms in recent reviews seemed strange to me. Its a street cafe in a back street in Cyprus, its not Gordon Ramseys or cordon bleu Paris dining!
Being in Paphos for a week, we went on the Tuesday evening, enjoyed it that much we booked for the Friday too. The food is authentic Greek, the wine very drinkable, the service, whilst being flat out due to the popularity, is still courteous, and the prices compared with most of the eateries on the main drag, real value for money.
We got a taxi there, and walked back as it was downhill, but its quite a walk be warned!
Just try it and decide for yourself, Im sure most people will love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkwhite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Laona Restaurant Does raise its game!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been reading the recent reviews and in particular the negative ones. All I can say is that the staff, Chris the owner and Andreas his son in law are the nicest, friendliest and helpful people running a restaurant. I visited twice between 12th and 17th October with my sister and her husband. My brother in law has mobility problems but were able to get him to a table with the help of Chris and Andreas. The effort was worth it and we enjoyed as always fantastic food with excellent service. Yes the restaurant is small and has limited covers, that is why you need to book and if you don't and arrive late in both the lunchtime and evening sessions the choices may be limited. Why? because the restaurant is very very popular with Cypriots, local expats and tourists. Well done Chris, Andreas & Koulla x Maggie

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food, great service and good value! Real taste of Cypriot cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I dined at Laona one lunchtime during July of this year (only just got round to writing a review!) although we had some difficulty finding it (this could have been due to our poor navigational skills!) we had a lovely meal and were greeted by friendly, efficient staff. We were shown a blackboard with about 6-8 dishes which were explained and described in great detail, we shared a fish dish of which I cannot remember the name and a Beef Stifado, the Stifado was the best we sampled in Cyprus and the fish was beautiful. Laona was recommended to us by friends living in Paphos and others with a holiday home out there who have been eating there for years and we were not disappointed in the slightest! It was a lovely dining experience and a great taste of authentic Cypriot food! We plan to holiday in Paphos again next summer and will certainly be paying Laona a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenieSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing