We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always worth it”
Review of Laona Restaurant

Laona Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 546 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Polemi, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“always worth it”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

we are treated like family when we go to Laona the food is wonderful and the welcome fantastic, the owners are a wonderful family and work so hard to produce good quality traditional cypriot food. nothing is too much trouble ever

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    168
    41
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional excellent family food and, well priced”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

As Expats we found Laona 9 years ago when we arrived in Paphos to live. In our opion this family restaraunt offers excellent food with a "SPECIAL" board to die for at great value for money. Our friends and ourselves eat here on a regular basis and its one of the first places we take our holiday friends to when they visit. They are now in their 25th year in the heart of Paphos Old Town and we recommend visitors to Paphos to go and and sample their lovely food and hospitality.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stands head and shoulders above the rest”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was the most authentic dining experience in Paphos - a simple, family run restaurant, well away from the overpriced touristy restaurants at the harbour. A short bus ride into town on the 610 for 1 euro takes you to the Market and the Laona is just around the corner. The menu is on a blackboard and the waiter will describe each dish to you in detail (in English!). His pride and enthusiasm for his food and restaurant shine through as he explains what is available. He recommended the "small meze" which comprised four dishes between the two of us, including a starter of fresh pitta bread with dips and a greek salad. Everything was freshly cooked and so much better than any other place we had tried. The dishes included the tried and tested stifado and kleftiko, etc, and a few we did not know, but took them to another dimension. A complimentary dessert of honey-soaked semolina cake and local liqueurs followed by coffee rounded off a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Taste of Traditional Cyprus”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We highly recommend this friendly restaurant in the old part of Paphos. Fresh food with incredible flavours and friendly service. A taste of the traditional Cyprus! It is well worth finding as you will be sure to return time and again as we did.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pafos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Cypriot food par excellence!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Koulla, Chris and Andreas offer one of the best traditional Cyprus menues in Pafos, which together with their efficient and friendly service, makes Laona, one of our continuing favourites. Everything is delicious, but the fish in oven for my wife and the "Stuffed Veggies" (Yemista) for me are outstanding, but don't miss out on eveything else!!!! On top of that, the value for money would be hard to beat anywhere else.

A magnificent visit to the real traditional Cyprus cuisine!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr M M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laona Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Laona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing