We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only living restaurant in Paphos”
Review of Argo

Argo
Ranked #54 of 545 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated behing Agia Kiriaki Church (St. Paul's Pillar) Extensive Cypriot and English Menu
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The only living restaurant in Paphos”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in Paphos in October and virtually every restauraunt was empty, apart from this one who seem to manage to fill every seat more than once a night, and the reasons are fairly obvious. This is a traditional Taverna with a traditional menu. Almost everyone there appeared to have been before and there seemed to be a lot of local expats which is always a good sign. I have read the other reviews and yes, the decor could have been better, yes there could have been more space, yes the service could have been a bit quicker, but........ The guy who runs this place and his staff work incredily hard and try to keep everybody happy. If you want a fancy British style/quality restaurant, go to the main streets there are plenty of them, and they are all empty.

This was a great dining experince, the food is fantastic, reasonably priced, the staff are great, there is a touch of the Faulty Towers about the place (I particularly liked the door to the gents WC. This place has atmosphere and is well worth several visits, despite being half-board at our 4 start hotel we went three times dring our stay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    102
    29
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I don't know if I just went on a bad day!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Tried this place half way through our holiday and expectations were high as it was packed and we were told to come back in half an hour. This was not at all a problem as we just went to the pub over the road.

Ordered a mixed grill, which took a while, again not a problem because that normally means food is good. However when it arrived it was one of the worst cooked, tasteless dishes I have seen. The meat was overcooked, therefore tough and dry and the potatoes undercooked.

Ate as much as possible which totalled about a third of the dish. I did not go back, needless to say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Recommended by customers in nearby bar & so good that we went 10 times out of
14 day holiday. Friendly and efficient service, good atmosphere. Food was excellent,
large portions and incredible value for money

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate in this restaurant twice while on a weeks holiday, stumbled across it by accident while having a wander. The food was absolutely amazing, it was very busy both night but the owner still makes time to chat to you. I would highly recommend the Moussaka but starve yourself all afternoon as its very filling but the best I've ever tasted :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoraG1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food but service could be better”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went here in September 2012 and ate here twice. On the first visit, we pre-booked so we could have a taste of the highly acclaimed kleftiko, and it didn't disappoint. It was very tasty, freshly prepared although rather huge! This is not a bad thing as the pricing was very reasonable. If you want to try the Kleftiko, it's available on two nights of the week and pre-booking it is essential, otherwise you're out of luck!

The second visit I had the moussaka, which was probably the nicest moussaka that I had this time. Again, huge portions which was very good given the price we paid. Very reasonable. Village wine drank very well, rather nice.

My only slight disappointment was that the atmosphere and service left a little to be desired. Having said that, there are no real complaints, we were always served, but the manner was sometimes a little abrupt, but there was no real atmosphere like other places I had been. It could be that it was because it was so busy, and there were a lot of customers turning up on the off chance and in fairness to the owner, he either tried to accommodate by offering them to come back later, or in some cases the customers were booking for other nights instead.

Overall, deifnitely worth a visit - make sure to book the klefitko in advance!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJ_84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Argo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing