We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Island

Happy Island
Ranked #18 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good to be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My Wife & I returned to Paphos, after an absence of 3 years, the first place we visted was Happy Island. We have been here many times before. Soon as we walked in was instantly recognised by Mario & Stelious. Food as ever was surperb. Had lunch everyday of holiday. Well recommended. At weekend is full of local people - sign of a good Cyprus restaurant. We are returning Sept. 2014. Guess the first port of call?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopCat640jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    87
    24
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Cyprus for many years and always try to get to Happy Island as it holds many memories and the staff are very pleasant and the food good.
Portions are generous, especially if you eat from the lunch menu €9.50 for a pork chop and €9.50 for fresh kalamari (today's portion was 8) with homemade chips and a small salad garnish. Fresh fruit is often included at no charge to finish off your meal.
Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Warwickshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A nice relaxed meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the many restaurants on the main road down to the harbour in Paphos. I Had the Lamb Kleftico Special on the Sunday (they only cook on Sunday & Wednesday) and was a little disppointed as it was not as tender as I expected and slightly dry in places. However, excellant the side dishes of vegatables, chips, rice and salad + my partners steak was so tender and lovely, I've rated this as 4* not 3*
Although the restaurant was very busy, we were not rushed and the service was friendly and efficient with no long pauses bewteen courses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJL1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“probably the best restaurant in paphos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

we visit paphos at least two or three times each year , and we always go self catering so that we can eat out every night , i mean who the hell wants to put up with second class hotel food ( all inclusive ) all inclusive means is you pay for everything up front and if you don't like it then its tough luck , how many reviews do you read on this and other web sites about people moaning on about bad hotel food and service, when will people learn , if you go to a restaurant and they serve you crap food and give rubbish service what do you do yes that's right i hear you say , you go somewhere else, yes , you go somewhere like the Happy island restaurant, where you are made welcome, where the atmosphere is vibrant, where the food is first class and the service is bar non , i can guarantee you will leave with a full belly and a happy smile , it took us a few years of visiting paphos before we found the Happy island restaurant because we always stay up the other side near the tomb of the kings , but its well worth effort , probably the best restaurant in paphos,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Island Restaurant,Paphos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have now dined three times at this restaurant and each time we have been most impressed
both with the quality of the extensive menu and the friendliness of the staff. Excellent value and well worth a visit. Highly reccommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Island also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Happy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing