We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best for a beer and football”
Review of Hot Cup Cafe

Hot Cup Cafe
Ranked #314 of 557 Restaurants in Paphos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Michals sports bar has can offer u all sort f football u like to watch during the day and night !! We offer u a big menu from breakfast to lunch and dinner !! We are here to make ur holiday just a bit better !! Having our popular beer on draft and so many others by the bottle ! Come and joint us !!
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“best for a beer and football”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

if you want a romantic meal with your loved one there are better places but if you get let a pass there is nowhere better to watch fooball and have a beer.

the host Michael is a top bloke

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzman500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wished we had found this place earlier”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Unfortunately we were only three days short of returning home when we found this place, we never ate here but after seeing what other people had I expect it tasted great and certainly looked good value, plates were full. The two guys that work there were really friendly, chatting away to all the customers even advising on car hire, and places to visit. Big mix of customers from young to the more mature. Would have to say out of all the places we visited these guys made us the most welcome and if we go back they will be seeing us again for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Good service, friendly staff, decent food and reasonable prices. What more could you want. You get a friendly welcome from Michael the owner and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend this place if you are having a snack, dinner or just a nice cold local Keo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bubster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“HOT CUP CAFE/MICHAELS BAR YOU NEVER FAIL TO IMPRESS US !”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was our fourth visit for my husband and myself to Paphos and you cannot come here and not be attracted to this cafe bar. It is situated just opposite the Avanti Hotel as you walk to the harbour and just off the entrance to the Amatheus Beach Hotel (which you cannot miss with its lighted dome on the roof).
In the evening this cafe bar has a lit up orange cactus by it's entrance.
This cafe bar offers a large variety of meals through out the day and a variety of cocktails and a nice cold pint of the local KEO lager. The menu variety is excellent and the meals are cooked to a high standard. I had a steak and cheese roll with some fries and never saw a roll that big in my life! and my husband who can be quite a fussy eater enjoyed every meal cooked and when you find a place with good food, drink and excellent friendly staff you will keep visiting through out your stay!
When we visitied Wimbledon was in it's last week and the tv coverage was excellent and there is excellent coverage for sky sports as we also watched the Hayes fight in this bar as Michael is such a character and draws you in as you walk by ( but not in a pushing manner, he is just so relaxed and friendly).
This is a must visit little cafe bar where you can just relax and watch the world go by ( normally the wedding bus in the evening which honks it horn and the whole bar waves back at it !).

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicdarpaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This is a bar for Brits”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not my idea of a Greek restaurant, more of a pub full of tattooed pot bellied Brits, swilling down beer and watching football on the TVs every time I passed. Most of whom seem to be holiday regulars and clearly having a good time which is fine if that's what you're looking for. Now being more aptly named as Michael's Tavern.

As a bar I'd have rated this higher and would probably recommend it for a sustained beer drink, but don't walk past Romantica or Ficardo's to come here if you're looking for a nice local restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Cup Cafe also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Hot Cup Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing