We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food still amazing”
Review of Cavallini

Cavallini
Ranked #34 of 546 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food still amazing”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is our favourite Italian restaurant, Akis and his staff never fail to amaze us, he never stands still for a minute and he always remembers you from the previous year as soon as you walk in. The pate is mmm great, as is the palma ham with melon, pasta dishes are great and if you only have a small appetite you can have a starter size.The chicken dishes and steaks are wonderful. I'm always to full to have one of their lovely sweets,but always have room for a double expresso.Still one of our favourite restaurants, with lovely food and great service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayssue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    103
    32
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,086 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Excellent - worth a visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We visited this restaurant twice during a week's holiday in Paphos. This is a very busy, good quality restaurant. The food is excellent; the staff are very friendly and efficient but could have been a little more attentive, e.g. topping up wine (this is a minor point except that the wine bucket was slightly out of reach to top us ourselves). Our first visit was on a Friday evening - we arrived at 20:30 and were told that there would be a 30 minutes wait for an outside table - we ate inside and this was fine for us but if an outside table is important then reserve a table in advance. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. Two courses, including wine cost 80 euro.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have to say going to an Italian when on holiday in Cyprus felt a bit wrong, however this was a great find, there were several Italian places along the road, but they all looked a little clinical and lacked character, we chose this as it looked friendly and the menu was a little different. We were certainly not disappointed the staff were wonderful, the food was excellent (beware of the large portions!) what was also lovely was that the manager (I think or the FOH Manager) came and greeted everyone, and it was clear that a lot of people had been there several times, even though it was our first time and he was in deep conversation when we got up to leave he still came over to say thank you, goodbye and of course gave us a kiss! Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, visited 3 times this fortnight, make sure you try it, won't let you down.”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Fantastic. Came here 2 years ago and found the food and ambience to be excellent, has not let us down this year. Visited 3 times in our 11 nights, has been very consistent every evening. Will definitely re-visit. Andrew & Sheena Mackenzie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheand_1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Just gets better & better!”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Photos of "Cavallini’s" Italian restaurant, Poseidonos Ave, between the "Amathus Hotel" & "Panareti Paphos Resort" (2 mins walk from the "Athena Royal Beach" & near the triangle).
http://s481.photobucket.com/albums/rr175/Nephthys_photos/Cavallinis%20Restaurant%20Paphos/
Returned a few days ago from our 3rd stay in the Paphos area & we know better than to consider anywhere else for an evening meal other than Cavallini’s. Somehow, it just gets better each year &, as usual, the owner remembered us. Prices haven’t increased much & the link above includes a photo of the extensive food menu. They also have a pretty good wine & beverages list.
After 20 years with his restaurant, owner Akis Mavromatis must be doing something right as some places were very quiet but booking is still essential at Cavallini’s, who are open every night & pretty full by around 8pm.
We stayed with friends this time, in a hillside village. They hadn’t been to Cavallini’s before but have vowed to return as their usual Paphos haunts can’t match the attentive staff, varied menu or atmosphere of the place. It’s not the cheapest place to eat but you get what you pay for & we haven’t found anywhere else with the all-round quality food & service provided by Mr. Mavromatis & his team. It’s an ideal place to hold a celebratory function too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavallini also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Cavallini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing