We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, good food.”

Windmill Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 545 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Windmill is a family run restaurant owned from Chris Kathitziotes and his family for more than 30 years. The restaurant offers a large selection of Cypriot and International food. It is also specialised in Meze.Availlable for wedding receptions and other parties. Reasonable prices.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely people, good food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The family that run this eatery are friendly and very accommodating. We had the special steak and a swordfish meal one day then returned another night for the fish meze - we only just made it to the end of the meal! Tasty, local cuisine that's served by lovely people in a quiet area - well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,191
    203
    81
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hornchurch
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Cypriot food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile


We visited the windmill during our recent stay in paphos and was very impressed with the food. We arrived quite early and were the only ones in the restaurant to start with but it was cool and peaceful and the restaurant did begin to fill up as we ate our meal. A young lady brought us a lentil and rice dish to accompany out bread. She said her mother had just finished making it. It was yummy! We found the prices very reasonable and the waiter helped us to pick the best value way to have our drinks. My only negative is that I filled myself up in the lentil and rice dish, bread and starter and I was too full to finish my main. We could not fit a dessert in but were brought a lovely big bowl of grapes to eat. Good service and food value. Definitely worth a visit to the windmill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shamrock990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cyprus dining the old way”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having been coming to Cyprus for over thirty years, the sad fact is the quality of restaurants has decreased and it is extremely difficult to find a good traditional Cypriot restaurant. However at the Windmill you can still find those qualities. It's a family owned and run restaurant with excellent, friendly service by people who genuinely care. The food is fantastic and is in line with other restaurants regarding price, which is good considering the superior quality. I would 100% recommend this restaurant if you want a taste of the old Cyprus and not the mass produced, frozen rubbish they serve at many of the places at the harbour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé visited for dinner with my parents and we all ordered the mixed meat platter for two per couple. I think it worked out to be approximately 14euro each which was excellent value as the portions were huge. The choice gave a wide range of different meats including steak, lamb, pork, and a type of sausage. The meal came with an excellent sauce which was recommended to us by the lovely waitress who was more than happy to discus the food on offer. We also ordered a garden salad which wasn't needed as the main meals came with an excellent range of vegetables and lovely potatoes. Also worth mentioning is the complimentary appetiser which I believe was a courgette flower stuffed with some kind of rice mixture, it was delicious. There are a couple of reasons as to why I didn't score this a 5, we didn't get asked how we would like our steak to be cooked and were in desperate need of a fan! Overall I would reccomend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic family-run restaurant!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at this lovely restaurant while we were in Cyprus. We couldn't fault it. The service was impeccable and the food delicious. We had the Mixed Meze menu and it was fantastic. You definitely won't leave hungry!! We loved also that it was local and family-run. Thanks to Chris and his lovely family for a fantastic dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing