We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melania Restaurant

Melania Restaurant
Ranked #154 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Melania Restaurant is a family restaurant owned by Kannavias family from the 80s. Situated 600 meters after the “Tombs Of The Kings” on the way to Coral Bay on the write side.Public transport to Melania: Bus from harbor to coral bay beach every 20 minutes. For Melania stop at Ajip petrol station or Ikaria tourist village (both 150m from Melania Restaurant). You can also ask the driver for Melania.What’s going on at the Melania Restaurant?-Meals cooked by the owners Elli and Matthew!-Chips coming from organically homegrown potatoes and vegetables from the garden!-Great moussaka!-LARGE meze - only eat if very hungry!-Fresh meat every day supplied by local market!-Pick grapes straight from the vines in the garden - homegrown grapes produce the village wine served!-Homemade desserts, fresh fruits, plus village yogurt with honey!If you don’t like junk food this is the best place to eat every day!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our local place and local food which was grown and all produced by the restaurant so the meals tasted great and also the wine was local. What a memory to come home with and flavours. The meze was fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“price rise what do you expect???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

When the food and service are this good the cost is realistic and not expensive .The personal service is second to none wherever I have travelled and the tastes of all was exquisite.Matteo keep up the good work and keep the wife, you look good for 37 ! she is keeping you young.Thank you for all the food and chat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wickham, Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Price rise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been visiting the restaurant for 24 years and the food has always been excellent. It seems to be suffering from a lack of visitors (not their fault) and so the prices have risen quite a lot. However there is always plenty of food. There was however a problem with the card machine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for visiting our place so many years. Sure on November time visitors are much less than Summer time. Sure prices have risen quite a lot all over Cyprus because of the cost of most products and and expenses. We will always cook plenty of food.and very high quality for all of you. Thanks for the support. Problems have to do with information systems like the card machine etc...its a part of our life here in Cyprus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It doesn't get any better than this folks!! Don't leave Paphos without having a meal at Melania. Matheos is a gracious host, full of life, smiles and ancient stories of the island's history. His wife Elly cooks all the meals herself, all fresh, home made and home grown. This is Cypriot hospitality at it's best. We have been going there for over 20 years, and the quality of the food and service has not changed. How often can you say that? Pride of ownership is evident here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
3 Thank Tisho1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks about all you say. Sure it will be a nice coming to Paphos, having a meal at Melania meet Matheos (owner of Melania) listen to the ancient stories of the island's history. Meet Matheos wife Elly. She is the chef, she cooks all the meals herself, all fresh, home made and home grown. For sure the Cypriot hospitality its at it's best. Thanks for coming back for over 20 years. We will keep our quality of the food and service as you remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You have to try this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Simply put, you have to try this place.
Don't be put off if no-one is in. We arrived and the place was empty, it soon filled up, we were met by Mathew (the older gent) who explained that all the fruit and veg was grown on his plot of land behind the restaurant. The Kleftiko was excellent and massive. The chips, home made were the best we had during our two week stay. the Meze we had on the following visit took hours to work our way through.
Simply brilliant and very reasonably priced. You have to try this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for all..we will keep our quality high for ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melania Restaurant also viewed

Chlorakas, Paphos District
 
Kato Akourdalia, Paphos District
 

Been to Melania Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing