We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Greek food at it's best”
Review of Melania Restaurant

Melania Restaurant
Ranked #154 of 557 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Melania Restaurant is a family restaurant owned by Kannavias family from the 80s. Situated 600 meters after the “Tombs Of The Kings” on the way to Coral Bay on the write side.Public transport to Melania: Bus from harbor to coral bay beach every 20 minutes. For Melania stop at Ajip petrol station or Ikaria tourist village (both 150m from Melania Restaurant). You can also ask the driver for Melania.What’s going on at the Melania Restaurant?-Meals cooked by the owners Elli and Matthew!-Chips coming from organically homegrown potatoes and vegetables from the garden!-Great moussaka!-LARGE meze - only eat if very hungry!-Fresh meat every day supplied by local market!-Pick grapes straight from the vines in the garden - homegrown grapes produce the village wine served!-Homemade desserts, fresh fruits, plus village yogurt with honey!If you don’t like junk food this is the best place to eat every day!
Manchester, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek food at it's best”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having a week with my mum and dad at Paradise Kings Club the Melania is the closest restaurant. It is also the most traditional. Lynne loves the Moussaka and I always go for the Stifado (if it's on) which it usually is :) Sometimes the Mousakka runs out as they only make a limited amount so if you want to ensure you get this it's best to book. Very traditional, very simple, very effective. It is also amazing value for money. We love it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks. We will keep our traditional style. Homemade meals. Real Cypriot food. Homegrown vegetables and fruits for all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    26
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akrotiri, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best traditional restaurant in Cyprus I've visited”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I don't know why we didn't discover this restaurant before as I now realise what we were missing. The surroundings are traditionally Cypriot, sitting under vines & surrounded by beautiful plants, you can easily forget you are in Paphos. The food was plentiful, delicious, as nearly all is home grown & then cooked beautifully. I went with my family group (10 of us) children to pensioner ages & all of us thoroughly enjoyed the food & the ambience. The service was very friendly & efficient & the whole place spotlessly clean. If you want a traditional meze, superbly cooked & presented all for 18 euros then this is the place. We will certainly be returning there time & time again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1962Gingerbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks. Traditional fresh meals is our advantage for all of you looking forward meeting our locals tastes. We will keep it for ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't get more of a Cypruriot experience if you wished!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this superb restaurant for my sisters wedding reception there was over 20 of us and I was so pleased how brilliantly the family safe dealt with the large party aswell as making the environment so relaxed nothing was rushed there qaa plenty of time to enjoy all the brilliant dishes and even the owner came out to thank us for our custom and wished us a happy evening! A must visit its truly a honour to be at The Melania restaurant, sampling there dishes was amaze!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KitoProud92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks! We will keep our Cypriot original style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Interesting Cypriot experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went to this restaurant with my wife and three friends. From the outside, doesn't look anything
out of the ordinary, but once inside it has the feel of a real Cypriot restaurant. Indeed the serving and cooking were done by the owner and his wife. We had meze, and the variety and quality of the food was exceptionally good. We sat in the outside area, which was completely covered with grape vines, with large bunches of grapes hanging down. We also tried the local "village wine",
which was quite good. My only criticism is that the atmosphere might be improved with the addition of some soft background Cypriot music. All in all, a good night and well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank dpgee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks! we will always serve our customers like friends and maybe more! All people are welcome to our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always made to feel welcome”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visit Paphos most years and over the years have enjoyed the food at Melania Restaurant. The Mousaka made 'Mama' is the best I have ever eaten, served with home grown Tomato, Cucumber, and Chips. This was followed by a sweet made from their own garden. We will look forward to once again enjoying being at the restaurant next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melaniarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Melania Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for all! Your always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melania Restaurant also viewed

Chlorakas, Paphos District
 
Kato Akourdalia, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Melania Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing