We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Taverna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hondros

Hondros
Ranked #42 of 536 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Finally just what I was looking for, a traditional Cypriot taverna!

Many places that are highly rated on Trip Advisor in Paphos were very disappointing, they lacked that traditional taverna feel that I was looking for, and instead was full of Brits that seemed to want all there home favourites rather than a traditional cypriot experience.

This place however had a traditional charm and served some lovely food. The service was friendly too.

The live singer was very good without it being too loud or awkward. Nicely Done!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    207
    90
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came here on a whim after seeing this as we passed on the bus , the fresh squid was excellent as was the feta and tomato . We both had suckling pig delicious and house wine was great all in all a must eat here

Helpful?
Thank Cjw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful mezze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a fabulous mixed mezze at Hondros, the oldest taverna in Paphos, can't wait to visit again next year!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such an authentic traditional traverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having visited Paphos many times, we have always threatened to eat at the Hondros. This year we did and it was lovely! You get a very large portion of food. It has an open courtyard, covered by vines thus making it a quiet and sheltered despite being near the main road. It has a very traditional menu and there is no doubt the food is all freshly made. The atmosphere here is so traditional it made a change not to have to run the gauntlet of meeters and greeters ushering you into their restaurant. There was a nice singer in the evening. There is a photo gallery in the restaurant - a mix of pictures of the bombardment of the Harbour, photos of the Hondros family over the years, and historic scenes of Paphos. I would highly recommend this to other travellers

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant of my holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stumbled across Hondros, which is near the Paphos Harbour bus station, on my first day in Paphos and liked it so much that I ate there three times during my one week holiday. The Tavern is in an open courtyard, covered by vines, overlooking the harbour. It is surrounded by flowering shrubs, making it feel quiet and sheltered despite being near the main road. The menu is traditional Cypriot food, and all clearly home made. As a pesctarian, I was well catered for an loved the dips selection, imam, and the vegtarian meze. My meat eating companions said that the kebabs - fresh from the barbecue in the courtyard were delicious. In the evening there is unobtrusive live music. The staff were friendly and knowledgable about the food. There's no question in my mind that all the food was made fresh on site, as opposed to some other places where I suspected the food had been frozen. There's an interesting photo gallery in the restaurant - a mix of pictures of the bombardment of the Harbour, photos of the Hondros family over the years, and historic scenes of Paphos. I have lovely memories of relaxed afternoons and evenings spent at Hondros and would highly recommend it to other travellers

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hondros also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Hondros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing