We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and atmospheric surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hondros

Hondros
Ranked #42 of 536 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmospheric surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We hadn't been to this restaurant for a while, but I'm glad we rediscovered it. Welcoming and informative staff. Good menu with the usual Greek Cypriot standards, but also a few less common dishes such as whole kalamari stuffed with feta. Food arrives promptly and piping hot, though there's no feeling of being rushed. This won't be the cheapest meal you'll have in Paphos but well worth it. The interior is especially atmosheric (when we visited in March the log fire was blazing), with lots of old photos on the walls. As I recall, traffic noise can be a problem when sitting outside, so if its not too hot try an inside table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    207
    90
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphoa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food in a charming traditional setting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food was very good, the service was great, the atmosphere was very charming... looking forward to returning to Hondros again soon... ! the added bonus the price is right... !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best of cypriot cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As I'm Cypriot I love local cuisine and have visited many tavernas in my life. I can surely appreciate good food. This taverna is very good, the food is excellent - at the right price. It is a few minutes walk away from the Paphos coastal avenue. If you want to try the best of cypriot cuisine then you must dine at Hondros. A definite try is pork souvla and kleftiko.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chryer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lovely traditional food. Good quality. Good portions. Good location. Nice atmosphere. Free duly staff. Would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennyflower18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited in February. I spotted the restaurant when passing on the bus and it just "had the look" of being a great place to eat. We weren't disappointed. Had dolmades and spinach pie to start, followed by shaftalia and kleftiko - beautiful. Had the most delicious apple pie to finish. All that food washed down by two carafe's of wine (red) - lovely! Overall, a great restaurant and when I visit Paphos again I will definitely go back. Wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMF029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hondros also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Hondros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing