We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Nicolas Elegant Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Ranked #56 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, clean and modern. Staff were all very friendly. It was out of the main town so you would need a car. Only negative was the tiles coming off the pool so the kids cut themselves but I'm sure if they used the steps this would not have been so bad. The staff did however go out of there way to use first aid on my sons foot. Would defiantly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchupgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Catherine thank you for your review we really appreciate it, just wanted to let you know that after you left we emptied and re-tiled the pool and now all is fabulous at St Nicolas, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    100
    77
    54
    78
See reviews for
155
171
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to this establishment in the opinion it was a hotel (due to misinformation via Thos Cook's temporary staff). It isn't. It is a huge complex, modern, very well equiped, with friendly and helpful staff (mainly from Eastern Europe), a decent restuarant.indoor and outdor pools, a gym, sauna, and so far as I could tell, some sort of beauty salon. Since we were there in the last week of February and the first week of March 2013 some of these facilities were not open .
So far as I could tell some of the apartments were privately owned, some were time share, others seemed to be rented out to those such as ourselves and equiped for self catering. It was starting to fully open at the start of March, as was true for a lot else in Paphos.
Unless one enjoys long distance hikes up and down steep hills you would be well advised to give this place a miss, thst is unless you are willing to hire a car for the whole period of your stay. This we did. You will get no beach or seaside views from the establishment, it is not in Paphos but maybe 5 miles outside, up in the hills in the area of Chloraka. So long as one is aware of this situation the place will not disappoint you, but it is liable to be something of a shock upon arrival if you are not aware of it. The whole area outside seems to be a huge building site with other complexes beng developed but largely at a standstill, probably due to their economic woes. The same is general in the area and I suspect a lot of tavernas and suchlike will not be open this year, or maybe never. The lady in the admin office is a good source of infomation, and can arrange car or bicycle if you wish. I used a car rental company called Streetwise Car Rentals who proved to be reliable and delivered to the complex and collected the car after I left with no problems. They can be contacted by Email if you wish to organise before you go.
For the politically aware, we was there at the time of their presidential elections. Conversing with a taverna owner he said "we have just got rid of a really nice Communist and elected a Fascist". I replied "join the club, we have elected a whole bunch of them". Be aware of the restriction of even visitors cash being at risk of EU theft if you have too much cash left over when leaving the island.
If, like me, you are not fond of Greek food, I recommend eateries under the name of "Tea for Two" found in several locations in the area. There is much to see and visit in that part of Cyprus, but it is not a cheap place to visit and possibly now going to get dearer

Room Tip: "Daisy Block" No.102 was fine. Note, the place was empty when we went, can't say what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squash27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is such a lovely place. Great swimming pools , small gym and indoor pool . Our apartment is lovely - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a very functional kitchen with washing machine. Huge balcony and very modern! Also the air conditioning doubles up as a heater which we had to use some evenings as it can cool down a bit in April. Tried on site restuarant one night - it was lovely and great service! Prices about the same as anywhere else. The service here at the resort was very friendly and efficient . Our plane arrived late and they called us a couple of times to ensure we weren't getting lost. The place was very well sign posted once you got near the village! The one thing I had read from all previous reviews was that it was so quiet here and that is definitely the case. I thought it might be busy as it was Easter but very very quiet! But then we found pafos quiet too ( not sure if its the banking crisis) the only negative point is that the children all hurt their legs etc in the pool as many of the mosaic tiles have lifted causing sharp edges. Otherwise all good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review we very much appreciate it. We wanted to let you know that since you left we have completely emptied and re-tiled the swimming pool and now all is well at St Nicolas, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it!
Such a relaxing atmosphere. The apartment was so spacious, immaculately clean and came with a huge balcony. All of the staff we dealt with were fantastic and always willing to help.
All of the balconies look out on to the beautiful pool area.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment. It consisted of one twin room and one double room BOTH with en suites.

The residence is outside of Paphos with the nearest bus stop situated in the old town market which is a 20minute walk away. We did not find this a problem as we both dont mind walking however I wouldnt recommend it for anyone with very young children or for anybody who struggles with walks.To make up for this the residence provide a taxi service which is extremely cheap compared to getting a taxi from elsewhere. The taxi service is run by a husband and wife and they are extremely efficient and very friendly.

We are both 21 and stayed here as a couple as my sister in law was getting married in a different hotel however I would recommend it for families and groups of friends.

We are going to book again for next year but with a group of friends.

Dont let the location put you off because it is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnstonHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you Hazel for your lovely review we are happy you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place is really nice and clean. Staff is friendly and the villa was well worth it! We stayed in February, so it wasn't peak season and only 10 other people in the whole resort. It is away from the main areas and the beach, but all in all it was great. Wifi was only up towards the restaurant & clubhouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWeaver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here as Coral Bay was closed. The location was not an issue as we always hire a car and the directions were excellent. It is situated between Kato Pahos and Coral Bay which provided a choice of direction for beaches, bars and restaurants. The reception staff were very helpful and provided great information and service. The apartment was good, very clean and had a very large balcony/terrace. It was well equipped, however, it lacked some of the finer points: blackout curtains (woken by the sun at 6am each morning, so no lie-ins!), pictures on the walls, hooks for coats and towels, lampshades and only music channels on the tv. Overall due to the amount of time spent in the apartment it was a good resort for so early in the season. The beds were comfortable and changed during the week, fresh towels every day and the FoC Wifi worked fairly well. The restaurant was a disappointment we tried lunch upon arrival and breakfast on our first morning and decided not to return, mediocre food and not served hot. Wine was cheap! The indoor pool was warm enough and the gym, sauna and jacuzzi were OK too. There was a shop about 7 mins walk away so we were able to get essentials supplies very easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned after 2weeks at this resort cannot fault the resort great apartments cleaning in the apartment poor but the complex itself is spotless .We usually stay at coral bay but was imformed that it was closed for a few months so they put us here but we will not be coming here again to go anywhere you need a car nowhere to go for a drink at night only a small lounge/restaurant on complex which was really cold we like to be next to the sea this place is a car ride away from the nearest beach.Theres a nice village up the road but nearly everything was shut but it was the same in coral bay and paphos ,the weather the first week was bad so we went & bought some dvds from a charity shop unfortunately it took 2 hours to get the player to work.In the summer I would think this would be a lovely place to say but no way will we return here in the winter months hopefully our own complex coral bay will be open next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#44 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pandream Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Club St. George Resort
Club St. George Resort
#69 of 90 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
6.2 mi away
Club Coral View Resort
1.2 mi away
Capital Coast Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Elegant Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Elegant Residence

Property: St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Address: Chlorakas Avenue, Paphos 8220, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Nicolas Elegant Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Panareti's award winning St Nicolas Elegant Residence Resort offers superior self-catering accommodation of studios, apartments, town houses and 3 bed detached Villas with private pools. Ideally located in Paphos just off the busy Tombs of the Kings tourist area with its many shops bars and restaurants. All accommodation is spacious, fully air conditioned and stylishly furnished. Living rooms have TV and DVD player, the kitchens are fully equipped and accessorised and all accommodation has either a spacious balcony or terrace. All town houses are 2-storey villas.Alpha Panareti,s St Nicolas resort facilities include 4 lagoon-style pools with waterfall features, tennis court, children’s playground, home cinema room, and a restaurant/bar overlooking the pool. It also has its own health club with heated indoor pool, gym, hot tub, sauna and massage rooms. Bicycle hire is also available. Free WiFi and Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Nicolas Elegant Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Nicolas Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing