We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great complex and Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Ranked #57 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Reviewed September 24, 2012

St. Nicholas Apartments & Surrounding area.

Quick overview is it's an excellent complex and well worth staying, if you want a more detail overview continue reading below....

We're a young couple and stayed here on the 10th - 21st September 2012 and we really can't fault any aspect of our Holiday.

We arrived at the reception around 11pm and we're greeted by a very helpful guy who showed us to our room (depending which block you’re staying in this could be a 5 minute walk and up a steep incline) We we're staying in 'Celia House' (each apartment is named individually) which is the furthest away from reception however, as it's the furthest away and up a small hill, we had a great view of two of the pools and most of Paphos' Harbour and bay including an excellent sea view. The complex also has free Wi-fi and you are given a username and login on arrival, this is valid for 7 days but you can request a new one after the 7 days are up, the connection isn't brilliant but it's fast enough to do normal everyday web searching etc....

The apartment itself was excellent; it had a main kitchen/lounge area with three sets of double doors opening out on to a large balcony. The Bedroom was a good size with a double bed two bedside cabinets a set of large draws and a large built-in wardrobe with plenty of hangers and a safe. Off the bedroom was an en-suite bathroom with toilet, shower and bath tub.

The kitchen was well equipped with enough pots and pans to be able to make most dishes, the utensils and cutlery were adequate, however we didn't have any scissors, but we made do without and this was only a very minor issue. The lounge area was very nice and spacious with two couches one of which opened up in to a bed. The lounge and bedroom both have air conditioning at no extra cost.

A small point to make is there were a few ant's, however as long as you wipe down the surface and don't leave food out you shouldn't really have an issue we kept nearly all our food in the fridge and never really noticed any more ants after this.

The Complex has 4 swimming pools, 1 main large pool with a separate small toddler’s pool then 3 other pools across the complex all pools are of similar size with rock waterfall features and plenty of space for sun bathing. The main pool is where the restaurant and small bar is, you can also find the Gym, Sauna and Jacuzzi down the steps in the bar area these are all free to use and the Gym is well equipped with treadmill and plenty of weights. It also has a Tennis court, but I never used it so I’m not sure if it’s any good or not?

Some reviews have commented about the service being slow, i disagree the pace of life in general is slower and much more chilled so in comparison to the UK then yes it is but who wants to be rushed anyway, just sit back and relax, that's what your there for!

The manageress was very helpful on the two occasions we needed her, one where the smoke alarm needed a new battery and the second time we asked if we could have a late checkout, both occasions she was more than accommodating and very helpful. A few people have mentioned that the manager was hard to get hold of, but again it's a massive complex, you can't expect her to be sat in her office all day and when she's not there, there is always a phone and number to contact her and she'll come and see you as soon as possible. If you’re staying longer than 7 days, you also get one free room clean, although you are still expected to wash your towels, she will mop up; change your bedding etc....

The area itself (Chloraka) is really nice, we were a little worried after reading some reviews on here saying there's nothing around and there is a long walk to get anywhere.... I disagree, there are 4 Kiosks (mini-markets) within 5 mins walk from the apartment we stayed in and they were open 24 hours 7 days a week. A little further out probably 10 mins walk we found a 'UK brand' Supermarket run by a British couple, it sold everything you would find in a normal mini-supermarket in the UK, so if you find yourself missing some Heinz Baked Beans, this is the place to go!! You might think that this would be an expensive place to shop, but was actually really cheap. There are also two really good bakeries within 15 mins walk, much better quality than our bakery's over here.

As well as the bakery's there are around 3 or 4 take-away restaurants, Pizza Hut, a Chinese take-away and two Cypriot restaurants, we never used any of these so i can't comment on the quality unfortunately, but the Chinese take-away looked very new and modern and the Cypriot take-away both looked very reasonably priced

In our opinion the one thing that is missing in the nearby area is a bar, the closest bar/sit in restaurant is around 20 mins walk down the main road on the corner, a little further than the Bakery. All the main Bars and restaurants are down in Paphos' new town and harbour; this is about 45-50 minutes’ walk away. We did this walk at least 4 or 5 times during our stay but you could get a taxi which would take around 10 mins and cost around 12 Euros or you could walk down to the bus station at the Market (approx. 20 mins away) jump on the bus for 1 Euro each or 3 Euro each for a full day pass which expires at 11pm.

Average Prices

3 course meal for 2 with wine = 42 euros
Petrol = 1.39 euros per litre
Beer = between 1.90 - 3 euros
Bottle of wine around 12 euros
Bottle JD 1lire = 20 euros
Bottle Gin 1litre = 15 euros

Room Tip: Higher floors get the best views of Paphos and the Pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigfellaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your very informative review we have made changes to further improve the resort since your stay and look forward to seeing you at Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 525 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

New, very nice, fully equipped and comfortable apartments and very nice swimming pools. I would rate them for 5. BUT unfortunately the service was very poor, not for a 4star hotel . I would rate it for 2. The reception hall was a very poor room, and the only one girl there very slow while serving customers. Most of the times she was absent from her place. We faced several problems during our five-day stay there.We arrived at 2pm which was the check-in time and the room was not ready until 4:15!! The elevator was broken down by the time we finally were allowed to enter the room, so we had to carry our luggages to the 3rd floor using the stairs!! It was fixed by Saturday midday. The lamps on the stairs were not working so we had to use the stairs in the dark, with risk of injury. Regarding the apartment cleaning, it was generally cleaned, although we noticed some serious deficiencies:The glasses on the outside doors and on the window in the kitchen were very dirty. You hardly could see outside. The balcony and the furniture there were very dirty. We had to clean them so that we could use them. Also, the lamp in the balcony was broken, so we couldn't use it in the night. The extra towels allowed were viry dirty. Fortunately, they were changed with clean ones as soon as I reported the problem. The fire detector was not working and the TV was hardly working most of the times. As far as the restaurant service, this was awfull and very slow too, and the only one waitress there very rude. Luckily, we used it only one time. After all, it is a pity for a 4star hotel, with such nice apartments, to offer such a bad service. I don't know if i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Jortzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your review we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence. We appreciate your comments and feedback which help us to improve the resort. The reception is now much larger and we have installed a courtesy phone with a direct line to the Managers mobile phone for the unavoidable times that our staff may be out somewhere on site. Our cleaning is usually of a very high standard, and I believe unfortunately this was an isolated incident. The restaurant has new staff and we are currently reviewing the menu with the new chef, the opening hours have been extended until late in the evening. We appreciate your custom and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at St. Nicolas me, my husband and our 2 kids. First of all i had a bad impression from the reception. There was just one girl there which was polite, but the service was VERY slow. We asked to upgrade our room to two bedroom apartment, which took them 2 1/2 hours. The apartment was nicely appointed with a spacious open plan kitchen/diner/living room and 2 balconies. The kitchen had everything you would need from kettle and toaster to a washing machine, and everywhere was clean.
There were several swimming pools available, but unfortunetaly not enough sun beds for everybody. Plus you should wake up from 7 o' clock just to "book" a sun bed. The atmosphere was relaxed with no loud music blaring away. The pools were clean although quite a few of the mosaic tiles were missing in one pool.
We paid for breakfast which was a huge mistake. The restaurant which had only one waitress and only one man to cook (what a surprise) was the slowest i have ever seen. You give your order for english breakfast (from a menu) and they bring it to you after 40 minutes. Plus in the plate they put only half from what they write. Two times we attempt to have lunch and the waiting time to prepare our sandwiches was more that one hour. So is better to cook by yourself. There is nothing near by to go on foot. You definitely need a car, either to the beach or somewhere to eat.
Overall if you need a place to relax in clean and nice maintaned appartments then this is the place. I would stay here again but now i know that i will not use the restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask a room near the swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POLINA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your review we hope you enjoyed your stay at Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence despite the issues you raised. We appreciate your comments and feedback which help us to improve the holiday experience for all of our guests. The reception is now much larger and we have increased the staff to provide better service. The restaurant also has new staff and we are currently reviewing the menu with the new chef, the opening hours have been extended until late in the evening. We are confident you will be happy with the changes and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived here on a Sunday evening to find reception was shut, however after a quick phone call to Murat (the cleaner/handyman?) he was there to show us to our apartment within minutes.
First problem was that we were put in a 1 bed apartment when we had paid for a 2 bed, also the request for a cot for our son hadn't been passed on. A few phone calls by Murat to the girl that ran the place and we were in a nice first floor apartment within a couple of hours (with a cot delivered a little later).
The apartments were nicely appointed with a spacious open plan kitchen/diner/living room and 2 balconies. The kitchen had everything you would need from kettle and toaster to a washing machine, and everywhere was clean.
There were several swimming pools available with plenty of sun beds most of the time, and a very relaxed atmosphere with no loud music blaring away. The pools were clean and the water was very warm by mid afternoon, although quite a few of the mosaic tiles were missing in one pool.
On the Thursday morning we had water dripping through the ceiling in the dining area, a quick visit to reception to report it meant that we were in another apartment by lunchtime, this was even bigger with a huge roof terrace and a (distant) sea view.
The on-site restaurant served decent food at lunchtime at reasonable prices, it was also open for breakfast and evening meals but we didn't try these.

The location means that you do need a car to get around, especially with the heat and humidity as there is very little within waling distance. We had also brought our sat nav with us which was a godsend given the poor signposting, even this was confused at times due to some roads not being on the map. A word of warning regarding hire cars in Cyprus, if you're using the big companies, they all charge for a pre-paid tank of fuel which is non-refundable and the fuel it provided at their prices not the local prices. I believe some of the local companies are more flexible.
All things considered we would definitely stay there again, although for longer than a week next time!

Room Tip: All rooms have either a sea view or a pool view from what I could see, no rooms exposed to noises as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cliver18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your review we hope you enjoyed your stay at Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence. We apologise for the confusion over your accommodation size on arrival which was unfortunate, but we are pleased that the staff did everything they could to rectify this quickly and efficiently, occasionally unexpected things do occur but rest assured we will always act quickly to ensure minimal disruption to your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just had a fantastic week at St Nicholas in Cyprus.
Friendly staff, good food and drinks in the on-site resturant, excellent apartment and swimming pools.
Yes you do need a car really to get around, ther's a Lidl's down the road to do a food shop.
A bit daunting arriving late at night but a quick phone call to a chap called Murat and after 5 minutes he arrived to take us to our apartment.
Hired a car for 3 days to do some sight seeing as it was our 1st time in Cyprus, so easy to drive as they're cars are the same as in the UK and they drive on the left hand side.
Well worth it and we will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for five days and cannot fault the rooms brand new, spacious and very clean at good prices.

The pools are very good and very clean. Good facilities jacuzzi and gym.

Only downfall of this place, was that it was not near anything and the bus stop is quite far away. You would need a car if you stayed here! We ended up to take taxi's which can be quite pricey after a while.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in mid June, having been impressed when staying in July 2011.
The only quarm last year was that tiles were coming off the pools thick and fast.
We returned to find the pools had been retiled to a good standard which was nice.
Again I can not speak highly enough of St. Nicholas. The apartment was fantastic, staff were very friendly and accommodating, and all facilities were available and in good condition.
I particularly liked the indoor pool & jacuzzi to get out of the midday heat, whilst the restaurant served up some excellent lunches.
I would definitely recommend this place to couples and families alike as it is not too busy with plenty of things to keep you entertained.
I hope you enjoy it as much as we have done!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SB12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina I, Public Relations Manager at St. Nicolas Elegant Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are pleased you enjoy staying at Alpha Panareti – St Nicolas Elegant Residence. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.2 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#23 of 85 in Paphos
257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#62 of 85 in Paphos
901 reviews
2.0 mi away
Club St. George Resort
Club St. George Resort
#66 of 85 in Paphos
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Elegant Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Elegant Residence

Address: Chlorakas Avenue, Paphos 8220, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Price Range: $25 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Nicolas Elegant Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Panareti's award winning St Nicolas Elegant Residence Resort offers superior self-catering accommodation of studios, apartments, town houses and 3 bed detached Villas with private pools. Ideally located in Paphos just off the busy Tombs of the Kings tourist area with its many shops bars and restaurants. All accommodation is spacious, fully air conditioned and stylishly furnished. Living rooms have TV and DVD player, the kitchens are fully equipped and accessorised and all accommodation has either a spacious balcony or terrace. All town houses are 2-storey villas.Alpha Panareti,s St Nicolas resort facilities include 4 lagoon-style pools with waterfall features, tennis court, children’s playground, home cinema room, and a restaurant/bar overlooking the pool. It also has its own health club with heated indoor pool, gym, hot tub, sauna and massage rooms. Bicycle hire is also available. Free WiFi and Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your St. Nicolas Elegant Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Nicolas Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing