We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch (for touristland)”
Review of Poseidonas

Poseidonas
Ranked #436 of 546 Restaurants in Paphos
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
S Derbyshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good lunch (for touristland)”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice restaurant on the water front in the middle of the tourist area. Friendly welcome without much pressure. Clean white cloths. Reasonable prices for the location. Fish meze €20 included a huge prawn, mussel, red mullet, sea bream, deep fried calamari, deep fried sardines(?), swordfish, octopus preceded by a wide variety of antipasto/salads - lots of food.
Fish was fresh.
Service slow at the end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2653589793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    125
    95
    63
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best for local dishes”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are not the type of customer who comes for fish and chips so always keen to try the local traditional food. I must say from our point of view it was excellent, I had Stifado and my wife had sucking pig. The starters were a bit naff but we only had dips, they seemed to have come from packs rather than the home made dips we had at other restaurants. Having read other reviews it seems hit and miss, the day we went the weather was cold and windy so it was very quite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broadfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
223 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Wish we'd read the reviews first”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought the menu and restaurant looked good and wanted to eat somewhwre different from our other night in Paphos (the Pelican) We wished we hadn't and had read trip advisor reviews. This is an average restaurant. We had local dips to start, OK but very average. The glass of medium white wine was far too sweet, so I had to ask for it to be changed. The older waiter told me I shouldn't have ordered medium and had nothing to do with us for the rest of the meal - which was fine as the two female waiters were lovely. I asked to eat upstairs at the restaurant as it had wonderful harbour views. The views were great but the ambience and furnishings dated and not good - we looked down in envy at the seafront eaters. I had Octopus for main course and my sone had the grilled seafood plate. Both were good and we asked for the chips/jacket potato and rice to be swapped for salad, which they were. We then had coffee and herbsl tea and were given complimentary liquers with the bill - total 59 Euros so not expensive but overall an average and disappointing experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gomersal-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sitting by the marina having lamb and fish for dinner - just wonderful! The meal was great and so was the service!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Masarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One good one bad”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our two weeks. The first time everything was great. I had the Red Snapper, pricey but ok. My wife had the peppered chicken, which she thought was great. The service was excellent and we weren't rushed. We went back on the last day of our holiday and were greatly let down. When the food finally arrived it was cold. The sales chap, you know the one who stands and tries to get you to sit down, didn't want to know us once we sat down. We caught his eye a couple of times but he could tell we weren't happy and ignored us. When the waitress did turn up she didn't really believe us. When the food reappeared it wasn't much warmer.
A disappointment but just goes to show that most places aren't consistent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidonas also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Poseidonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing