We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but wouldnt stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panklitos Apartments
Ranked #6 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We came as a couple and were allocated room 4 on the ground floor.

The good points:
The apartment was well equipped with a gas hob and oven, toaster and a reasonable quantity of cutlery and crockery. Our room even had mugs which is unusual as I have only ever had little cups in SC accommodation in Greece/Cyprus! The fridge looked pretty new and had a freezer compartment. The bathroom was good, with a decent shower with enclosed tray and plenty of hot water. The terrace area had a good amount of space with a small table and two chairs as well as a clothes airer. Overall, the room and bathroom were in a good state of repair. The room was reasonably clean and the bedlinen and towels are changed halfway through the week.
The small pool was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. The pool was in the sunlight for the majority of the day with shade in the morning and late in the afternoon. There was a small bar with snacks and drinks. There is even a stock of suntan lotions, books and old magazines for guests to use!
There are some lovely plants etc around the block which greatly improves the ambience of the place and it is in a quiet area.
There is a good bus service and the Tombs of the Kings a ten minute walk away.
There are some reasonable eateries a ten - 20 minute walk away.
The lady who runs the building Sula is lovely and always willing to help you with advice on the area etc. The bulgarian housekeeper is also very friendly.

The bad points:
The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. I tried to soften them with one of the blankets provided but that didnt help much. I then borrowed one of the sunbed mattresses which did the trick but my boyfriend got a bit of a telling off when he took it back early next morning!
There was quite a bit of dirt under the beds
There is no dressing table and the mirror is in a bit of a crap location for doing makeup.
There isn't much counter surface for preparing food
Could do with a few more cooking utensils and a non stick frying pan.
The room would benefit from having black out curtains.
The view from our balcony was pretty rubbish, looking out onto a patch of wasteland.
There is no control for the light outside on our balcony and only goes off on a timer, so if you want to go to sleep before 2am then be prepared for it being very light.

The pool is very quiet and quite small so if you want somewhere with something going on and lots of social opportunities this probably isnt for you.
The bar is quite limited and expensive. There are no evening events at all.
The area is not pretty and there is very little to do in the evenings that isn't a good long walk away or a bus ride.

For the price we paid which was about £170 each, it was very good. You do get what you pay for. However I would probably pay a bit more and go somewhere else next time - not that I would go to Paphos again.

Generally Paphos - and probably the whole of Cyprus is now very expensive. Expect a one course meal for two to cost between 30 - 50 Euros. Everything is most certainly on a par with or more expensive than England.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Panklitos Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

fantastic. apartment was clean, tidy and well equipped. the shower not only worked, it was connected to the wall which is rare. the kitchen had everything and it all worked. usually you have enough crockery and cutlery for two, I could have entertained 6 people easily.
they provided an ironing board, the rubbish was removed daily and the pool was clean. the only reason I didn't give it a 5 is the bar. it lacks draught beer and a bigger menu. we would go again and recommend the apartments to anyone.

Room Tip: the property is away from traffic and on a cul de sac so all rooms are quite.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevkilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodosia C, Manager at Panklitos Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Panklitos Apts in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This has got to be the worst accommodation we have ever stayed in. It was so bad we found ourselves alternative accommodation after the first week and managed to escape. If you want to stay in a small dark studio that never gets cleaned, with an oven that doesn't work and a fridge held together with duck tape then this is the place for you. If you enjoy sleeping in a dodgy creaking bed with sheets full of cigarette burns then book up straight away. If you like the feel of scratchy, holey threadbare towels then your are in for a treat. If you insist on not having enough cooking and cleaning utensils and love sharing the smallest , dirtiest bathroom with masses of ants that love crawling in your soap and toothbrush that then is your dream place. I, on the other hand do not like any of these things and when I complained to the manager was told 'what do you expect you are allocated on arrival'.
I am dismayed to see that even though there are so many bad reports about these apartments Olympic Holidays are still more than happy take your hard earned cash and send you to these apartments from hell.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank M0nty05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodosia C, Owner at Panklitos Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hello,

as summer season is going to start i am required to answer to all the bad reviews that some of your users have written.

First of all Panklitos Appartments have all the permissions from the Cyprus Tourism Organization. CTO checks the apartments (indoor and outdoor) often for the cleanliness and safety.

The apartments are self-catering. This means that every client is responsible for the cleanliness of his apartments so the maid is not responsible to clean the apartment every day! Every 3 days the maid is changing the sheets and towels and every day we throw away the rubish.

I can write many bad things for them like that they were drunk every day and that they were locking the apartment so the maid couldn't pick up the rubish and others just to make problem to Olympic to get their money back.

These people insult the apartments and their people with all the things that they say so i will really appreciate to remove this review.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

this is the worst n dirtiest apartment i av eva stopt in. the minute i walkt in i wanted 2 cry n walk back out. manager woke us up evry morn wi her 6 o clock hacky cough. neighbours wer brill if it wasnt 4 them we wud ov walkt

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coldaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Panklitos appartments for 2 weeks at the end of August 2012. We weren't expecting 5 star because it was allocation on arrival but we expected the studio to at least be cleaned properly while we were there.
On arrival there was a small bath towel each so we had to ask for hand towels, there was also no tea towel provided. The studio was very small with just a single wardrobe with one available shelf for all our clothes. We spent the fortnight tripping over my case because it wouldn't fit under the bed! Our sheets and towels were only changed twice - bearing in mind the temperature was mid 30's with over 90% humidity. The bins were emptied most days but I don't think the floors were mopped at all and the only time the bathroom was cleaned was when I did it myself. if we complained we were told this is what we got because we hadn't paid full price! (Totally different attitude from the allocation on arrival holiday we had in Aiya Napa last year with the same company - Olympic).
The pool area was very small so we travelled to Coral Bay most days and either went to the beach or the Crown Resort Horizon - one of the few hotels where non residents were welcome.

Room Tip: We were in a 2nd floor studio - tiny!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheila40r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Before going to Paphos I read the reviews of panklitos apartments and needless to say I was not looking forward to staying there. We were going for a friends wedding, me and my two friends, and decided to save money by booking somewhere cheaper and hiring a car to drive to their hotel for the wedding. We arrived about midnight after getting quite lost thanks to google maps, the cleaner had stayed up and talked us through the directions over the phone to welcome us, she was very friendly and the apartments were not what we were expecting, a small quaint building surrounded by vines and trellises, with a nice bar area and a decent sized quiet pool. Perfect to relax around. The room itself was spacious, clean and had everything you would want considering a lot of time shouldn't be spent in the room on a holiday. The toilet roll wasn't changed no however they were very clear about this and one day when we ran out they were kind enough to give us some till we were able to go to the store. The manager herself is a lovely lady, she really took care of us, they couldn't do enough for us, they are kind, friendly, and the apartments are well worth the money and ideally located. I could go on but I've rambled enough...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BearGryllsBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodosia C, Manager at Panklitos Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Many thanks for your feedback on this website. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our purpose is to provide exceptional service to all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Panklitos Apts in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have never written a report here before but have been advised to do so by others who use this site in the hope of preventing others having to endure the nightmare i did on my recent visit to these apartments.
Watch the Gas cooker and make sure you get the Manageress to show you how to use it, The maid and maintenence man dont know how to light it.
Third bed is a camp bed always broken and you can pay extra to have it changed.
Pool has sharp edging and dangerous.
Lack of maintenence over the years has made the place dangerous and unacceptable, if you care to complain to the Manageress you will be faced with arrogance, bullying and rudeness from her! Not what i expect my mother of 70+ yrs who came with us to have to endure.
On 3 ocassions there were threats from her to call the police to different guests for minor things but when the police and an ambulance were genuinly required and they were asked to call them it was refused!!
I know that if i pay for 2* accompdation i do NOT expect a 5* room and facilities, but i do expect to be treated fairly, humanely and with some decency like i show to others.
If the hospitality was there and complaints taken onboard and delt with professionally with no recriminations this would have been a plesant stay for us. After all we don't go away to stay in an appartment all day we just use it as a place to rest our heads in the evening.
Paphos itself was beautiful and i would NOT let this nightmare put me off returning, NOT TO PANKLITOS APARTMANTS though!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodosia C, Owner at Panklitos Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hello,

The instructions of how to light up the cooker and gas oven are written on the devices! Yes you can always ask us to show you how to do it if you can't.

About the pool the Cyprus Tourism Organizations checks the pool often and the pool has all the permissions from CTO.

When you book a studio apartment the third bed is always a campbed.

I think only when there are reasons we can call the police and that people were always shouting to me and threating me. These people also wanted to get a refund from Olympic that's why they were causing problems.

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.5 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#20 of 85 in Paphos
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.9 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 85 in Paphos
483 reviews
18.3 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panklitos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panklitos Apartments

Address: 7, Alvertou Street, Paphos, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Paphos
Price Range: $27 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Panklitos Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panklitos Apartments are very welcoming and they always provide a pleasant stay. These modest, self-catering apartments are set on the outskirts of town and are approximately a 40 minute walk away from Paphos Harbour, archaeological area and Paphos castle. It is approximately a 10 minute walk to the nearest bus stop (buses to coral bay beach & harbour) and a 15 minute walk to the Municipal Market, shops and restaurants. The famous Tomb of the Kings road with its archaeological area next to the beach road with its wide selection of shops and pubs are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Panklitos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panklitos Apartments Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing