We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Averof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Averof Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Igualada, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Not very central location, and a bit expensive comparing to the other Cyprus hotels (seaside hotels I mean). Free internet at the reception hall. Free parking. Breakfast is poor even if compared with continental standards.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
12
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coast, Ghana
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed 2 days. it was okay. not that great though. One thing i should really appreciate is the service. everything else was just average.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walferdange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were in Cyprus on a surveying trip, so this was a good base for us.
It's a simple place to stay with no frills (except free internet, which was great to have), which is more or less what we expected for the price we paid.
To all the people complaining about breakfast - if you want a uniformed chef preparing you a fresh omlet or frying waffles, you're going to have to pay a bit more than when these guys are charging.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mampoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Booked for location and family run Cypriot friendly hotel. NOPE. Miserable, terrible hotel damp and very unfriendly building and people. Uncomfortable bed didnt sleep a wink and no hot water. Planned a two day trip one night over in Nicoisa as staying in Polis to explore the city. This ruined our trip we could not wait to check out, parking up for the second day and used the car rather than the room!
Dont bothers its not cheap and the breakfast was laughable margarine, bread and 1 glass of awful orange juice. Never met such unhospitable Cypriots as in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahandpaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

I have actually stayed at Averof Hotel a few times. I love staying there as the staff are really friendly and super helpful . They make you feel like you are one of the family always offering advice on quality places to dine and great sights to see. The rooms are always kept clean with all the usual fresh sheets and air con etc. The beds are comfortable and a good nights sleep is always ensured. No night time noise, very peaceful indeed. The prices are also very reasonable. Good food and a great bar! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I have had friends stay there in the past and they have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

I booked a two night stay for myself and 5 other colleagues during a business trip to Cyprus and feel a sense of satisfaction from the warmth of our welcome to the value for money we got. The hotel remains very basic and may look dated but it was clean and more importantly quiet enough to allow us to relax and work in between various meetings. Although it is tucked away in a quiet neighbourhood it felt that the hotel was never far from anywhere.
It helped having clear and concise English speakers who understood and happily looked after any request we had which is something I have struggled to find in other more lavish hotels. A sense of a family atmosphere was very appealing and would lead me to recommend the hotel onwards as I definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Lovely staying, enjoyed it very much! The hotel is situated in the quiet region of Ayios Andreas but it is only 15min walk from the city center! It is clean and very traditional with quite big rooms! The staff is very very hospital and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.7 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#13 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Averof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Averof Hotel

Property: Averof Hotel
Address: 19 Averof Street | Ayios Andreas, PO Box 24225, Nicosia, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Averof Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Averof Hotel you will experience the true meaning of local hospitality. A delightful rustic decor replaces the gloss of impersonal tourist accommodation. Wood paneling and wrought iron, traditional furniture and rich colours are reminiscent of a country manor. Above all, the Averof Hotel is where guests soon become friends. The fully refurbished Averof offers you excellent value for money in an inviting environment that far exceeds the hotel's official two-star rating. Beyond accommodating you in spacious rooms, each with a private bathroom, the special features of the hotel are those that touch the heart, and create a personal rapport with each and every one of our guests. After a generous Continental breakfast the cultural attractions of Nicosia are just waiting to be discovered. The Cyprus Museum and the British Council are all close by, while the municipal pool with its surrounding lawns offers recreation within walking distance. Meanwhile, downtown shopping, entertainment, and transportation to the island's coastal resorts are only a short drive away. Clearly, the Averof Hotel is for those who favour a stay that will bring them closer to Cyprus, its people and their lifestyle. A visit which will linger in the memory as a stay worth repeating. If ever there was a place where you can relax and feel at home while enjoying the charm and culture the island of Cyprus has to offer, it is the Averof Hotel in Nicosia. Under new management, the Averof Hotel invites you to discover qenuine Cypriot hospitality in the cosy setting of a family run establishment. The Averof provides accommodation in 25 guest rooms on two floors, with a choice of double, twin or large family rooms, many with private balcony, all with central heating, air-conditioning and telephone. All rooms are equipped with TV and some of the rooms have free internet access. Sheltered in a corner of Ayios Andreas, the Averof Hotel combines the advantages of a quite residential area, with the convenience of proximity to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Averof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Averof Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing