We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for authentic souvlaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piatsa Gourounaki

Piatsa Gourounaki
Ranked #1 of 1,007 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual dining Comfort food Local cuisine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place for authentic souvlaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for the first time a month ago and we have already been there three times.
We love the authentic souvlaki they serve and the atmosphere is pleasant too.
Prices are good too and the staff are quite friendly.
Just make sure you sit near a fan if its humid that night coz it gets stuffy some nights.

Thank simone_sdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food, nice variety of chicken souvlaki and nice cozy environment in the heart of ledras street.i highly recommend it for a lunch because in the night its difficult to find a table

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Constantina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice place to Eat and Drink in the Nicosia Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I visit Piatsa Gourounaki twice a week-A real laid back authentic souvlaki with exceptional food in a beautiful little square in old town. If you come across the place please take your time and try their dishes-Excellent customer service as well

1 Thank iBoyCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Just what Nicosia needs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've been here twice in two weeks and the food if fantastic, especially for the price. Establishments like this, good food, good price, good service, is what the old town needs to really create an identify for itself. Another reviewer called this a "Fast Food" establishment, however, this is mis-leading as the food is served quickly but its not fast food in the McD's of KFC vein. The food is good and grilled and therefore much healthier. A draft pint is 2.5 Euro. That's 50% less than the establishments which have been ripping off people for years. Bravo Piatsa Gourounaki!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3 Thank DanOwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“doesn't worth your time/money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went there with another couple to sit in once. Nice atmosphere and place, don't forget it's just a souvlaki restaurant.
Service was ok. We were 4 people so we decided since we didn't know the specialities to order 2 plates of different meat serving (2 merides diafora). The quantity of the food for 4 people was very little, the the meat itself was terrible. Too too too soft !!!! Don't hurry to say "that's the way it should be cooked" cos i'm not referring to the kind of softness you get when the meat is cooked fine. ( I'm barbequeing for my family souvlaki and other meat products for years now and believe me i know when the meat has soda or other meat softener products on it.... ).
Finally the place is expensive although passing by may seem as a place of average pricing.

Never went there again. I wouldn't suggest it at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8 Thank Evan2013S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ataliotis, Manager at Piatsa Gourounaki, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear customer,

My name is Constantinos Ataliotis and I am the general Manager of Piatsa gourounaki souvlakeri.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and also express our surprise for your comment that the meat was terrible because, as you describe it, it was too soft because we use soda or other meat softeners. Our restaurant NEVER used and will never use any additives to make the meat or any other product served in our restaurant softer or tastier. We are very strict with our suppliers and chefs with regards to keeping all our recipes as healthy and natural as possible.
These are very serious accusations from your behalf and we are very sorry to say that you are completely wrong. We would be more than willing to explain to you in person why our meat is soft and tender if you really want to know (even though I dough it because you as an amateur probably know more than our professional chefs).
Our meat is too soft because:
We employ professional butcher who is responsible for purchasing the best meat available.
Our meat is soft because we marinate it with natural herbs and other natural ingredients (yogurt, mustard, olive oil etc) at least 24 hours before serving it to the customers. For cooking we use the Arabic flat skewers which cook the meat on two sides and not four as the conventional skewers. As a result the meat is very soft, tasty and it is not burned as it is barbecued the correct way.

Constantinos Ataliotis
General manager of Piatsa gourounaki souvlaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatsa Gourounaki also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District

Been to Piatsa Gourounaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing