We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty food! Hiden Gem in Nicosia”

Louis Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 1,041 Restaurants in Nicosia
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Unique restaurant located near the historic Orthodox Church of Panagias Euangelistrias close to the mainly long path of Pallouriotissas. The menu is well known for its traditional Cypriot cuisine and the authentic regional courses inspired from the purity and the freshness of a daily food markets. With the quality of service, the smooth sound of music and the fireplace, we have created a comfy and peaceful atmosphere for those who want to experience the truthfulness and those who want to escape from the routine.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Tasty food! Hiden Gem in Nicosia”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visit some days ago the Louis Taverna and is for me one of the best Traditional Taverna in Nicosia. When i am visiting a restaurant what is count for me is what i get i my plate! Not interest about the decor etc etc.

Food- Fresh and tasty!
Wine- served perfectly
Service- Very Good

Pitta bread always available and without ask for more all the time!
We pay 99 euro full meze for 4 Persons and a bottle of Wine and 3 bottles of water. For me a very good price as well.

I will go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxoutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very good food (including cypriot and greek cuisine), well cooked (just right) and served in proper manner and timing. The place is nice and warm, quite ideal for couples, families and friends alike. The excellent and most welcoming service of the owner and staff, when combined with the excellent interior design (of classical greek and cypriot themes) and a great choice of greek folk music playing in the background, sums up for an exquisite experience for all who visit this excellent restaurant (tavern). Highly RECOMMENDED, cheers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lefkos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not the best restaurant in Nicosia”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited this place on the back of all the excellent ratings it has received on TA. Although I did not dislike it, I left disappointed. At the time I visited it was ranked #1 n Nicosia on TA.

Pluses:
• Food was tasty and freshly cooked
• Wine was served at the correct temperature. The list of local wines was good.
• Waiters were attentive and not intrusive
• It is not a chain, it is a family owned and run place

Minuses:
• The biggest problem by far is the restaurant’s location. It is on a main road frequented by boy racers on motorbikes, and the noise - at least during our meal – was uncomfortably intrusive.
• The décor is basic
• The amount of food is quite small by local meze standards. Although compared to other parts of the world, it might represent a good value, judged within the context of Cyprus, I think it is more expensive than average.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alfielecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotiris Z, Manager at Louis Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear TA member, we do appreciate your comment, as is shows honesty and accuracy. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on trip advisor with us.
Louis Tavern takes very seriously all kinds of criticism from our visitors in order to become better time after time. To understand needs and expectations of our costumers it’s some of our priorities and our aim is to wipe out all the negatives.
It’s the first year we have an outdoor seating since we opened. We have also noticed that some days there is a problem with the noise because of the main road and we are trying to solve this problem soon, so everyone can feel comfortable while is enjoying our meze.
About the amount of food. It’s a pleasure for us when a customer asks for more quantity and the truth is that we don’t charge extra. So feel free to ask (although we make that question) for more if you believe that you didn’t have enough.
The décor is basic, simple with traditional Cypriot pictures and a fireplace in the middle of the restaurant. During the winter the fireplace keeps the indoor area warm which is very impressive.
We are pleased that you didn’t dislike Louis Tavern however we are also disappointed because the problem with the noise didn’t let you enjoy your meal.
We would hope that you will give us another opportunity to host your meal. For additional comments, please do not hesitate to contact us at Louis-tavern@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GOOD CHOICE”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

we went there with a couple of friends.the meze was actually very good.well cooked dishes from Cyprus cuisine, nice and quiet atmosphere. The service was excellent, the waiter didn't' let us wait for more than a few minutes.As for the price it was reasonable.Try it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 190383George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

One of the best restaurant in Nicosia. Excellent food and service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Louis Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing